Chevron Left
テクニカルライティング に戻る

モスクワ物理工科大学(Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology) による テクニカルライティング の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
507件の評価
128件のレビュー

コースについて

The course develops technical writing skills necessary to communicate information gained through a process of technical or experimental work. The course highlights the factors that determine the degree of technicality of the language and concepts involved. You will learn how to write different technical reports, e.g., laboratory reports, research reports, design and feasibility reports, progress reports, consulting reports, etc. The course also approaches several language, structure, style, and content issues that you can encounter while reporting the results of your research....

人気のレビュー

KA
2021年7月13日

Great course! I think the writing assignments really help you to get an idea of what a career in technical writing will be about. I really look forward to starting a career in technical writing!

EP
2019年11月11日

This course is a great gateway to the world of technical writing. A good effort by the trainers and curriculum creators at familiarising the learner with the basics, nuances and the requisites.

フィルター:

テクニカルライティング: 1 - 25 / 130 レビュー

by Digby D

2017年11月14日

Do not pay for this course; audit it or better yet, buy a book on technical writing instead.

As it currently stands, I can't recommend this course in good conscience, especially if you're paying for it. The presentation is a bit of a mess right now, to put it mildly. The entire "first week" is background information about the university and instructors, along with a short animation related to technical writing with no commentary that seems like it was made to be inserted into a video but was uploaded alone instead. You can skip straight to Week 2 "Characteristics of Technical Writing" and not be any worse off for it. (The video prior, "What's in a name?", could've easily been combined with the course information in a text document or with "Characteristics of Technical Writing" for a more robust understanding of what technical writers do and how it relates to their writing.) For how much the course tries to impress that technical writing should be clear, concise, and well-presented, it fails in nearly all of those aspects.

It's not unwatchable and there's solid information to be found, but those are only part of what makes a quality educational video. To sum it up (once again): Do not pay for this course. If you want the information in video format, audit it. If you can live with text presentation, find a book.

by Alexander T

2018年12月19日

This course contains multiple misspelled words, mispronounced words, and grammatical errors. The overall presentation is confusing, and poorly presented. The video lectures contain multiple "um" moments, text that does not match the verbal presentation; and a distracting oval blur below the orators neck. The orator(s) do not reflect a complete understanding of the English language, or presentation aesthetics. The quiz and test questions are phrased poorly. One of the writing assignments includes submitting a product description. Is a product description an example of marketing or technical writing?

by Héctor V

2021年2月22日

I was supposed to get a certificate upon completion, but on week 4, I was forced to pay to complete the last two modules. Horrible experience.

by Kyle D

2020年7月5日

Last lesson is an advertisement for a company. Really bummed cuz it starts out great and gets worse and worse until it ends with an ad.

by Debra D T

2021年1月1日

I'm not able to cancel this course, it only allows me to rate it.

by Indunil M H

2017年7月26日

This course was a great opportunity to learn the pros and cons of technical writing. It was such an informative, interesting and enlightening learning experience.

by PETER K F

2020年4月28日

I really enjoyed taking this Technical Writing course. It will definitely help me in writing reports in my current workplace. Thank you!

by Nathan T

2020年5月13日

The course was pretty good but I struggled with some of the formatting for my assignments. It felt like there were not enough details to see what was specifically expected from my assignments. I wasn't sure if I needed to follow an exact format or if I was to try and create something suitable. The word processor was not very powerful either. Many of the peer review suffered from poor formatting that I couldn't tell if it was user error or as a result of the word processor.

The information was useful and I did learn some new things that I hadn't received from my degree. I am excited to implement this new skill.

by Laura R

2021年7月20日

Delivery: As other reviewers have mentioned, there are some errors in pronunciation and word choice (unfortunately reflected in the transcript) by the presenter, as she is a non-native speaker of English. However, these should not hinder your ability to understand. What I found more difficult was the lack of introductory phrases or transitions to explain what topic or sub-topic the presenter was discussing. So while there may be a long list of information on a topic, you're left with a less than clear understanding of what this information pertains to because sometimes she just starts listing information and you have to guess the specific topic. Especially since this a technical writing course, I feel that the topic signaling should have been better. These key words and phrases are an important part of effectively teaching in English. What was helpful: I enjoyed learning the format for technical definitions, and I will keep some of the specific tips for styling succinct writing. I learned some names for the different kind of reports in the world of technical writing. If you've never read a research article in school and aren't familiar with the format, you will at least hear about the sections they typically contain.

What's lacking: Some information assessed on the quizzes did not seem to be in the videos. I had to search other sources to better understand the types of extensions and examples of them. Not all of them were mentioned in the video. I rewatched and searched the transcript multiple times. I also felt that the course lacked examples of complete technical writing documents so that students could see what a finished product looks like. It would be helpful to see good examples (and even bad, for comparison) of the different types of writing. Again, I had to search outside sources for more information on the difference between product description vs. process description vs. instructions so that I could understand the expectations on the assignment clearly.

