Chevron Left
The Worldview of Thomas Berry: The Flourishing of the Earth Community に戻る

イェール大学(Yale University) による The Worldview of Thomas Berry: The Flourishing of the Earth Community の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
123件の評価
34件のレビュー

コースについて

Thomas Berry (1914-2009) was a historian of world religions and an early voice awakening moral sensibilities to the environmental crisis. He is known for articulating a “new story” of the universe that explores the implications of the evolutionary sciences and cultural traditions for creating a flourishing future. This course investigates Berry’s life and thought in relation to the Journey of the Universe project. It draws on his books, articles, and recorded lectures to examine such ideas as: the New Story, the Great Work, and the emerging Ecozoic era. The course explores Berry’s insights into cosmology as a context for locating the human in a dynamic unfolding universe and thus participating in the creative work of our times. In particular, we will examine Berry’s reflections on renewal and reform in the areas of ecology, economics, education, spirituality, and the arts. Course Rationale: Thomas Berry was an original, creative, and comprehensive thinker, especially regarding the critical nature of our global environmental crisis. His intellectual importance resides in his response to the ecological crisis by bringing together the humanities and science in an evolutionary narrative. In addition, he articulated the need for the moral participation of the world religions in addressing environmental issues. He came to this realization largely through his study of cosmologies embedded within religious traditions. Sensing the significance of these stories as “functional cosmologies” he explored the widespread influence that these stories transmitted through a tradition, for example, in rituals, ethics, and subsistence practices....

人気のレビュー

M
2019年12月6日

I have just completed the 3-course specialization that included this course. All excellent, inspirational, and hopeful. This content is essential for emergence into the Ecozoic Era.

US
2019年6月22日

I love Thomas Berry and they way he is able to tell us the story of the universe. This is an amazing course, an eye opener and a spiritual journey overall.\n\nThank You.

フィルター:

The Worldview of Thomas Berry: The Flourishing of the Earth Community: 1 - 25 / 34 レビュー

by Tun L A

2017年9月29日

This course will give new insight, grand thought concerning everything, the all things exist in the universe, to you. I want you to have these things as I have.

by Juliet B

2017年3月20日

A fantastic course that deepened my understanding of the brilliant thought of Thomas Berry, bringing to life his personal story and the stories he told.

by Colleen S

2017年6月8日

This course has so inspired me to learn more and to motivate others to celebrate our Earth Community by learning how to better care for the planet.

by Silvia D B

2017年8月30日

This was an eye opener and an amazing and inspiring experience for me. I couldn't wait to watch the videos and read the portions of the books, downloaded all the transcripts to read later again! I didn't know anything about Thomas Berry and had a sort of skepticism towards a catholic priest approach to environmentalism. But I was blown away by his amazing vision and open mind. I loved that the course is respectful of religious (and non religious) views. Thomas Berry simple but transformational experience in the meadow and his love and understanding of nature and nature's rights completely transformed my own thinking and approach to the Great Work ahead for each one of us. Just before completing the course I attended an Art of Mentoring experience and between these two, they sealed my commitment to the Great Work. Thank you!

by Annabella R

2018年11月20日

Love love this work. I am just getting to know the work of Thomas Berry and how edgy these thoughts were some 20 years ago. thank you for introducing this seminal work and allowing for an understanding of context . i also appreicate learning about how we are more the same , than different, across our different "spiritualities" Thank you.

by Teresa N Y S

2017年3月2日

Amazing! Awe-inspiring! I have found great energy, wisdom, and respite from this series of courses, as I work everyday to maintain environmental policies and laws. I loved the organization, and will continue to write on these subjects. I appreciate all your extraordinary effort in putting these courses together.

by Michelle S

2017年3月27日

Thomas Berry was a visionary, illuminating our context and leading the way forward to give hope to our generation and those to come. This is a call to action from the future. The vision of a flourishing Earth community, where humans enhance and nurture, brings me great hope and purpose. What a gift.

by Jafed E G

2019年7月6日

I enjoy the lectures. The professor has a good speaking and teaching style which keeps me interested. Lots of concrete math examples which make it easier to understand. Very good slides which are well formulated and easy to understand

by Fogan A

2019年1月19日

Great worldview teaching, if even i don't agree with everything... But sure you are right on many pints about accepting eac other and living together the future out our world and how to care bout the environment...

by Tom

2021年8月18日

I had high expectations for this course since I had already read JOTU five or six times. However, this wonderful presentation exceeded all that I was hoping for. My horizons were broadened tremendously!

by Mary L L

2019年12月7日

I have just completed the 3-course specialization that included this course. All excellent, inspirational, and hopeful. This content is essential for emergence into the Ecozoic Era.

by Hyunsook K

2016年11月27日

It's beautiful! I've never described any coursera courses this way. This lecture guides us widen and enhanced world around us. I believe it make us becoming better beings. Thank you!

by Ujjawal S

2019年6月23日

I love Thomas Berry and they way he is able to tell us the story of the universe. This is an amazing course, an eye opener and a spiritual journey overall.

Thank You.

by Cornelia S L

2017年2月3日

I had never read Thomas Berry and with this course I just couldn't stop reading his books and the vision he had about the earth and his view of Teilhard de Chardin.

by Shinichi T

2020年4月10日

Thank you for offering a wonderful learning experience to create a flourishing future.

This course gave me the base for the journey of my life.

by Richard J

2020年7月9日

Father Thomas was the great thinker of our lifetime, an honor to have learned again from him.

by Karim F

2017年4月11日

This course should be made mandatory is all schools and work places around the world NOW !!!

by JP P

2017年7月6日

Loved learning about Thomas Berry's amazing writing and the 'Great Work'.

by YASH A M

2021年10月17日

great course. will change your perspective towards life

by Deleted A

2019年12月2日

This should be a required course in every discipline!

by Великодный А И

2018年5月21日

It is one of the best courses I have ever studied!

by Fernando B

2018年3月19日

A transformational course, a spiritual journey. -

by Devin O

2019年8月13日

Top tier education and eye opening experience.

by louis f d m p s

2017年2月25日

Nice; contemplate this wonderful jorney

by Deleted A

2017年9月26日

What a great person Thomas Berry was!