Chevron Left
The American South: Its Stories, Music, and Art に戻る

ノースカロライナ大学チャペルヒル校(The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill) による The American South: Its Stories, Music, and Art の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.5
357件の評価
95件のレビュー

コースについて

From small farms to urban neighborhoods, from the region itself to the more distant worlds of the southern diaspora, we discover the stories, music, and art of the American South....

人気のレビュー

ES
2015年8月13日

One of the greatest courses I ever followed!\n\nInteresting, documentary, not even one minute boring, very well organized and easy to follow.\n\nMusic is part of our history.

CC
2015年8月25日

Bill Ferris is a wealth of knowledge and experience - I only regret missing out on the classroom dynamic of a Ferris-led discussion of Southern arts, particularly the Blues.

フィルター:

The American South: Its Stories, Music, and Art: 51 - 75 / 95 レビュー

by MALAMATENIA G

2020年12月27日

This course is really a treasure I've recently discovered!

by phunguyen

2015年12月26日

I really enjoyed this course. Very interesting!

by Archana A

2020年6月19日

The course was very interesting and inspiring.

by Juan V

2015年11月9日

Was an hell of a ride! Enjoyed it thoroughly.

by Paulette B

2019年10月26日

Thank you for presenting this information.

by John W

2015年12月17日

An excellent and thought provoking course.

by Esther R

2020年12月16日

Really interesting. Lots of good content

by Dario

2016年6月23日

Very interesting, great professor

by Carmen B

2015年9月30日

Very interesting and informative.

by David L M

2020年6月13日

Absolutely loved this course.

by Samanta G P

2019年4月11日

Excepcional! Me encanto!

by Deniz N E B T

2015年12月16日

So much fun! Very inter

by Daniel G

2020年5月2日

A lot of fun. thanks

by P G

2019年10月23日

Excellent content

by Joao P A

2018年6月25日

Excellent!!

by Tim R

2018年5月1日

Fantastic!

by Shelton D

2016年11月19日

I think some very tough choices were made to fit the course online. It is a successful course, but you can tell that a more in depth version of the course would probably be exciting. You would certainly go further, if you were enrolled at Chapel Hill, and had a couple semesters to contemplate the topic.

The instructor is a person who made his own videos and recordings of local storytellers, artists and musicians over a long period of time. You can tell he is a very active collector of local lore. So, he tries to feature this material, sensibly. Some of this material you was great.

On the other hand; the knowledge of the course is really only a beginning to what could be learned. For example, when mentioning the photographers or painters of the South, you are not able to see a large number of their pictures. Likewise, when talking about the major writers, such as Faulkner, you do not get to read many longer excerpts of their work. This course provides the names to reference; starting points for further study. The instructor trusts you to investigate these resources on your own.

by José D

2015年8月14日

I took this course with a special interest on the musical aspect, namely the blues, of course. In that regard the course is very superficial, but has some interesting stuff even so. The other aspects of literature, painting, and the more popular arts (kilts, oral traditions, etc.) where a nice surprise. This course gives a view of a cultural aspect of America that is very interesting and mostly unknown, particularly, I guess, to a non American. I advise this course to anyone who is interested in ethnology, folklore and popular art and music and is not already familiarized with the American South.

by Ann M

2020年5月21日

This course was a great introductory material to the life and the oral tradition of the American South. It explored the deeper areas of Southern life and localised the culture through one-on-one recordings and interviews. One suggestion is that in the last class, Prof. Ferris could have provided a synopsis of the course material. The pace of the teaching is adequate and the modules enable the learner to seek more information as needed. I thoroughly enjoyed taking this course.

by Arturo T S

2016年3月24日

Es una muy buena introducción al estudio de la cultura del sur de los Estados Unidos y al mismo tiempo un panorama para buscar más información sobre ciertos temas como el blues, las tradiciones orales, la religión, la vida cotidiana y los grandes creadores de la literatura y la música inmersos en la tradición del sur estadounidense.

by Deleted A

2020年8月25日

Really interesting. Just a shame that all sources used are limited to the instructor's own work (books, photos and videos), and also that the tone is very monotonous which sometimes makes it hard to lose interest.

by Emily Z

2020年7月25日

An insight into an storied culture. My main complaint is that this class is much less of a structured class, and more a string of glimpses into specific and sort of semi-random aspects of Southern culture.

by Sue J D

2019年2月18日

I watched many of the videos. It was very interesting. I particularly liked the stories/video clips of musicians. I do hope you have seen The Song Catcher..this reminded me of it.

by Bernardo F B E

2015年9月6日

This course is complete and does offer very good information on the music, stories, and art of the American South. I really enjoyed the blues music information presented to students.

by Echo W

2015年9月24日

interesting, the photos, the film and voice records really bring us back to the time in the past, which also help me know what the real south is.