Chevron Left
The Music of the Beatles に戻る

ロチェスター大学(University of Rochester) による The Music of the Beatles の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
696件の評価

コースについて

The Music of the Beatles will track the musical development of the band, starting from the earliest days in Liverpool and Hamburg, moving through the excitement of Beatlemania, the rush of psychedelia, and the maturity of Abbey Road. While the focus will be on the music, we will also consider how recording techniques, the music business, the music of other artists, and the culture of the 1960s affected John, Paul, George, and Ringo as they created the Beatles repertory. There is probably no band or artist that has had more written about their music than the Beatles. There are many good books on the band's biography, several insider accounts offering glimpses behind the scenes, books that interpret the meaning of the songs, and even books that catalog dates and people regarding the band. This course will try to synthesize much of that information into an account of the Beatles' development as musicians and songwriters....

人気のレビュー

SS

2020年6月12日

Great class. For someone who grew up listening to the Beatles (thank you, Mom!), I learned things I did not know and will listen to the songs with a different appreciation and approach. Thank you!!!!

JC

2020年8月13日

I really enjoyed the course, including the side stories. I only wish that there was no problem with copyright infringement and all so one can listen to the songs as they are being discussed.

フィルター:

The Music of the Beatles: 226 - 250 / 259 レビュー

by Susan E B

2017年11月21日

The instructor was clearly enthusiastic, but was sometimes difficult to follow; so, I usually read the transcriptions as he spoke. I found him to be jumping from one topic to another often enough that I found it distracting and disruptive to the flow of the lesson (i.e., saying, something such as "but I'll come back to that later" and so on). Despite this, I found this to be a really interesting course and enjoyed learning things I did not know, and being reminded of those things and the songs, that I did know. Thanks!

by Helen T

2017年11月20日

I enjoyed the course although the lack of being able to listen to the actual songs because of copyright was a bit disappointing. I did find the transcripts contained many spelling errors - Beetles, The Monkeys (Monkees), ten pan alley (Tin Pan Alley etc). Overall though a very enjoyable discussion on the music of the Beatles and side notes on the roles of Brian Epstein, George Martin etc.

by mike

2017年10月29日

The pacing of the course is uneven. It is quite light in the beginning to get you going and then get much heavier near the end. The quizzes are simple and very difficult to fail. As long as you keep notes that you can review you'll be fine. I do have a better understanding of Beatles music after taking this course. It would be nice to have media included but I understand why it isn't.

by Fernando C S

2020年7月12日

I didn't think that a course whitout any music could be insteresting and actually the main reason to continue was "The Beatles". How wrong I was.

Mr. Covach let me say congratulations it's a beatiful course. You're very sensible about all "The Beatles" atmosphere. Thank you so much.

I'm recommend this course for anyone who wants to get deep in The Beatles Music and life.

by Amin

2020年9月11日

Always a pleasure learning with Professor Covach. I learned a lot and I'm even hungry to learn more with this awesome instructor! The sound quality was a bit rusty in some sessions and Professor Covach was a bit concerned about the copy right issues more than usual. But in the end I don't regret a second spending on this course and learning.

by Joe R G

2016年11月19日

An excellent overview of the Fab Four's career, with a focus on the songwriting. It would be better if the real music and lyrics could be used and if there were more video and anecdotes incorporated into the storytelling (even if it wasn't the Beatles themselves, but other voices lending their thoughts).

by Diego T

2017年3月31日

Un curso sobre la música de THE BEATLES sin apartes musicales o de video se torna aburrido en algunas lecciones ya que tiene el estudiante que cambiar de página web (sea you tube, spotify etc.) para escuchar las canciones y entender las explicaciones que el profesor detallaba.

En contenido excelente.

by Julia M T

2017年9月22日

I would have loved to see pictures or accompanying video (but I understand there are copyright laws as discussed in the beginning... It is a shame that it couldn't be used for educational purposes though hehe. Good thing I have all the Beatles music at hand anyways.)

by Jim R

2018年4月16日

Muy buen curso, aprendí bastante y logré dimensionar el avance la música a través de la experiencia de los Beatles. Me hubiese gustado oír un poco más en cuanto al trabajo de George Martin o Geoff Emerick, pero en general el curso está genial!

by Mark B

2022年2月18日

I'm an amateur Beatles scholar and history buff. This course was a nice review of the history of the Beatles. Some of the information was erroneous or outdated, but all in all I found the course quite enjoyable.

by Dave U

2021年3月5日

The course is definitely impacted negatively by the complete absence of Beatles music and by the inability of the instructor to state any of the lyrics. But the instructor is very good.

by Dwight H

2021年2月15日

Very good history of the Beatles and their style of music.

A little more about the Beatles lives and their travel dates over the years would have been added interest.

by Jaime R

2019年11月1日

Excellent course, maybe it should go deeper in composition, beside the analysis of form. Harmony for instance. Thanks a lot, it was a thrill.

by Ewan K

2017年7月29日

Had lots of fun, great course. Good insight into the history of the Beatles, now I can enjoy the albums in a new light, Thank you Professor.

by Kay F

2021年5月13日

Some information does get complicated. While I understand about copyright laws, it's a shame we couldn't listen to examples. Thank you.

by Fok s k

2016年11月1日

The course is great and it helps me in understanding and appreciating their music.

by Evelyn G

2018年2月10日

Muy interesante, en especial para quienes amamos la música de los Beatles.

by Heather M

2018年4月30日

Very interesting course, especially if you are interested in the Beatles.

by Felipe R

2016年4月17日

Buen curso, bien detallado y organizado. Muy bueno.

by Laura A A T

2020年9月9日

Hace falta escuchar fragmentos de la música

by Luc L

2016年12月21日

Really enjoyed learning about The Beatles

by Antonio R M

2017年4月16日

Muy interesante

by Sokrates V

2015年8月26日

That was great!

by Jose C P

2017年5月24日

muy bueno

by Todd S V

2018年9月5日

The course was ok. For a free (or $50) course that is based on True False and Multiple Guess questions drawn from the instructor's videos, it isn't bad. Regrettably, with all the music, reference materials, etc. out there, the course could be so much better! No true, required discussion forums, no research, no papers, no essay questions. The recommended reading materials are an excellent foundation. Too bad they aren't needed for the course (as everything is predicated on the videos). Perhaps University of Rochester (or some other Coursera community center of learning) could offer something a bit more thought provoking and educationally stimulating for "advanced" Beatles Fans? Peace and Love.