Chevron Left
Transgender Medicine for General Medical Providers に戻る

マウントサイナイ医科大学(Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai) による Transgender Medicine for General Medical Providers の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
177件の評価
57件のレビュー

コースについて

The course is a comprehensive set of didactic lectures surveying fundamentals of transgender medical and surgical treatment. The material is meant to provide the student with core knowledge that is essential for current primary care providers caring for transgender patients. There are 10 modules led by the expert clinical faculty from the pioneering Center for Transgender Medicine and Surgery, located within the Mount Sinai Health System and the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai in New York City. The course begins with an introduction to frame the sea change that has taken place in the current medical practice of transgender health care. Subsequent modules allow individuals to learn key elements necessary to provide quality transgender medical care. As a whole, the modules provide an opportunity to develop a knowledgeable approach to behavioral health, primary care, hormone therapy, and the surgical options. Module 1: Introduction - Joshua D Safer Module 2: Making the Determination - Hansel Arroyo Module 3: Primary Care for Transgender Women - Zil Goldstein Module 4: Primary Care for Transgender Men - Zil Goldstein Module 5: What are the Essential Strategies to Transgender Hormone Therapy? - Joshua D Safer Module 6: Initiation and Maintenance of Hormones for the Trans Masculine Patient - Joshua D Safer Module 7: Initiation and Maintenance of Hormones for the Trans Feminine Patient -Joshua D Safer Module 8: Transgender Surgery: Chest & Face - Bella K Avanessian Module 9: Transmasculine Genital Surgery - Bella K Avanessian Module 10: Transfeminine Genital Surgery - Bella K Avanessian...

人気のレビュー

RR
2020年8月11日

It was an amazing course throughout and a special appreciation to the meticulous surgery modules which manged to cover the entirety of the procedures and still managed to be short and crisp.

FY
2020年8月15日

That was amazing! Many thanks from bottom of my heart:)) I have learnt the basic of transformations and ı found it very useful to mutual understanding of trans people.

フィルター:

Transgender Medicine for General Medical Providers: 1 - 25 / 59 レビュー

by Sharon S B

2020年3月12日

the course was helpful to me as a primary care physician

However, there were at least 2 glaring errors in the presentations. Because of these errors, I am forced to worry that there were additional mistakes that I didnt catch and that I have been misinformed about some aspect of transgender care. There were also a number of typos in the text versions of the oral presentations. The 2 errors which I spotted were: 1) in the psychiatry presentation, it was stated that the "rate of suicide" among transgender people is 40%, and that this is 8X the rate in the general population. This is a gross overstatement of the suicide rate in the general population, and presumably apparently also an overstatement of the transgender rate; I assume the lecturer meant suicide attempts. 2) regarding the possibility of pregnancy in transgender men, the lecturer, Zil Goldstein, suggested that the use of testosterone is not detrimental to the fetus (this may have been implied, rather than stated outright, but it was certainly misleading). In fact, testosterone definitely has an effect on the fetus, and this should have been discussed.

Thank you

by Dr. S B

2020年4月9日

Great course to understand the medical and surgical management of Transgender population. Strongly recommended for anyone who takes care of such patients

by Bentawich S

2019年12月30日

such an excellent course for Family doctor and primary care providers

by Kinusan D S

2019年5月7日

Good course, a step further may include actual footage of various operations with medical context, and patient interviews pertaining to surgeries, healing, and satisfaction.

by Anamaria S

2020年4月15日

Even though this class is listed as intermediary, it is quite basic, I expected more detail and harder quizzes. I do really like the MD and NP instructors. Also, no activity in the forums whatsoever, seems I was the only person in this class.

by Giovanna B

2020年3月20日

Evidence-based, thorough introduction to health care for transgender patients. My only critique here is that content is repeated a few times, and that I wish there was more, in-depth content to go through, because what I saw in the course so far is excellent!

by Stacie P

2020年1月5日

Very good course for a broad overview of transgender healthcare and can help get you started on hormone therapy education.

by Pilar M H L

2021年4月15日

Excelente,explicade forma muy clara todos los aspectos relacionados a las necesidades de los pacientes transgenero

by Alicia R

2019年8月3日

excellent

by Mariechen P

2021年8月6日

A​s an anaesthetist interested in working in transgender surgery, this course was invaluable to me. This is not something that was covered during my training less than a decade ago - hopefully that will change. The material is well-presented, not overly convoluted, and clinically relevant. It also demystifies the various treatments, and instills confidence.

