Chevron Left
Introduction to Systems Biology に戻る

マウントサイナイ医科大学(Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai) による Introduction to Systems Biology の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.3
335件の評価
64件のレビュー

コースについて

This course will introduce the student to contemporary Systems Biology focused on mammalian cells, their constituents and their functions. Biology is moving from molecular to modular. As our knowledge of our genome and gene expression deepens and we develop lists of molecules (proteins, lipids, ions) involved in cellular processes, we need to understand how these molecules interact with each other to form modules that act as discrete functional systems. These systems underlie core subcellular processes such as signal transduction, transcription, motility and electrical excitability. In turn these processes come together to exhibit cellular behaviors such as secretion, proliferation and action potentials. What are the properties of such subcellular and cellular systems? What are the mechanisms by which emergent behaviors of systems arise? What types of experiments inform systems-level thinking? Why do we need computation and simulations to understand these systems? The course will develop multiple lines of reasoning to answer the questions listed above. Two major reasoning threads are: the design, execution and interpretation of multivariable experiments that produce large data sets; quantitative reasoning, models and simulations. Examples will be discussed to demonstrate “how” cell- level functions arise and “why” mechanistic knowledge allows us to predict cellular behaviors leading to disease states and drug responses....

人気のレビュー

SV

Feb 07, 2016

Very useful course in order to learn the basics in systems biology. You only need some training in biology to understand the concepts but the course is easy to follow and very complete.

BR

Aug 08, 2019

Great foundational material and insights from Prof. Iyengar that supports the 'disruptive' trends underway at the intersection of Computational Biology and Medicine.

フィルター:

Introduction to Systems Biology: 26 - 50 / 62 レビュー

by Doreen B

Jun 07, 2019

Great introduction and overview. Exams are especially well thought out.

by Balu R

Aug 08, 2019

Great foundational material and insights from Prof. Iyengar that supports the 'disruptive' trends underway at the intersection of Computational Biology and Medicine.

by KEERAN S

Jun 11, 2019

NICE EXPERIENCE

by saroj p

Mar 28, 2016

nice

by Sumin W

Jun 01, 2016

The required readings are stellar. I didn't know all this stuff, and there's a real open-source philosophy. The bio stuff is challenging for an engineer like myself, but worth Googling and learning in the long run

by Oscar W

Dec 02, 2018

A good introduction to this topic for sure. As others have said, this is perhaps more like an "advanced" course than intermediate (I already have a masters in biochemistry and a lot of programming experience) but for me it's perfect. He does talk slowly though so I've been increasing the play speed to 1.5x

by Adrián P F

Nov 18, 2018

This sort of course will be kind of useful for sort of improving your knowledge on a sort of concepts related to some kind of areas related to sort of Systems Biology. :) That´s just an innocent joke you will catch if you complete the course. Well, the course could be very useful if you are not especially familiar with Systems Biology, as it was my case. You won't learn how to develop a model from "zero" nor how to use Matlab, but it is a comprehensive compendium of theoretical concepts supported by several well-chosen published examples. It is not easy, but it is not extremely difficult (I completed the entire course in 5 days). Thanks to Dr Ravi Iyengar for the talks and his team for the course. However, the speech should have been more dynamic and fluent sometimes, and with less "sort of" repetitions.

by Mahbub H

Feb 27, 2016

Very very informative course for the beginners like me!

by Kanuri B N

Sep 24, 2017

Indeed the course has provided me an introduction to different basic aspects of Systems Biology such as different experimental technologies and computational models. Being a pharmacologist, I was quite fascinated to go through materials dealing with its application to areas of medicine, pharmacology and therapeutics.

by Lianne A

Sep 01, 2017

Excellent course, could be improved by explaining the more difficult concepts in greater depth, e.g. ODE and PDE math.

by Mia T

Sep 10, 2017

The course has great content, truly a powerful introduction to many aspects and concepts of systems biology. Don't let the 'Introduction' part of the title fool you though; you will only be able to complete, enjoy and learn from this course if you have a strong knowledge base of human biology/physiology. For me it might have been a bit too tough. The instructor was wonderful!

by Rosalia A S M

Jun 12, 2017

It was a very good course. The classes are well prepared and explained. I didn't give it five stars just because the quality of the audio wasn't very good sometimes and it's hard to listen unless you use headphones.

by Alejandro V

May 30, 2017

Great new area to explore and study, however some subjects were not explained adequately.

by Mohamad K K

Feb 13, 2016

It's a great overview, but somehow i didn't feel like it stuck even though i did put in effort to read the articles assigned starting halfway through the course.

Maybe it's because there's so much material that will be covered in a hands on part in the 3rd and 4th parts of this specialization... Would definitely recommend it to everyone interested in biotechnology and systems biology.

by Daren E

May 07, 2017

Very nice course, would have liked more interactivity / problem solving type questions

by Jiho C

Mar 09, 2017

Good lecture, but not systematic curriculum

by Luis A M G

Jun 20, 2019

Although this course is a introduction to systems biology, knowledges about calculus are highly recommendable to understand the topics. The content of the course is really good, but the exams can be difficult for beginners as me.

by Dr M H

Nov 26, 2019

Instructor is very hard to engage with.

by R d S S

Jul 15, 2019

O curso é muito complicado para quem não conhecimento em modelos estáticos específicos.

Mas é muito interessante e muito abrangente.

by Ewa B

Feb 07, 2016

Great course! The only change i would ask for: after the test, could you let us see the correct response to the questions we got wrong? Thanks!

by Kang c

Jun 14, 2016

A very useful course!

by Boudalia M E A

Jan 01, 2016

a bit to hard for an introduction cours

by Koduri S S

Apr 10, 2019

useful

by Zahra A

Oct 25, 2018

I did the first course in this specialization series and it was way too difficult for me as only a highschool graduate. The course is basically for advanced students who do scientific research in this system biology field. The course is enormous with a lot of things to cover in just 15 minutes lecture video. So you have to do a lot of personal reading and research for terms used by the lecturer. My advice to fellow learners choosing this course means you need to put a lot of passion, dedication and self motivation for completion of the course. So Good luck.

Though I Feel truly accomplished by finishing this difficult course and challenging myself to new boundaries where i thought I would never make it to. So Thank you Sir. Ravi for that.😁

by Karl D

Jul 26, 2017

Good overview of systems biology, but the graded tests are somewhat difficult to understand for someone without a biology background such as myself.