Chevron Left
Osteoarchaeology: The Truth in Our Bones に戻る

ライデン大学(Universiteit Leiden) による Osteoarchaeology: The Truth in Our Bones の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
295件の評価
99件のレビュー

コースについて

This course is about what we can learn from examining the human skeleton, and how we can use this knowledge to reconstruct the lives of people who lived in the past. In archaeology and anthropology, human skeletal remains can provide unique insights into the past and the present; insights that cannot be gained otherwise. These insights are explored in five main themes spread out over five weeks of learning. First, it is shown how age-at-death, sex and stature can be estimated by the close examination of (archaeological) skeletal remains. In subsequent modules it is shown how human bones can provide information about the diseases and injuries that people suffered from and what they ate. Also, it is shown how the human skeleton provides information about the kinds of activities that people engaged in and about how they migrated and moved around their landscapes. In this course, you will examine all aspects of the human skeleton that can provide us with information about these different facets of life. Together we will explore the scientific field that is known as human osteoarchaeology. - Human, because it is about us and our ancestors, - Osteo, because it is about our bones, - Archaeology, because we use this information to better understand the behaviors and events experienced by past people. During the course, you will decipher the clues left behind in the skeletons of past peoples with the methods and techniques that are presented. You may also discover some clues hidden in your own skeleton and what they reveal about the life that you are living. Want to know more? You can take a look at the course trailer here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fJi22TxzpRw...

人気のレビュー

SS

Nov 08, 2016

Very informative, a good grounding in the subject, I really felt like I gained a lot of valuable knowledge on the subject that will help me in future endeavors. Very well put-together and organized.

PB

Nov 21, 2016

I took this course to find out what osteoarchaeology was all about. Excellent, excellent course! Well planned, laid out and , and very interesting. I have learned a lot. Thank you!!!

フィルター:

Osteoarchaeology: The Truth in Our Bones: 1 - 25 / 99 レビュー

by Douglas M

Dec 13, 2016

This course is very interesting with well thought-out content that involves the student very actively from the first lesson. The assignments are challenging but also very exciting. I consider is a unique innovation in MOOC courses. The professor give excellent information interspersed with interesting case studies. Unfortunately, there was no interaction in my iteration of the course, or any apparent involvement whatsoever, from any TA's or mentors. All questions remained unanswered (except by other students), and frustrated calls for help and advice were ignored. The majority of the course's mark (60%) is determined by fellow students using a rubric which leaves little true 'wiggle room' between pass and fail marks. The mystery cases on which we worked during the course were never 'resolved' or explained in any way, which would have been nice after the effort that went into them. I would recommend the content of the course 'for fun' but if anyone is looking for an accurate assessment of material learned, try another course.

by Melissa S

Feb 20, 2017

I enjoyed this course so much! I learned a lot and I will looking for more courses in the same field.

The lectures, extra videos, and the invited guests explaining a bit about their work were some of the best I've seen in a MOOC. Perhaps I missed my calling when I didn't study osteoarcheology.

This is an awesome course and I'd love to see a followup course.

Congratulations on a fantastic job, Dr. Andrea Waters-Rist and team!

by Yelena L

Jun 11, 2017

Wonderfull course, one of the best on Coursera that I have seen. Assignments give students opportunity to try actual methods of osteoarchaeology themselves. Quality videos and interesting case studies.

by Di A

Oct 15, 2016

Love the content, tutorials etc. but the peer review way of marking is not fair.

I unfortunately withdrew because of this. I & others were never going to succeed. This is because peers who are also having problems, not sure of what they are doing are the ones marking the assessments.

Not giving refunds after the 2 week cut off is also unfair. This must be how you make your money for these free courses.

by Daina N A

Dec 11, 2018

I absolutely love this course (and I haven't even finished yet - almost done with the final module). The instructors are great and there videos are very informative. The optional videos are great ways to better visualize the lecture courses. I thoroughly enjoy the challenge and experience working of each module assignment that culminates into one overall project/case. The assignments are thought provoking, and it is interesting to see the different approaches and conclusions that other's reach upon reading their work for peer review.

The only reason I gave this course 4/5 stars is because, as someone who doesn't have a background in Anthropology or Archaeology, there were times when the technical content was hard for me to conceptualize. I wish that there were reading assignments that can be read in preparation for an upcoming video or module. I think that available reading assignments would have significantly improved my learning experience and understanding of the lesson material.

by E M B

Dec 17, 2018

This course provided great illustrations and information regarding the various specialties in human osteology.

by Krystyna S

Feb 20, 2019

Fascinating and very informative course

by Ivana S

Feb 28, 2019

I liked this course very much, lessons were well prepared, and easy to understand even for me - beginner in the osteoarcheology area. I would recommend this course to anyone interested in anthropology.

by Yenny A A S

Feb 12, 2019

Excelente curso, contenido especializado pero muy claro, con muchos ejemplos y bibliografía.

by Noemí R G

Apr 06, 2019

¡Uno de los mejores curso online que he realizado!

Este curso ha cumplido mis expectativas totalmente, me ha enseñado más de lo que yo esperaba y ha hecho que me guste el estudio de los huesos animándome a aprender mucho más sobre este tema.

One of the best online course I've done!

This course has fully met my expectations, has taught me more than I expected and has made me like the study of bones by encouraging me to learn much more about this subject.

by A. R

Sep 01, 2018

The course is magnificent for people in and outside of the osteoarchaeology field. For beginners, it is a good way to know what our profession does and the multiple branches and data it might reach. To students of archaeology or biological anthropology, it is a good way to re-study the bases and learn minor details very important to us that could help us specializing in one of the many fields we have.

by LUDOVIC C

Oct 03, 2018

Course extremely well built and documented. Very nice and exciting.

by Wojciech W

Nov 16, 2018

Amazing course with wonderful teachers and materials. I learned a lot of things about bones and how they help archeologists to understand the past better

by juan p d r

Oct 27, 2016

Great. I am confident that soon there will be new and more advanced courses

that can perform registration to perform them.

by Mike B

Jun 21, 2018

I really enjoyed this course , it taught me a lot about the Human Skeleton and I will now look at Bones in a very different way, and will be able to "read" them a little, my thanks go to Dr Andrea Waters-Rist and her Team for an interesting time, thank you . Mike Brogan

by Melissa v R

May 21, 2018

I learned a lot, the assignments are very nice in my opinion! Very engaging.

by Marie S

Mar 26, 2017

Excellent introduction to topic, well presented and very interactive. Quite in-depthAssignments were meaningful and directly related to materials presented. Looking forward to doing more study in this area!

by Kari P

Jun 01, 2017

I really enjoyed this course. The information was presented well and the videos were easy to view on a busy schedule. I appreciated the organization and structure of the modules as they pertained to the weekly objectives. I learned a lot!

by Jewellia T

Sep 25, 2017

Great professors!

by Gleb E

Mar 26, 2018

Just a perfect course!

by Patrizia B

Nov 21, 2016

I took this course to find out what osteoarchaeology was all about. Excellent, excellent course! Well planned, laid out and , and very interesting. I have learned a lot. Thank you!!!

by Angelina W

Dec 26, 2016

Assignments are extremely helpful in fully understanding the topic. Lectures help in completing assignments, especially with the optional videos that explain in greater detail how to examine specific bones and interpret certain patterns.

by Joy S

Jan 16, 2017

Good info

by barbara

Jan 14, 2017

I really recomend this course, It provides good examples, information and practice test. I think it is necessary for any archaeologist or person realated to this field

by Andrei d S S

Jul 09, 2017

Awesome!