Chevron Left
Introduction to Systems Biology に戻る

マウントサイナイ医科大学(Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai) による Introduction to Systems Biology の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.3
524件の評価
109件のレビュー

コースについて

This course will introduce the student to contemporary Systems Biology focused on mammalian cells, their constituents and their functions. Biology is moving from molecular to modular. As our knowledge of our genome and gene expression deepens and we develop lists of molecules (proteins, lipids, ions) involved in cellular processes, we need to understand how these molecules interact with each other to form modules that act as discrete functional systems. These systems underlie core subcellular processes such as signal transduction, transcription, motility and electrical excitability. In turn these processes come together to exhibit cellular behaviors such as secretion, proliferation and action potentials. What are the properties of such subcellular and cellular systems? What are the mechanisms by which emergent behaviors of systems arise? What types of experiments inform systems-level thinking? Why do we need computation and simulations to understand these systems? The course will develop multiple lines of reasoning to answer the questions listed above. Two major reasoning threads are: the design, execution and interpretation of multivariable experiments that produce large data sets; quantitative reasoning, models and simulations. Examples will be discussed to demonstrate “how” cell- level functions arise and “why” mechanistic knowledge allows us to predict cellular behaviors leading to disease states and drug responses....

人気のレビュー

SV

2016年2月6日

Very useful course in order to learn the basics in systems biology. You only need some training in biology to understand the concepts but the course is easy to follow and very complete.

BR

2019年8月7日

Great foundational material and insights from Prof. Iyengar that supports the 'disruptive' trends underway at the intersection of Computational Biology and Medicine.

フィルター:

Introduction to Systems Biology: 76 - 100 / 107 レビュー

by Rafael S

2019年7月15日

O curso é muito complicado para quem não conhecimento em modelos estáticos específicos.

Mas é muito interessante e muito abrangente.

by Akash R

2020年6月12日

The content of this course is quiet good, but is little bit hard to digest. Overall, I gained a lot of things from this course.

by Lianne A

2017年9月1日

Excellent course, could be improved by explaining the more difficult concepts in greater depth, e.g. ODE and PDE math.

by Alejandro V

2017年5月30日

Great new area to explore and study, however some subjects were not explained adequately.

by Md. M H

2016年2月27日

Very very informative course for the beginners like me!

by Jiho C

2017年3月9日

Good lecture, but not systematic curriculum

by Mariya P

2019年11月26日

Instructor is very hard to engage with.

by Boudalia M E A

2016年1月1日

a bit to hard for an introduction cours

by Arpita R

2022年8月2日

Excellent course work!

by Kang c

2016年6月14日

A very useful course!

by Chalasani S S N

2019年4月10日

useful

by Bruno P

2016年1月20日

With a biology background I had some difficulty following this course. That is understandable, as a lot of it relies in mathematical modelling and statistics. I still felt like some exam questions relied on material not yet lectured, which would sometimes leave me at a loss as to how I should have gotten to the right question in the first place. The lectures could have been structured differently, so as to facilitate engagement - I found myself easily losing focus and having to repeat the videos. Despite its shortcomings, the course is still a powerful introduction to Systems Biology.

by Hector F C M

2019年7月2日

I have to thank for this virtual course, however although this course is '' introduction '' it supposes that the participants have advanced concepts that are not explained, in many moments the literature is inconclusive, there is no literature that allows a basic revision on the topics that we are learning; The evlauacion is not according to what has been learned and in many cases it is based more on the memory than on the analysis.

by Atanas P

2021年3月19日

The lectures are somewhat incoherent. Many facts about the articles are not made clear or missed altogether, and I had to do a lot of extra reading in order to understand them.

by Karl D

2017年7月26日

Good overview of systems biology, but the graded tests are somewhat difficult to understand for someone without a biology background such as myself.

by Connie N

2020年10月1日

Really interesting content, but could use a rework on formatting, style, and clarity.

by Alan R d F K M

2020年1月20日

Could give more basic information about systems theory

by Milena J

2016年2月12日

The lectures were somehow chaotic.

by Mainak B

2020年2月23日

Tough and brain storming

by Tim D

2021年5月7日

While the course did present a few topics that may be of concern to a systems biologist, I'm very disappointed with the effort that went into presenting the material in a digestible, coherent way. After completing the course, rather than feeling like I just took an engaging course online, I feel a bit like someone had the radio tuned to a Systems Biology station in the other room while I did chores. The big issues are (1) The course is years old and hasn't been updated for this fast-moving field, (2) The lectures style is scattered, (3) The review material doesn't connect strongly to the lecture material, and (4) The video production is pretty low-effort.

by Soheyl M

2020年11月27日

The explanations in the course are extremely superficial and do not add anything to the PowerPoint presented in each course. In addition, most of the articles presented in the lectures are hardly discussed which makes it difficult to understand for a beginner in this field.

by Circe M

2017年8月11日

Course material was not presented in a matter that flowed naturally. Completing the course didn't lend greatly to my overall understanding in the area though I understand certain aspects very well.

by Carolina A

2020年4月19日

I found that the lectures didn't guide me enough. I download the articles and read extra material. I will look for another course to learn more of this part of the specialization.

by Alexandro G A S

2016年8月9日

It is a good introductory course, but it relies too much on networks and could be confusing and demoralizing if you intend to pursue a career in systems biology.

by diego

2019年11月6日

The course is too specific and advanced. It´s not an introduction.