Chevron Left
The American South: Its Stories, Music, and Art に戻る

ノースカロライナ大学チャペルヒル校(The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill) による The American South: Its Stories, Music, and Art の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.5
326件の評価
90件のレビュー

コースについて

From small farms to urban neighborhoods, from the region itself to the more distant worlds of the southern diaspora, we discover the stories, music, and art of the American South....

人気のレビュー

ES

Aug 14, 2015

One of the greatest courses I ever followed!\n\nInteresting, documentary, not even one minute boring, very well organized and easy to follow.\n\nMusic is part of our history.

CC

Aug 26, 2015

Bill Ferris is a wealth of knowledge and experience - I only regret missing out on the classroom dynamic of a Ferris-led discussion of Southern arts, particularly the Blues.

フィルター:

The American South: Its Stories, Music, and Art: 51 - 75 / 90 レビュー

by Paulette B

Oct 26, 2019

Thank you for presenting this information.

by John W

Dec 17, 2015

An excellent and thought provoking course.

by Dario

Jun 23, 2016

Very interesting, great professor

by Carmen B

Sep 30, 2015

Very interesting and informative.

by David L M

Jun 13, 2020

Absolutely loved this course.

by Samanta G P

Apr 11, 2019

Excepcional! Me encanto!

by Deniz N E B T

Dec 16, 2015

So much fun! Very inter

by Daniel G

May 02, 2020

A lot of fun. thanks

by P G

Oct 24, 2019

Excellent content

by Joao P A

Jun 25, 2018

Excellent!!

by Tim R

May 01, 2018

Fantastic!

by Shelton D

Nov 19, 2016

I think some very tough choices were made to fit the course online. It is a successful course, but you can tell that a more in depth version of the course would probably be exciting. You would certainly go further, if you were enrolled at Chapel Hill, and had a couple semesters to contemplate the topic.

The instructor is a person who made his own videos and recordings of local storytellers, artists and musicians over a long period of time. You can tell he is a very active collector of local lore. So, he tries to feature this material, sensibly. Some of this material you was great.

On the other hand; the knowledge of the course is really only a beginning to what could be learned. For example, when mentioning the photographers or painters of the South, you are not able to see a large number of their pictures. Likewise, when talking about the major writers, such as Faulkner, you do not get to read many longer excerpts of their work. This course provides the names to reference; starting points for further study. The instructor trusts you to investigate these resources on your own.

by José D

Aug 14, 2015

I took this course with a special interest on the musical aspect, namely the blues, of course. In that regard the course is very superficial, but has some interesting stuff even so. The other aspects of literature, painting, and the more popular arts (kilts, oral traditions, etc.) where a nice surprise. This course gives a view of a cultural aspect of America that is very interesting and mostly unknown, particularly, I guess, to a non American. I advise this course to anyone who is interested in ethnology, folklore and popular art and music and is not already familiarized with the American South.

by Ann M

May 21, 2020

This course was a great introductory material to the life and the oral tradition of the American South. It explored the deeper areas of Southern life and localised the culture through one-on-one recordings and interviews. One suggestion is that in the last class, Prof. Ferris could have provided a synopsis of the course material. The pace of the teaching is adequate and the modules enable the learner to seek more information as needed. I thoroughly enjoyed taking this course.

by Arturo T S

Mar 24, 2016

Es una muy buena introducción al estudio de la cultura del sur de los Estados Unidos y al mismo tiempo un panorama para buscar más información sobre ciertos temas como el blues, las tradiciones orales, la religión, la vida cotidiana y los grandes creadores de la literatura y la música inmersos en la tradición del sur estadounidense.

by Jerome B

Aug 25, 2020

Really interesting. Just a shame that all sources used are limited to the instructor's own work (books, photos and videos), and also that the tone is very monotonous which sometimes makes it hard to lose interest.

by Emily Z

Jul 25, 2020

An insight into an storied culture. My main complaint is that this class is much less of a structured class, and more a string of glimpses into specific and sort of semi-random aspects of Southern culture.

by Sue J D

Feb 19, 2019

I watched many of the videos. It was very interesting. I particularly liked the stories/video clips of musicians. I do hope you have seen The Song Catcher..this reminded me of it.

by Bernardo F B E

Sep 06, 2015

This course is complete and does offer very good information on the music, stories, and art of the American South. I really enjoyed the blues music information presented to students.

by Echo W

Sep 24, 2015

interesting, the photos, the film and voice records really bring us back to the time in the past, which also help me know what the real south is.

by Ena X

Nov 11, 2015

It's a great course with a lot of background on Blues music. Tho I wish there were more music pieces to listen as examples.

by Donna S

Feb 17, 2017

Great Material. Quizes and discussions didn't work, But i was only auditing the course. There is a wealth of information.

by Yushan S

Sep 08, 2015

A good course for anyone who want to know more about the American South, but a little boring~

by Coral Y

Jan 23, 2016

rich and engaging documentaries took 80% of the class content - but still fun to watch!

by Allison B

Nov 06, 2015

Great course with a different perspective on history&people. Fun and simple.