Chevron Left
Sustainable Tourism – promoting environmental public health に戻る

コペンハーゲン大学(University of Copenhagen) による Sustainable Tourism – promoting environmental public health の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
1,062件の評価
355件のレビュー

コースについて

The MOOC introduces learners to key environmental health and natural resources management challenges associated with the rapid growth in international tourist arrivals into low-income countries. Since infrastructural and regulatory capacities in such countries are often limited they are more exposed to the negative implications of such development. The MOOC will present experiences and potential avenues to develop a more sustainable form of tourism. The Course particularly focuses on the problems and potentials of tourism development in small island states in tropical and sub-tropical settings and highlights the challenges of such development on vulnerable ecosystems. It also highlights how tourism development in Zanzibar results in increased pressure on its marine environment, solid waste management, water resources and control of mosquitoes. These factors will be used as tracers of impacts and areas for future improvement towards a more sustainable form of tourism. Zanzibar will be in focus during this course and used as a case in order to exemplify how a massive increase of Tourism in a low income and resource poor setting, can increase the vulnerability of the local population. The Course topics also relate to a number of targets under the global Sustainable Development Goals, especially: Goals 3: “good health and well-being” Goals 6: “clean water and sanitation” Goals 14: “life below water” Goals 17: “partnerships”. Thus, the Course is a continuation of the efforts and discussions raised as part of the 2017 international year of sustainable tourism. A diversity of perspectives and areas of expertise will be presented by researchers from the University of Copenhagen, State University of Zanzibar, representatives from the hotel sector and international experts in specific areas of sustainable tourism....

人気のレビュー

AB

2020年3月7日

Amazing course. Full of great information, straight to the point, with many life examples and research data. Very helpful for both environmental enthusiasts and hospitality professionals. Many thanks!

TB

2020年5月13日

Very understanding for someone like me who is not in the tourism sector. Only but is that there are articles and videos which are not for public access. The videos and interviews are very interesting.

フィルター:

Sustainable Tourism – promoting environmental public health: 26 - 50 / 357 レビュー

by Veronica P

2020年9月6日

Very good course and especially liked the updated version relating to the current Covid pandemic affecting places reliant on tourism.

by Alisa N

2020年6月15日

The information I got was great but there were some problems with videos from YouTube and some articles that are not available.

by Giulia C

2020年5月23日

This course is useful but it focuses too much on numbers, percentages and statistics

by Kelsey K

2019年12月2日

The clarity and enthusiasm with which Professor Flemming Konradsen presented the material in each lecture was extremely effective and helpful. His interviews with different experts, researchers and local professors were incredibly interesting and informative and his questions helped me get a much better sense of the situation. I came into this course not having much of an idea about the complexities of ecotourism and emerged knowing much more about human impact on the earth in a variety of different environments. Topics from water usage to mosquitoes to fishing habits kept me interested and the constant statistics were there for support. The class was set up very organized and I would take another course with this department in a heartbeat. I just wish I hadn’t procrastinated and put it off for so long! (But the option is there.) Thank you Staff at Uni of Copenhagen!

by Ma. B M

2021年4月12日

This course helped me to understand the issues of Sustainability in the Tourism Sector better. It will help me to investigate the situation in our own destination, likewise instigate sustainability programs to address community safety and access to resources. Good reading and case study examples to bring theories to life. I think the course can benefit from more updates as the recovery timeline projections early on during the Corona19 outbreak have all failed. It is April 2021 and we are nowhere near earlier projections of Tourism recovery.

by SAURABH V

2021年9月17日

Thank you for the insight. The course is really helpfull in creating a mindset towards effective waste management and the impact of tourism on our environment. Although I have been working in tourism industry for more than 13 years now, I never tough the way it was told in the course about the waste disposal by tourist and it impact.

I have learned a lot from the course and specially the importance of keeping the environment safe for the business to flurish.

by Donavan R

2020年9月1日

This course does make you begin to ponder the many things that one doesn't even consider as a tourist in another country. Tourism was and hopefully in the future will be again a thriving industry. At the same time, the way tourism operates now is not sustainable and we do have to reformat it so that we can enjoy the many beautiful tourist destinations that we love to enjoy. The concepts are easily understood by their applications to real life scenarios.

by Ryoko O

2019年8月12日

Great introductory course to the field of sustainable tourism. It covers various aspects of the field by focusing on a specific real-life case, Zanzibar. I was able to learn not only of the issues arising from poorly managed tourism, but also how and why it became an issue from the past, as well as potential solutions for the future. As a traveller myself, it has made me a "conscious traveller," and also encouraged me to study further into this field.

by Nikhil J

2022年1月18日

Tourism is one of the expanding field, which gives employment to local community. Every coin has both sides, likewise, this emerging field also have negative impact on environment. Water scarcity, lack of management of solid waste, heavy pressure on regional natural resources are major problems. This course gives me a base line data of all these problems. Course instructor, Flemming Konradsen provided all necessary information on sustainable tourism.

