Chevron Left
Osteoarchaeology: The Truth in Our Bones に戻る

ライデン大学(Universiteit Leiden) による Osteoarchaeology: The Truth in Our Bones の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
416件の評価
150件のレビュー

コースについて

This course is about what we can learn from examining the human skeleton, and how we can use this knowledge to reconstruct the lives of people who lived in the past. In archaeology and anthropology, human skeletal remains can provide unique insights into the past and the present; insights that cannot be gained otherwise. These insights are explored in five main themes spread out over five weeks of learning. First, it is shown how age-at-death, sex and stature can be estimated by the close examination of (archaeological) skeletal remains. In subsequent modules it is shown how human bones can provide information about the diseases and injuries that people suffered from and what they ate. Also, it is shown how the human skeleton provides information about the kinds of activities that people engaged in and about how they migrated and moved around their landscapes. In this course, you will examine all aspects of the human skeleton that can provide us with information about these different facets of life. Together we will explore the scientific field that is known as human osteoarchaeology. - Human, because it is about us and our ancestors, - Osteo, because it is about our bones, - Archaeology, because we use this information to better understand the behaviors and events experienced by past people. During the course, you will decipher the clues left behind in the skeletons of past peoples with the methods and techniques that are presented. You may also discover some clues hidden in your own skeleton and what they reveal about the life that you are living. Want to know more? You can take a look at the course trailer here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fJi22TxzpRw...

人気のレビュー

SS
2016年11月7日

Very informative, a good grounding in the subject, I really felt like I gained a lot of valuable knowledge on the subject that will help me in future endeavors. Very well put-together and organized.

PB
2016年11月20日

I took this course to find out what osteoarchaeology was all about. Excellent, excellent course! Well planned, laid out and , and very interesting. I have learned a lot. Thank you!!!

フィルター:

Osteoarchaeology: The Truth in Our Bones: 26 - 50 / 148 レビュー

by Agustin O

2016年11月6日

I think it was a great introduction to the field and I hope to learn more in the near future. Thanks to all the people that helped create it. My only criticism is the lack of understanding by the other students when they grade others papers. Giving low scores without giving any feedback is not helpful.

All in all, I had fun taking this course.

by Sheila A M T

2020年10月20日

The coordinator Andrea is a huge professional of his field and all the material and the methodologie to arrrive to the student is fabolous.

As an anthropologist, I'm very happy with this course and all the course agenda that are shown.

It is very necessary to disseminate our evolution and our past to the public in such a divulgative way!

by Brandon E K

2016年12月7日

Absolutely a fantastic and brilliant experience, one in which I would recommend to anyone choosing a history, archaeology, anthropology or anatomy related career path. I learned so much and gained both a new insight in studying the human anatomy and a new interest in what I would like to study further for my career.

by Anthony

2017年9月15日

The "solve a mystery" structure of the course makes the assessment part a lot of fun whilst echoing the kind of Problem Based Learning approach common to some of the best university courses. All the materials and contributors work well together to create a fun, welcoming learning environment.

by Mike B

2018年6月21日

I really enjoyed this course , it taught me a lot about the Human Skeleton and I will now look at Bones in a very different way, and will be able to "read" them a little, my thanks go to Dr Andrea Waters-Rist and her Team for an interesting time, thank you . Mike Brogan

by Małgosia K

2016年11月5日

It was short, therefore it touched all the matters very superficially, however it was definitely a course on an academic level and it gave solid basis for future studies, and it's not just a rhetoric figure. Thank you, I am proud of myself, that I passed.

by Jane B

2021年3月8日

Brilliant Course! Set at the right level for beginners, with scope for more advanced learning too. Really enjoyed this course - I only had the bare minimum of osteoarchaeology knowledge but feel that I have really built on this by studying this course

by Maria N A

2016年11月6日

A truly stellar experience. The course structure is very well thought off and the information given just about right for a short seminar. I would love a sequel with the topics that we did not cover. Thank you very much for this educational experience.

by Kari P

2017年6月1日

I really enjoyed this course. The information was presented well and the videos were easy to view on a busy schedule. I appreciated the organization and structure of the modules as they pertained to the weekly objectives. I learned a lot!

by Guey-Mei

2020年8月2日

I totally love this course! The instructor is doing a great job to make things easy to understand, and the assignments are helpful. If you work hard, it's not difficult to get good grades. It's been a fun journey of learning new knowledge.

by Angelina W

2016年12月26日

Assignments are extremely helpful in fully understanding the topic. Lectures help in completing assignments, especially with the optional videos that explain in greater detail how to examine specific bones and interpret certain patterns.

by Anna M

2017年3月23日

Excellent introductory course on bones. There is a bit of writing involved for weekly assignments, which can take time, but for the most part everything you need to complete them is within lectures. Very responsive forum moderation.

by Marloes T

2017年4月23日

AMAZING course!!!!! Lectures are well presented, I liked the extra tutorials and the assignment are really fun to do. If you have only a slight interest in skeletons, archeology or maybe even forensics, I would definitely recommend

by Gary C

2017年9月14日

Very good, and one that makes you check multiple sites for the research. very well presented by all of those involved. I have thoroughly enjoyed the experience and will hope for a more in depth follow on from the team,

by Boris S P

2020年11月4日

I think it is a great course. I learned so much about myself so to speak. Bones keep a lot of information about everything we have done throughout our lives. I was left with a tremendous interest to learn much more.

by Bhaskar D

2019年8月23日

The course was very well designed and importantly the instructors were excellent specially Dr Andrea Waters-Rist. I have learnt a lot about the information which are stored in our bones. A big Thank You to everyone.

by Ümran B

2020年2月10日

it was a great course and frankly a bit difficult. nevertheless it was like a quality education and an enjoyable puzzle. I would definitely recommend. I would like to thank the working team. I wish you well-being.

by Marie S

2017年3月25日

Excellent introduction to topic, well presented and very interactive. Quite in-depthAssignments were meaningful and directly related to materials presented. Looking forward to doing more study in this area!

by Jean H

2020年8月3日

The course covered a wide range of topics. There is a mix of videos, discussions and tests to keep you engaged and a lot of extra reading if you want to dig deeper into a certain area. Well worth doing.

by Ivana S

2019年2月28日

I liked this course very much, lessons were well prepared, and easy to understand even for me - beginner in the osteoarcheology area. I would recommend this course to anyone interested in anthropology.

by Sophie S

2016年11月8日

Very informative, a good grounding in the subject, I really felt like I gained a lot of valuable knowledge on the subject that will help me in future endeavors. Very well put-together and organized.

by Aubrée G

2021年2月1日

Very interesting, well structured and complete. We feel that this mooc required a lot of work. I would have liked to have the texts and illustrations grouped in a book to download to keep track.

by Patrizia B

2016年11月21日

I took this course to find out what osteoarchaeology was all about. Excellent, excellent course! Well planned, laid out and , and very interesting. I have learned a lot. Thank you!!!

by Georgia V

2020年5月17日

Absolutely loved the course ! Very well structured and thorough introduction to the topic! Thank you so much for providing us with fantastic lectures, exercises and study material :)

by Irene K L .

2020年5月7日

This course was amazing. The videos, the assignments, the extra- readings were very good. I also loved the lectures of Andrea Waters Rist. I enjoyed this course on the whole.