Chevron Left
The Music of the Beatles に戻る

ロチェスター大学(University of Rochester) による The Music of the Beatles の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
674件の評価
252件のレビュー

コースについて

The Music of the Beatles will track the musical development of the band, starting from the earliest days in Liverpool and Hamburg, moving through the excitement of Beatlemania, the rush of psychedelia, and the maturity of Abbey Road. While the focus will be on the music, we will also consider how recording techniques, the music business, the music of other artists, and the culture of the 1960s affected John, Paul, George, and Ringo as they created the Beatles repertory. There is probably no band or artist that has had more written about their music than the Beatles. There are many good books on the band's biography, several insider accounts offering glimpses behind the scenes, books that interpret the meaning of the songs, and even books that catalog dates and people regarding the band. This course will try to synthesize much of that information into an account of the Beatles' development as musicians and songwriters....

人気のレビュー

SS
2020年6月12日

Great class. For someone who grew up listening to the Beatles (thank you, Mom!), I learned things I did not know and will listen to the songs with a different appreciation and approach. Thank you!!!!

JC
2020年8月13日

I really enjoyed the course, including the side stories. I only wish that there was no problem with copyright infringement and all so one can listen to the songs as they are being discussed.

フィルター:

The Music of the Beatles: 226 - 250 / 250 レビュー

by Jim R

2018年4月16日

Muy buen curso, aprendí bastante y logré dimensionar el avance la música a través de la experiencia de los Beatles. Me hubiese gustado oír un poco más en cuanto al trabajo de George Martin o Geoff Emerick, pero en general el curso está genial!

by Dave U

2021年3月5日

The course is definitely impacted negatively by the complete absence of Beatles music and by the inability of the instructor to state any of the lyrics. But the instructor is very good.

by Dwight H

2021年2月15日

Very good history of the Beatles and their style of music.

A little more about the Beatles lives and their travel dates over the years would have been added interest.

by Jaime R

2019年11月1日

Excellent course, maybe it should go deeper in composition, beside the analysis of form. Harmony for instance. Thanks a lot, it was a thrill.

by Ewan K

2017年7月29日

Had lots of fun, great course. Good insight into the history of the Beatles, now I can enjoy the albums in a new light, Thank you Professor.

by Kay F

2021年5月13日

Some information does get complicated. While I understand about copyright laws, it's a shame we couldn't listen to examples. Thank you.

by Fok s k

2016年11月1日

The course is great and it helps me in understanding and appreciating their music.

by Evelyn G

2018年2月10日

Muy interesante, en especial para quienes amamos la música de los Beatles.

by Heather M

2018年4月30日

Very interesting course, especially if you are interested in the Beatles.

by Felipe R

2016年4月17日

Buen curso, bien detallado y organizado. Muy bueno.

by Laura A A T

2020年9月9日

Hace falta escuchar fragmentos de la música

by Luc L

2016年12月21日

Really enjoyed learning about The Beatles

by Antonio R M

2017年4月16日

Muy interesante

by Sokrates V

2015年8月26日

That was great!

by Jose C P

2017年5月24日

muy bueno

by Todd S V

2018年9月5日

The course was ok. For a free (or $50) course that is based on True False and Multiple Guess questions drawn from the instructor's videos, it isn't bad. Regrettably, with all the music, reference materials, etc. out there, the course could be so much better! No true, required discussion forums, no research, no papers, no essay questions. The recommended reading materials are an excellent foundation. Too bad they aren't needed for the course (as everything is predicated on the videos). Perhaps University of Rochester (or some other Coursera community center of learning) could offer something a bit more thought provoking and educationally stimulating for "advanced" Beatles Fans? Peace and Love.

by Chingiz S

2016年6月14日

Apparently, the instructor is well-informed in the history of the band.

Nevertheless, information is delivered in a huge portions, sometimes cluttered and it s easy to lost in the narrative.

Sound quality is bad (the volume is jumping sometimes and there is a lot of noise)

May I suggest that you provide a short arts of songs you are talking about?

I understand, there are copyright issues, but still, something should be done about it.

All in all, I wish to enroll in the second, improved release of this course

by yaoyaoholiday

2017年3月8日

The professor is very knowledgable. However, the course has too much memorized stuff to remember (especially when students try to finish the tests). One more thing, though at the beginning of the class, the professor notified that Beatles songs won't be played in the class due to copyright reason, but when students really go through the whole class, it is very hard to follow. Isn't music all about feeling? But the class is more like a history class. : (

by Eylül K

2017年3月18日

The content of the course is very nice. Especially the part about the instruments is very good. It's good to see exact instruments of them. Hovewer, I think, a course about music should include a little bit music :) It will be better to figure out the problem about copyright. I prepared a Spotify list that includes the songs mentioned during the course but It's better to listen the music or see the lyrics during the course.

Thank you very much :)

by Anthony P

2015年12月8日

I'm grateful to the professor for constructing and delivering this course. I learned a few things but the lack of musical analysis was a disappointment. I know that form is important but there was no mention of modulation, chord progressions or cadence styles (John versus Paul). I feel the course should have been titled The History of the Beatles.

by marc b

2016年11月26日

Clearly, the instructor is passionate about the Beatles (as am I). However it's really hard to talk about the music of the Beatles and not nine able to even quote from their songs, much less play their music! No songs, no music for fear of being sued!

Takes a good deal away from the course!

by Deleted A

2016年6月27日

You can't have a "Music of the Beatles" course without playing some of the music. Surely under the Fair Use provisions of the Copyright Act parts of the Beatles music could be played as well as parts of YouTube

by Rahul R

2020年5月5日

I like all the zeal and passion. But, there has to be music. Else, it's as good as just a history class.

by Lionel J P

2018年2月1日

Too much talking head. Not always well researched. Naïve and coy presentation.

by fabian r

2016年8月28日

it has to be reviewed