Chevron Left
The Blues: Understanding and Performing an American Art Form に戻る

ロチェスター大学(University of Rochester) による The Blues: Understanding and Performing an American Art Form の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
550件の評価

コースについて

The blues is an American art form and the most important musical form in jazz. Although there are other formal paradigms of the blues, such as 8-bar or 16-bar, this course focuses on different incarnations of the 12-bar blues. There are considerable differences between Early Jazz blues, Swing blues, Bebop blues, Modal blues, and Post Bop blues. Each type has its unique harmonic syntax, melodic vocabulary and, associated with them, improvisational techniques. While other aspects of jazz performance practice have been constantly changing from one stylistic convention to another, the blues has never lost its identity and expressive power, and continues to exert a powerful influence on the harmonic and melodic syntax of jazz. This seven-week course explores important aspects of the blues, blues improvisation, basic keyboard textures, jazz harmonic and melodic syntax. Topics include: (1) Blues Progressions; (2) Blues and Other Scales; (3) Improvisational Tools, and others. This course will also cover valuable theoretical concepts enabling the student to master the art of jazz improvisation. Each topic will be introduced from a practical perspective with the clearly stated goal: to improve one’s improvisational skills. Jazz improvisation is rooted in spontaneity, creativity, self-expression and, at the same time, self-control and order. A unique pedagogical approach based on a one-to-one musical interaction conducted with different instrumentalists will help to reinforce many of the concepts introduced in this course and realize its stated objectives....

人気のレビュー

JB

2020年7月27日

Very good and enjoyable mix of practice and theory - from basics to more advanced with good explanations throughout. I just wish I was a better piano player to be able to take full advantage of it!

DB

2016年10月7日

Such a great course! Even though I am a bass player this course has made me understand patterns and ways in which the Blues can be taken to. Thank you very much for such an amazing experience.

フィルター:

The Blues: Understanding and Performing an American Art Form: 101 - 125 / 225 レビュー

by Hirokuni T

2018年3月18日

Good course.

It is analyzed from the perspective of Jazz.

If you want to learn traditional Blues, This course is Jazzy too much.

by Lee M

2016年11月1日

A fantastic introduction to how Jazz was formed and relates to the blues. What an inspiration Professor Dariusz Terefenko is.

by José D C

2018年6月12日

Excelente curso. Muy completo didactico. Felicitaciones al instructor y a los que trabajaron en la producción de este curso.

by Jheison F L V

2020年7月13日

It's a very complete course with a lot of information and many examples, very easy to understand. Thank you very much!

by Linda K

2017年7月22日

Fantastic introduction to the blues and to music theory. Very clear explanations, great demos, engaging professor.

by Luis C

2019年1月21日

Un curso fascinante, me hubiera encantado que tuviese subtitulos en español, asi lo hubiese aprovechado al máximo

by Harry K

2016年6月8日

Excellent instructor and course on fundamentals of the blues and jazz. Please continue more similar courses!

by Michał R F

2020年3月20日

For folks like me this course could be a bit difficult sometimes, but it's also a lot of fun!!!! Thank you!

by Thomas M

2017年2月22日

Great course and great instructor!! I will be delving into this material for a long, long time!! Thank You!

by Paul H

2020年5月24日

Excellent review of blues and associated chords, scales and improvisation tips and approaches to practice!

by Emilio

2020年4月27日

I took this course a couple years ago - great material, very well structured, valuable information. Thanks

by Huang ( H

2016年10月17日

5 star recommended! all courses offered by Rochester especially music course were in very high quality!

by Nicovrey

2020年4月12日

Excellent introduce course. Great teacher and excellent band for the music examples. Thanks a lot !!

by Carlos F

2016年9月26日

EXCELLENT COURSE THE BEST BLUES COURSE. I RECOMMEND THIS COURSE FOR STUDENTS ADVANCED AND BEGINNERS.

by Krisztina C

2020年5月29日

Great, thank you! Thorough, informative, and ispirational course, it was very beneficial to me.

by Joseph G

2021年1月6日

Excellent clarity , pace, examples and structure. Darius is a superb teacher. Thank You Darius!

by Alan t

2016年8月10日

Excellent class. Interesting, informative and with practical application. Highly recommended.

by Raul C

2016年7月16日

Excellent course. It goes deep into the core of the blues while showing tools for improvisation

by Byrolsh

2020年7月26日

Dariusz Terefenko is a great teacher! I'm very greatful for share his knowledge. Thanks you!

by minram z

2020年12月23日

Amazing course! So many things to learn. Practical lessons with comprehensible music theory.

by Eddy O S H

2020年7月30日

excellent course! detailed explanation in a clear and understandable language throughout.

by Johan R O

2018年1月29日

The course is excellent, the contents are pertinent and well developed along the 7 weeks

by Curt M

2020年5月30日

This course is a great way to learn, review, or rev up your improvisational techniques.

by Cesar G C

2021年5月26日

Estupendo!! material preciso y explicado de manera fácil y sencilla.. recomendado!!