Chevron Left
Introduction to Sustainability に戻る

イリノイ大学アーバナ・シャンペーン校(University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign) による Introduction to Sustainability の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
2,126件の評価
690件のレビュー

コースについて

This course introduces the academic approach of Sustainability and explores how today’s human societies can endure in the face of global change, ecosystem degradation and resource limitations. The course focuses on key knowledge areas of sustainability theory and practice, including population, ecosystems, global change, energy, agriculture, water, environmental economics and policy, ethics, and cultural history. This subject is of vital importance, seeking as it does to uncover the principles of the long-term welfare of all the peoples of the planet. As sustainability is a cross-disciplinary field of study, this foundation requires intellectual breadth: as I describe it in the class text, understanding our motivations requires the humanities, measuring the challenges of sustainability requires knowledge of the sciences (both natural and social), and building solutions requires technical insight into systems (such as provided by engineering, planning, and management)....

人気のレビュー

KF
2016年12月18日

It is a well prepared course. Contents are carefully organized and plenty of concepts and examples are included and analyzed. Overall, it is a excellent course to get an overview of sustainability.

JW
2015年11月28日

This was my first Coursera course, and I wasn't sure what to expect; but was very pleased with the organization, timescale things were run on, and overall neutrality of the course. Very well done!

フィルター:

Introduction to Sustainability: 51 - 75 / 684 レビュー

by Monica

2015年10月26日

I've been a supporter of environmental sustainability efforts for a long time, however, I lacked training/knowledge (as my undergraduate studies are in Business). Passion is great, but in the real world, you need skills to back up that passion. I am proud to say that can now engage in active conversations with people who are working in sustainability related fields! This is a very empowering course!

by Shruti B

2020年10月13日

I loved how the course progresses while explaining the most important issues in sustainability.

The course curriculum is really insightful and helps in building a strong foundation in the field of sustainable development.

I will highly recommend the course to people looking forward to build their knowledge base in the field of sustainability and environmental sciences.

I loved every bit of the course!

by Muhammad H

2020年5月6日

This course is a very beginning of an important concept of sustainability. The videos are just more than excellent at communicating useful knowledge to the seeker. The quizzes are designed to take full advantage of one's abilities. The most interesting work in this course is Peer graded assignments. I have learned and enjoyed this course. Hope everyone else who opt it will likewise too. Thumbs up!

by Deborah L

2020年5月17日

I really enjoyed the instructor and the class. I am taking Intro to Sustainability at another university and it is completely different than what we learned here. I am not saying it is better or worse but it is interesting the amount of diversity that an intro class can have. I would be very interested to see/hear what Professor Tomkins would have to say about the current pandemic crisis.

by Paul A

2020年5月18日

Bast online course I have ever taken. Professor Tomkins did a fantastic job giving a broad and comprehensive overview on sustainability. The reading were excellent, the supplementary videos and case studies were enlightening, and he pushed a little bit with the quizzes, enough to make you feel like your earned the certificate. A great entry point to the entire field of sustainability.

by Ramanan S

2016年2月7日

Really awesome course! Especially the peer review assignments. They give an overall view of what are the problems being faced by everyone around the world! The course structure is really good and is optimal for learning. After the course, one really has a changed perspective towards the earth and you would be inspired with purpose! A purpose to work for the betterment of humankind!

by EVA C A

2020年9月28日

This is a very serious course of high academic quality. It takes time to follow the lectures, read additional material, make homework and tests, but it is worth it.

The instructor makes the lessons easy to understand, although it sometimes deals with quite complicated topics.

It would be great to hear about an updated course (this is a few years old) or a continuation of this one.

by David M

2020年5月28日

I have both my B.S and J.D. , but it has been years since I have taken a college level course. This was one of the most interesting and engaging I have ever taken. Dr. Tomkins presents the content in a relatable manner that is easy to understand. The information provided has ignited my interest to learn more and continue my education on Sustainability. Highly reccomend!

by Camelia K

2020年7月2日

A great introductory course about sustainability that is informative and not too basic that is worthwhile your time if you are interested to more about the statistics, proper concepts and terminology in this field. The information is well-packed and not to difficult to understand but still requires some effort to properly digest the knowledge. Thanks Dr. Jonathan Tomkins!