by Chandra P

2020年7月24日

I enjoyed this course mainly because of two reason first the content of the course & other one is the professor. They style or format professor used while delivering this is course make it easy to learn & interesting. Thank You for this wonderful course & knowledge which I have got regarding how tourism is connection with environment positively & negatively. Most important how much we need sustainable tourism between us as soon as possible.

by Kadir B

2020年5月11日

I went through really effective training. Sustainability is a very important concept in the tourism industry. Tourism is an industry with economically large businesses. Therefore, success must be permanent in this regard. The tourism sector, which faces various problems, has various studies in terms of options, one of the solutions to these problems. Thanks to this training, I have added some more important notes to my knowledge. Thanks!

by Gonzalo S

2020年8月4日

Interesante, muy claro y simple. Una excelente guía del profesor Konradsen con entrevistas y ejemplos locales de Zanzíbar como caso de estudio exportable a cualquier sitio o destino de turismo, además de la incorporación de comentarios de especialistas en análisis e investigación mundial. Interesante no tan sólo para actividades o industria del turismo, sino para cualquier ámbito de sostenibilidad. Lo recomiendo totalmente.

by Valivarthi L B

2020年11月15日

by completing this course i have learnt that environment sustainability is the much interest to be shown and to take it as a consideration. I would also thank my mentor Mr, Flemming Konradsen for his impressive teaching. I would like to conclude by making a decision towards a safe environment and make sure i use Eco-Friendly products and goods of my own to places i visit, because there should be change within us.

by Vítor F R X

2021年6月4日

Excelent course. Very important points were presented that we often don't notice when we talk about tourism. The course made me think more critically about tourism, and reflect on alternatives for more sustainable tourism, for people and for the environment. Furthermore, it will be very useful to apply this knowledge to my country, Brazil, where there are many problems to be overcome.

by Colleen R

2020年4月17日

This course does a great job introducing the environmental and social challenges and impacts caused by increased international tourism. The main case study reviewed is Zanzibar, but the course does include other examples and readings for other popular island tourist destinations. Good introduction and not a huge time commitment for those interested in learning more about this topic.

by Андрей С Ш

2020年6月10日

Жестокое пособие по выживанию, по развитию крепких нервов, а так же улучшению понимания английского языка. Этот курс требует полной концентрации внимания. Бывает порой нереально сложно и жутко от некоторых тестов, но мне понравилось, хоть я и не мало уничтожил нервишек.

Хотелось бы сказать, что некоторые дополнительные материалы немного старые и желательно бы их обновить.)

by Ganapati K

2020年3月27日

Excellent course. Even though the Course by and large limited itself to the various aspects of tourism in one country, viz., Zanzibar, it extrapolated worldwide, examining the repercussions of tourism growth, covering Sustainable Development Goals, disposal of solid and water waste, and possibility of increase of diseases if no control was exercised. Great !

by Narviz O

2020年5月1日

It has been a very dynamic course, supported by very important, illustrative and diverse information that makes us reflect on the dimension of the problem at a global level, even when the example is a particular place.

The conduction of the interviews, presentation, times. Everything well designed and thought out.

Thank you very much, I liked it very much.

by Teresa F

2020年12月5日

Very relevant for me as I work in hospitality in East Africa, and see what is happening in Zanzibar happening on a grander scale on the mainland.

I'm really hoping to offer consulting services for all levels of providers in the tourism section East Africa wide. I look forward to seeing East Africa represented as one of the most sustainable destinations

by Evangelina C

2020年10月20日

Very interesting!! Zanzibar is a clear and sad example of what happens when Tourism is taken as a source of exploitation and consequently a weapon of destruction. It is not too late to introduce the changes that allow the sustainable development of the town as a tourist destination and an opportunity for the growth of the local economy. Thank you!!

by Paola B

2021年5月3日

Thanks to this course i have learn first a lot of places that i have never heard of before like Zanzibar, but also some problems that are similar than in my country with waste, mosquitoes, water scarcity etc., and with the specialists some possible solutions, that are really important.

the best choise that i made to restart studying was this course.

by Dorcas A

2020年11月15日

I'm very grateful and honoured by Coursera in giving me this opportunity to broaden the little knowledge I have about sustainable tourism...the quizzes were very tricky but in much reading you would be able to answer them correctly and I really like about it is the chances they give when you fail a quiz.

I'm happy to learn from Coursera ☺️

by Nivedita K G

2019年8月7日

I really enjoyed going through this course. In fact, there were many facts that i was unaware of before doing this course. This has changed my perspective of tourism and has made a responsible global citizen and tourist. Thanks to University of Copenhagen and Coursera for making it viable for environment-conscious people like me.

by Annika G

2020年5月6日

I really enjoyed this course. It was varied in the interaction with experts and well supported and researched. Presented in a clear manner and was relevant to the industry overall - focusing on sustainability but also making major cases for why the hospitality industry should be worried about these issues in specific examples.

by María R

2021年8月9日

Thanks to this course I have learned more than I expected about the real impact tourism can have on a given area, the consequences of mass tourism without legislative limits on infrastructure development and law enforcement, as well as a new approach to my responsibility as a tourist when I travel out of my country.