Chevron Left
The Blues: Understanding and Performing an American Art Form に戻る

ロチェスター大学(University of Rochester) による The Blues: Understanding and Performing an American Art Form の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
550件の評価

コースについて

The blues is an American art form and the most important musical form in jazz. Although there are other formal paradigms of the blues, such as 8-bar or 16-bar, this course focuses on different incarnations of the 12-bar blues. There are considerable differences between Early Jazz blues, Swing blues, Bebop blues, Modal blues, and Post Bop blues. Each type has its unique harmonic syntax, melodic vocabulary and, associated with them, improvisational techniques. While other aspects of jazz performance practice have been constantly changing from one stylistic convention to another, the blues has never lost its identity and expressive power, and continues to exert a powerful influence on the harmonic and melodic syntax of jazz. This seven-week course explores important aspects of the blues, blues improvisation, basic keyboard textures, jazz harmonic and melodic syntax. Topics include: (1) Blues Progressions; (2) Blues and Other Scales; (3) Improvisational Tools, and others. This course will also cover valuable theoretical concepts enabling the student to master the art of jazz improvisation. Each topic will be introduced from a practical perspective with the clearly stated goal: to improve one’s improvisational skills. Jazz improvisation is rooted in spontaneity, creativity, self-expression and, at the same time, self-control and order. A unique pedagogical approach based on a one-to-one musical interaction conducted with different instrumentalists will help to reinforce many of the concepts introduced in this course and realize its stated objectives....

人気のレビュー

JB

2020年7月27日

Very good and enjoyable mix of practice and theory - from basics to more advanced with good explanations throughout. I just wish I was a better piano player to be able to take full advantage of it!

DB

2016年10月7日

Such a great course! Even though I am a bass player this course has made me understand patterns and ways in which the Blues can be taken to. Thank you very much for such an amazing experience.

フィルター:

The Blues: Understanding and Performing an American Art Form: 201 - 225 / 225 レビュー

by CARLOS C

2016年5月14日

great

by Steve R

2017年8月24日

At first I though it was a very poor course but certain parts of it were gold for me and I got a lot out of it. I particularly appreciated the advice on how to improvise through out the course. I was less keen on the parts on modes and pentatonics but on the other hand for someone further along in their musical journey it may be just the thing. Although the course is ostensibly on the blues it also covers a lot of material relevant to Jazz.

Pedagogically there were some problems.I think the course has way too much material and could be split into 2 parts each part maybe a bit slower.The presenter need to sharpen up his game a little as regards presentation skills, reading material of an IPad is not very inspiring. His English is not very idiomatic but that's not really a big problem. Written sheets with the changes and summarizing the lectures would have made the course better. Finally there are no peer reviews and all quizzes are theoretical - rather disappointing. I prefer a hands on approach with peer based reviews as in Gary Burton's course also on Coursera.

by Marc S

2018年5月17日

This course was not at all what I expected; I'm not sure if I misread the syllabus or just misunderstood its contents. First, I was expecting the course to center around the blues, a la Robert Johnson, Muddy Waters, John Le Hooker, B.B King, etc. It turned out to be a lot less blues and a LOT more jazz with the likes of John Coltrane, Miles David, Joe Henderson, etc! Second, I was expecting more history with little to no theory. As it turns out, this course was highly theoretical and performance heavy. All in all though, it was a great course but certainly not for a beginner musician.

by Barbara S

2020年11月29日

I had trouble at first following the written transcripts of the various lessons as they had many word mistakes. The organization of the class material, demos and play-along videos was excellent. It would, however, be very useful to be able to easily print out the various music examples - I copied them off by hand and that was a pain. Overall, I learned a lot and am happy I took the course.

by Lorenzo A

2017年4月25日

This course is great and I found it very complementary to the Berklee Improv course. This is more advanced and it dives deeper. But it is less "hands on". My only remark is that people would benefit more from it if it had some practical homework beyond quizzes and if the material was made available in a nice format.

by Arthur G

2018年5月16日

My reason for only giving four stars is because I could not find the materials associated with the lessons. I created my own notes for the course which for me is very helpful. I also wish that the correct answers would be provided for the ones that I got wrong even though I passed the quiz.

by Kathy K

2022年7月16日

It introduce very important component about american Blue scale. Despite you have a basic knowledge about some Jazz thoery, this is a kinda interesting course and you can learn a lot with the marterials provided in this course.

by Henriet P

2020年4月27日

Very very interesting. I like the it is explained. Great

Week 7 is to difficult for me now. I need to practice to go further with the material

It could have peer review of exercises! it could help us to verify to understand well

by GARDELLI V

2020年12月30日

It's a lot of years since I started playing piano jazz, nevertheless I got different interesting points to reflect into and several exercises to practice, expecially with pentatonics and scalar patterns. Very enjoyable!

by José M

2017年7月11日

Great overall planification and sequence of matters. Some errors in written materials. Some ambiguous questions on quiz. Great music examples played by collaborators. Very poor written transcriptions of spoken text.

by Loïc C

2017年10月25日

The prof explains the concepts very clearly and provides helpful resources

The quiz/assignments could be more challenging to better put into practice the learned material.

by Esther A

2020年11月17日

Seems comprehensive, with many great techniques for understanding jazz and practicing improvisation. Besides quizzes though, there are no assignments.

by Anthony R

2020年5月13日

Well presented Theoretical Practical Jazz Improvisational Foundational Building Blocks. Great Information. Thanks Professor D.T.

by Roberto G C

2016年9月24日

Muy buen curso, excelente para músicos e intérpretes. Recomendable en todos sus aspectos y sumamente claro en su comunicación.

by José M A

2016年9月1日

Explica de forma clara, desde su forma más simple hasta la más compleja, qué es un Blues y cómo se estructura. Enhorabuena.

by Joy S

2018年10月6日

Related to jazz, which I enjoy. However, this teaches you to perform the music. Prefer music appreciation classes.

by Pedro L A D

2020年7月7日

Maybe a little bit complex for people who are not very specialised in music...

by Steve R

2016年7月26日

It seemed to be more jazz than blues, but it was entertaining and educational.

by Oscar R

2020年1月1日

learn about blues and Jazz history from a harmonic perspective!

by Janet P

2021年11月27日

D​educted one star due to lack of women represented.

by Luuk S

2019年5月21日

Very nice

by Claude J

2018年8月28日

This training deals with jazz, not with simple blues, which was my first interest. I found it very challenging, starting with flat 7 chords (why not a simple E7 blues progression ?), and introducing from lesson one the II-V progression, which is to me an advanced topic. I gave up after lesson 3 because I am not comfortable listening many chromatic harmonies that I typically associate with the jazz.

by Kenneth B

2017年5月28日

Some of the course content came across unsure. This is a good course that needs to be tweaked. There were cases when information was unclear and undecided.

by Jean R

2016年8月24日

This course is not for me.

Principal concepts seem very difficult from the first lesson.

Professor hesitates, quiz is incomprehensible.

So, Good Bye ! I do like blues and listen it very often, but this doesn't help me.

by Isaac R

2016年5月19日

Mucha Teoria en una semana, poca pratica.