by Kathleen P

2020年12月30日

Very insightful! Though I have taken AP environmental science course and it has some overlap with this course, I still learned a lot! For me the exam is a little bit difficult, and the video quality is high. I highly recommend everyone to take this course, and I really found myself broadening my horizen and learning to argue from different perspectives. Thank you UIUC!

by Taina S M

2021年4月13日

I am so impressed about the quality of this course, the readings and lectures are super interesting and exciting you want to learn all the time. The Instructor Dr. Tomkin is great, the way he speaks and the data he presents make everything easier to understand the topics. My understanding on sustainability completely changed during the course. Thank you very much.

by Chukwunonso O

2021年5月14日

This course introduced me to a refined way of thinking about sustainability. Sustainability is not limited to just green movements (i.e. propaganda) but actually analysing the lifecycle of so-called sustainable technology, environmental laws, preventive measures to ascertain that they create a net benefit on the grand scale. I highly recommend it!!!!

by Eleftherios K

2020年5月21日

An exceptional course that introduces an abundance of new concepts and points of view. It's engaging and thought-provoking, with very interesting assignments. The workload is considerable but at the end it's worthwhile. I totally feel that I've gained a sense of the current global situation on sustainability for the 21st century! Thank you very much!

by Luis G

2021年3月29日

The course is to recommend to everyone as this is very interesting, well structured, well prepared, well explained and also demanding. I not just learned but I did enjoy it a lot. The course helped me a lot to a better understanding of my day to day work with Funding Agencies like World Bank and its expectations for sustainable development issues.

by Arav D

2020年8月14日

I really liked learning the course material. As an aspiring environmental engineer, I wanted to explore more environmental concepts before applying to colleges, and this course allowed me to decide that I enjoyed learning about environmental concepts, especially sustainability, and made me excited to take more sustainability classes in the future.

by Thuan n

2020年6月8日

This course provides very comprehensive set of information about sustainability from beginning to the end. Its content is really broad. To learn well, it requires learners to think and to read a lot. I like the fact that it provides many interesting talks from Ted and other sources. I would really like to see more recent statistics to be included.

by Franklin B

2020年8月31日

Sustainability is one of the most important topics for the future of our own species and for the world in general. This course gives you a point of view strongly supported by science, data and teaches the importance of recognition and exploring the different methods to get involved and visualize the consequences of climate change.

by Dipesh T

2020年11月5日

Teaching of professor Tomkin was very much interesting that i have got so interest in this course and enjoyed a lot learning this course which makes us familiar with the things and facts that are happening in our environment and how they are going to affect our real world in the current and upcoming future situation of our world.

by Christian P H

2020年3月22日

I took this course to learn. Now, I did not just learned, I understood things deeper about the environment. Now I'm conscious about embedded water, embodied energy, food miles and many more. These are important things that we often take for granted. Thanks to Coursera, Dr. Tomkin and the University of Illinois Urbana Champaign!

by Raquel O G

2020年7月31日

Very interesting and useful. The videos, reading, and homework were very easy but I learned a lot. I recommend this course. You won't regret it. Investing time in knowing more about our planet situation and the sustainability path that we are following, is very important. Pd. The English used in this course is very easy.

by Lorenzo C

2020年10月12日

It's a very nice and broad introduction to sustainability (as the name says!), covers a lot of different and interconnected topics without assuming much prior knowledge, and provides links to many resources to go deeper in the topics. Good starting point for anyone who wants to deepen their sustainability knowledge.

by Chaitra S J

2020年7月28日

Extremely satisified with the course! This is my first course on Coursera and totally enjoyed learning about Sustainability from Prof. Tomkin. It would be better if you add some recent graphs and content including data from 2015 and beyond. Overall, I loved the course and would want to enroll in other courses too :)

by Sehresh M

2020年4月23日

I really liked this course because it analyzes with balance the data, concepts and instruments of the great problems and challenges of global sustainability. Overall, it is an excellent course to get an overview of sustainability. if anyone want to know about sustainability I will recommend to join this course.

by Carol R

2020年1月5日

Interesting course which challenged some of my personal views and made me reconsider many opinions I held prior to completing this course. Highly recommended for anyone with an interest in sustainability, or even just to debate issues like climate change and the impact of world population with buddies in a bar.

by David U

2017年3月28日

Introduction to Sustainability has given me greater insight on the world on a sustainable path. Whether we are approaching a J curve or S curve. This course broadens your knowledge and sharpens your mind to be a great thinker when it comes to sustainability. And i'm glad to partake and complete this course.