As also mentioned by others, Weeks 1 and 5 are not very helpful. Week 1 is all about introducing the institutions sponsoring this course and Week 5 is all about a paid subscription database service you can use in your research. They are very much more about marketing themselves than useful content. The assignments: I was disappointed to see that most assignments submitted by my peers were copied and pasted from sources on the internet. In other words, most people plagiarized. They didn't even plagiarize good examples of the requested type of technical writing. If you are doing peer reviews and see the topic of Zoom (assignment 1, copied from a YouTube video) or how to write technical writing (assignment 2, copied from an online textbook), it is most likely plagiarized. You can Google the text and find the original sources easily. Flag it for plagiarism. Don't expect to receive any meaningful feedback from the peer grading. It seems that most people are here to get the certificate without actually learning by doing, which is unfortunate, because that is the only feedback you get on your writing assignments. I didn't get any helpful feedback on mine, but I'm glad I did it myself and spent time polishing it, because now I have something to add to my portfolio. I feel that the assignment directions could have been clearer and would have been helped by showing some example documents so that it's easy to understand what type of document is being requested. I also wish the second writing assignment (in Week 5) could be submitted by uploading a file because the graphics I made for the various figures in my directions could not be added in the text entry box. The most they give you is the ability to add a link to an image, which means that if you did any custom image you have to upload and host it somewhere on the internet and then provide a link. I don't know why the second assignment is like that when the first one allowed a file upload.

by Vishvaa

2020年5月26日

Hello everyone.. I am an engineering student and was willing to improve my Technical Writing skills. However I could not find the proper guide or the instructor to learn and teach me until I joined this course. This course has really helped me in understanding how to best perform as a Technical Writer and it also provided some very useful resources that add the extra knowledge. I liked this course and would like to recommend it to others as it gives practical based knowledge for industrial development. Thank you very much!

by Mickey F

2020年10月26日

Very helpful course! The concepts and items were explained well, and for any knowledge level. There were also lots of points made that I wouldn't have thought about.

by Pallavi.N P

2018年2月11日

I enjoyed learning technical writing course from Coursera. Thank you for introducing such a complicated topic in the simplest possible way.

by Carmela I E

2021年7月8日

pretty comprehensive, but some lectures didn't feel cohesive or followed a logical pattern (ironic for a technical writing course) making it long-winded and dizzying. gets repetitive after a certain point but definitely helpful for building up skills. some of the quizzes were also quite tedious, as they only accepted the exact wording of certain answers instead of the (also-correct) general idea.

due to the nature of the course however it was so hard to continue with peer-grading assignments because there were so many submissions that plagiarized from already-written, easily-accessible content online. not an issue of the course per se, but still notable. i hope they can implement a plagiarism checker onto the submission box.

by Barbara

2020年5月22日

I was excited to take this course, however, once I got to the assignment I was so disappointed. The assignment was to write a paper explaining how to use a product or do a process. I spent a lot of time writing my paper, taking pictures and including them. When I finished the project, there was no way to upload it into the assignment box. Why would a writing course that encourages you to use pictures and graphs and examples to explain a process, not let you upload a paper? When I tried to copy and paste my paper into the space provided, it took our all of the photos, collapsed the text boxes and deleted about half of the written words. How can you explain a process without all of those things

by Karlita K

2021年7月14日

Great course! I think the writing assignments really help you to get an idea of what a career in technical writing will be about. I really look forward to starting a career in technical writing!

by Esther P

2019年11月12日

This course is a great gateway to the world of technical writing. A good effort by the trainers and curriculum creators at familiarising the learner with the basics, nuances and the requisites.

by Ranjit K

2020年4月29日

This course clarifies the doubt I had before. There are amazing facts and elaboration of writing aspects. Will recommend this course.

by Rejimon R

2020年11月20日

good experience. i learned too many things about technical writing. While working also it will helpful to recall the technical terms

by Dilshod N

2018年11月1日

Learned so many things. Good course.

by Mithun G

2017年11月26日

Very sound testing method. You really need to be attentive.

1 star less because of the last video that seemed to be a promotion for a certain website, felt inappropriate for such a good course.

by BAHAEDDINE B A

2020年1月31日

To whom it may concern,

I would like to thank you so much for this wonderful course.I really appreciate the contents of all modules and sections,it is well structured and organized and contains a lot of useful information that gives a large vision. It allows also the trainee to have the big picture and a deep understanding of the job.I'm a technical writer who was hired two weeks ago to work for the account of a software solution company in the insurance field of interest and I really now can see things more clearly than the first day at work.

I'm extremely grateful for this treasure and I strongly believe that your contributions through this course have changed my work life for the better.

by Lisa C

2020年11月1日

I would highly recommend this course if you are looking to expand your skill set of writing. The videos are great and the tests are challenging. The assignments helped to clarify what technical writing involves. I feel confident I could apply for a technical writer position and succeed. My advice is to stay ahead in the course because 5 weeks time goes by quickly and you may need extra time to pass some of the tests or finish assignments. I'm excited to add this piece of learning to my resume. Thank you for a great class! Lisa A. Carlson

by Harald M

2021年3月25日

In my view, it was a really good course covering all components of the process of creating a technical document. Additional information was also included, for instance concerning the web of science or patent database. Peer-graded assignment was a new experience for me. An interesting one, however, especially writing a -voluntary- comment about my assessment. The only thing I missed a little is specific information about norms like ISO9001 etc. I can imagine, however, that this would alone fill a whole course.

by Fatin F

2021年8月17日

This course covers the fundamentals of technical writing in a clear and concise manner, and the course materials and evaluation method are both impressive. The instructors were likewise ecstatic and excellent. This course is highly recommended for those who are new to technical writing and want to learn the ins and outs of the process.

by Arya H

2020年8月11日

I was new to this and the teachers have done an incredible job explaining the topics and with the materials also. The extra readings are very helpful to understand more. I got an internship after I finished my course and I can implement so much after this course. A must for a beginner I would say.