Chevron Left
Introduction to Systems Biology に戻る

マウントサイナイ医科大学(Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai) による Introduction to Systems Biology の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.3
382件の評価
79件のレビュー

コースについて

This course will introduce the student to contemporary Systems Biology focused on mammalian cells, their constituents and their functions. Biology is moving from molecular to modular. As our knowledge of our genome and gene expression deepens and we develop lists of molecules (proteins, lipids, ions) involved in cellular processes, we need to understand how these molecules interact with each other to form modules that act as discrete functional systems. These systems underlie core subcellular processes such as signal transduction, transcription, motility and electrical excitability. In turn these processes come together to exhibit cellular behaviors such as secretion, proliferation and action potentials. What are the properties of such subcellular and cellular systems? What are the mechanisms by which emergent behaviors of systems arise? What types of experiments inform systems-level thinking? Why do we need computation and simulations to understand these systems? The course will develop multiple lines of reasoning to answer the questions listed above. Two major reasoning threads are: the design, execution and interpretation of multivariable experiments that produce large data sets; quantitative reasoning, models and simulations. Examples will be discussed to demonstrate “how” cell- level functions arise and “why” mechanistic knowledge allows us to predict cellular behaviors leading to disease states and drug responses....

人気のレビュー

SV

Feb 07, 2016

Very useful course in order to learn the basics in systems biology. You only need some training in biology to understand the concepts but the course is easy to follow and very complete.

BR

Aug 08, 2019

Great foundational material and insights from Prof. Iyengar that supports the 'disruptive' trends underway at the intersection of Computational Biology and Medicine.

フィルター:

Introduction to Systems Biology: 51 - 75 / 77 レビュー

by Akash B R

Jun 12, 2020

The content of this course is quiet good, but is little bit hard to digest. Overall, I gained a lot of things from this course.

by Lianne A

Sep 01, 2017

Excellent course, could be improved by explaining the more difficult concepts in greater depth, e.g. ODE and PDE math.

by Alejandro V

May 30, 2017

Great new area to explore and study, however some subjects were not explained adequately.

by Mahbub H

Feb 27, 2016

Very very informative course for the beginners like me!

by Jiho C

Mar 09, 2017

Good lecture, but not systematic curriculum

by Dr M H

Nov 26, 2019

Instructor is very hard to engage with.

by Boudalia M E A

Jan 01, 2016

a bit to hard for an introduction cours

by Kang c

Jun 14, 2016

A very useful course!

by Chalasani S S N

Apr 10, 2019

useful

by Zahra A

Oct 25, 2018

I did the first course in this specialization series and it was way too difficult for me as only a highschool graduate. The course is basically for advanced students who do scientific research in this system biology field. The course is enormous with a lot of things to cover in just 15 minutes lecture video. So you have to do a lot of personal reading and research for terms used by the lecturer. My advice to fellow learners choosing this course means you need to put a lot of passion, dedication and self motivation for completion of the course. So Good luck.

Though I Feel truly accomplished by finishing this difficult course and challenging myself to new boundaries where i thought I would never make it to. So Thank you Sir. Ravi for that.😁

by Bruno A T P

Jan 20, 2016

With a biology background I had some difficulty following this course. That is understandable, as a lot of it relies in mathematical modelling and statistics. I still felt like some exam questions relied on material not yet lectured, which would sometimes leave me at a loss as to how I should have gotten to the right question in the first place. The lectures could have been structured differently, so as to facilitate engagement - I found myself easily losing focus and having to repeat the videos. Despite its shortcomings, the course is still a powerful introduction to Systems Biology.

by Hector F C M

Jul 02, 2019

I have to thank for this virtual course, however although this course is '' introduction '' it supposes that the participants have advanced concepts that are not explained, in many moments the literature is inconclusive, there is no literature that allows a basic revision on the topics that we are learning; The evlauacion is not according to what has been learned and in many cases it is based more on the memory than on the analysis.

by Karl D

Jul 26, 2017

Good overview of systems biology, but the graded tests are somewhat difficult to understand for someone without a biology background such as myself.

by Alan R d F K M

Jan 21, 2020

Could give more basic information about systems theory

by Milena J

Feb 12, 2016

The lectures were somehow chaotic.

by Mainak B

Feb 24, 2020

Tough and brain storming

by Circe M

Aug 12, 2017

Course material was not presented in a matter that flowed naturally. Completing the course didn't lend greatly to my overall understanding in the area though I understand certain aspects very well.

by Carolina A

Apr 19, 2020

I found that the lectures didn't guide me enough. I download the articles and read extra material. I will look for another course to learn more of this part of the specialization.

by Alexandro G A S

Aug 09, 2016

It is a good introductory course, but it relies too much on networks and could be confusing and demoralizing if you intend to pursue a career in systems biology.

by diego

Nov 06, 2019

The course is too specific and advanced. It´s not an introduction.

by Paul G

Apr 03, 2020

Having completed somewhere in the region of 70 online courses I can say with complete honesty that "Introduction to Systems Biology" is the worst online course I have ever taken. The videos are a rambling sprawl with little coherence and are in need of serious editing. The amount of prior knowledge assumed is absurd for a course of this scope - and comments in the discussion forums seems to indicate that many others feel the same. In over 4 years since the course first started, there has not been a single post by the instructor and the lecture notes are as equally muddled as the lecture viedos. In all honesty, a prospective student would be better off buying one of the many excellent monographs on Systems Biology and taking a random page at KEGG and studying that. Frustrating and did not in any way meet my objective of gaining a good grounding in Systems Biology.

by Sergey K

Dec 19, 2015

Boring voice. A lot of overcomplicated terms, where you can describe your idea in a much more simple way. In result i feel that lector read this material not to teach people, but just to read it. Disgusting.

by Donna P

Mar 12, 2016

I could not understand instructor. Using subtitles didn't help either as many words came up unintelligible.

by Alexander

Oct 05, 2016

The material is very randomized, and the instructor presents it in an overly complex way.

by Ahmed N

May 06, 2020

i want to cancel mt subscription in this course