M​y only recommendation is a module more about insight/"soft skills". I would love to hear feedback from inidividuals who have transitioned (whether medically or surgically), and what doctors could have done to make their experience less stressful. It would also be really great to have a supplementary section hearing from the lecturers about their road to the field of Transgender Care.

by Levi D

2021年7月11日

A really great course as an introduction to transgender medicine. I'm exceedingly grateful that Icahn School of Medicine is invested in this often-misunderstood, yet life-saving area of medicine, and especially that they're sharing it with the world. Some improvements for future courses: it would be great if the presenters were consistent in introducing themselves with their names and pronouns (helps viewers catch onto the habit and more likely to apply it in practice). A more detailed course with more rigorous quizzes would also be nice as a future venture. Good stuff!

by Aedrian A

2021年6月20日

I completed this well-made concise overview with a better understanding of the unique primary care needs of the transgender community. Important pearls for directed history-taking & physical examination, options for hormonal treatment & monitoring and providing primary care-level informed guidance should they pursue surgical means for gender identity affirmation, among others, are appropriately emphasized in this offering. I highly recommend this course for medical students, general practitioners and even medical specialists to allow them to be sensitive providers of care.

by Mariana L

2020年10月17日

Good overview of the implications of the surgical techniques to be able to initially discuss them with interested patients. Excellent source of initial information about what is available to the patient interested in transitioning. Good overview of hormone therapy. Would have liked an option to ask questions about topics mentioned but not fully discussed in the videos and a deeper discussion of tools and strategies available to support patients dealing with social rejection causing mental health distress.

by C J V

2021年8月5日

I am so excited to show this certificate off! I went through this course and wrote out 32 pages of notes. I just wanted to be sure I didn't miss A THING. I am so inspired by this course Bella Avanessain was great at explaining the surgeries, but Zil Goldstein was a TRUE inspiration. I want to follow in her footsteps one day soon. As a cisgender man, I certainly learned a lot and I recommend this course to everyone. The more people understand, the fewer health disparities we have in our trans population

by Samuel M P

2021年1月1日

As a medical student from Guatemala, I can say that I would probably never receive any assessment about Transgender Medical Care anywhere in my country, so this is a very valuable course that all medical providers should go through, because transgender people exist, even in a oppressive, conservative and transphobic country like mine, and everyone deserves to feel safe, specially while seeking for medical assistance. Thank you.

by Laurie F

2021年1月14日

Excellent course that gave a good overview when beginning to work with Transgender patients and how to assist them along their journey. As a nurse and nurse practitioner it was easy to understand and gave me a great deal of information I was missing regarding care and research around this population.

by Gustavo F A d A

2020年7月17日

This is a must-do course for every medical practitioner or medical student! Unfortunately, we still don't learn a lot about transgender care on medical school, and this is a great opportunity to understand it and enhance the quality of our assistance! Strongly recommended!

by Esdras S

2020年7月11日

EU AMEI! Faço medicina em uma universidade pública do Brasil, mas esse tema sobre pessoas trans nunca foi abordado. Esse curso me caiu como uma luva, pois quero ser um médico com um olhar mais holístico sobre os meus pacientes. Eu só tenho a agradecer! Muito obrigado!

by Bárbara I R R

2021年4月12日

Excellent course! This should be an mandatory course in medical schools everywhere. It really helped me to learn about the treatment of transgender men and women. I know it will be very useful when I get the opportunity to meet a transgender patient and help them <3

by Martha P C

2021年1月26日

Excellent Course. Very comprehensive. Thanks for clarifying me many doubts I had regarding care for trans patients. I think as physicias we should all be informed about at least about the general concepts of transgender medicine, regardless of our area of practice.

by Therese M

2021年8月12日

The course was a basic introduction to Transgender Medicine for all members of the health care team.

The overview of the surgical treatments used was excellent.

The information provided has increased my comfort when interacting with transgender pts.

Thank you

by Michael R C B

2021年10月19日

Very informational and insightful. The course helps attendees to understand better the transgender medicine/treatments that can be provided medically and the considerations that medical providers must observe for the duration of care.

by Alicia C

2020年10月18日

All the medical terms and the explication are easy to Understanding. I love the short but very complete videos. Awesome classes, I hope you can make more Courses with university credits. Greetings Fromm Panamá

by Ramakalam.A

2020年8月12日

It was an amazing course throughout and a special appreciation to the meticulous surgery modules which manged to cover the entirety of the procedures and still managed to be short and crisp.

by Victoria A R I

2021年4月4日

Excellent course. It is easy to follow and has all the content relevant for general providers in the transgender people general care. It takes topics that I never see in my medicine school.