Chevron Left
Osteoarchaeology: The Truth in Our Bones に戻る

ライデン大学(Universiteit Leiden) による Osteoarchaeology: The Truth in Our Bones の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
295件の評価
99件のレビュー

コースについて

This course is about what we can learn from examining the human skeleton, and how we can use this knowledge to reconstruct the lives of people who lived in the past. In archaeology and anthropology, human skeletal remains can provide unique insights into the past and the present; insights that cannot be gained otherwise. These insights are explored in five main themes spread out over five weeks of learning. First, it is shown how age-at-death, sex and stature can be estimated by the close examination of (archaeological) skeletal remains. In subsequent modules it is shown how human bones can provide information about the diseases and injuries that people suffered from and what they ate. Also, it is shown how the human skeleton provides information about the kinds of activities that people engaged in and about how they migrated and moved around their landscapes. In this course, you will examine all aspects of the human skeleton that can provide us with information about these different facets of life. Together we will explore the scientific field that is known as human osteoarchaeology. - Human, because it is about us and our ancestors, - Osteo, because it is about our bones, - Archaeology, because we use this information to better understand the behaviors and events experienced by past people. During the course, you will decipher the clues left behind in the skeletons of past peoples with the methods and techniques that are presented. You may also discover some clues hidden in your own skeleton and what they reveal about the life that you are living. Want to know more? You can take a look at the course trailer here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fJi22TxzpRw...

人気のレビュー

SS

Nov 08, 2016

Very informative, a good grounding in the subject, I really felt like I gained a lot of valuable knowledge on the subject that will help me in future endeavors. Very well put-together and organized.

PB

Nov 21, 2016

I took this course to find out what osteoarchaeology was all about. Excellent, excellent course! Well planned, laid out and , and very interesting. I have learned a lot. Thank you!!!

フィルター:

Osteoarchaeology: The Truth in Our Bones: 51 - 75 / 99 レビュー

by Cynthia R

Mar 26, 2017

This is a wonderful course for someone who knew absolutely nothing about osteoarchaeology or that osteoarchaeology is even a field! The lectures were stimulating and full of information - so much was new to me that I listened to all of them twice. The general format was perfect - a very good combination of lectures, discussions (the teaching assistants' information videos were very helpful), interviews, quizzes and homework assignments. The homework assignments were particularly useful in in helping me to absorb all of the information presented in the lectures, forums, etc. I thoroughly enjoyed this class. Thank you so much for creating it.

by Anna M

Mar 24, 2017

Excellent introductory course on bones. There is a bit of writing involved for weekly assignments, which can take time, but for the most part everything you need to complete them is within lectures. Very responsive forum moderation.

by Ahmed A

Nov 19, 2016

perfect course

by mustafa a

Oct 08, 2016

wonderfull

by Mark E v A

Mar 01, 2017

Very enjoyable. Cool information and the assignments really force you to think critically about your reasoning.

by Sophie S

Nov 08, 2016

Very informative, a good grounding in the subject, I really felt like I gained a lot of valuable knowledge on the subject that will help me in future endeavors. Very well put-together and organized.

by Laura G

Jan 04, 2017

I learn a lot about ancient skeleton and also about my own, in very enjoyable lessons!

by kouassi n c

Feb 03, 2018

Je ne connaissais pas tout cela sur mes os et mes dents quelques trucs mais rien de plus, je suis satisfaite de ce cours il est très instructif

by Genevieve S

May 25, 2017

I am taking this course over even though I passed all the assignments because it's so fascinating! If you have any interest in archeology, you should take this course! I also appreciate the open-mindedness of the instructor and her teaching assistants. It's a rare thing in today's world to find teachers who openly encourage you to look at the world from a religious viewpoint (if you are so inclined), as well as a scientific one, and to acknowledge that these two ways of thinking are not mutually exclusive.

by Roger F

Mar 27, 2018

Into the third week and it is very interesting. The 1st MOOC that I have done where there is a weekly assignment to submit!

by Anne-Marie G

Jan 23, 2017

Loved this course. Allows you to go into more detail if you wish. Friendly lecturer. Facinating subject.

by Maria N A

Nov 06, 2016

A truly stellar experience. The course structure is very well thought off and the information given just about right for a short seminar. I would love a sequel with the topics that we did not cover. Thank you very much for this educational experience.

by Derek N

Nov 07, 2016

This is an excellently well presented course that is informative, interesting and challenging. Well worth engaging with.

by Małgosia K

Nov 05, 2016

It was short, therefore it touched all the matters very superficially, however it was definitely a course on an academic level and it gave solid basis for future studies, and it's not just a rhetoric figure. Thank you, I am proud of myself, that I passed.

by Hasan m

Jun 23, 2018

good

by Antonio N L

Jun 04, 2017

I have enjoyed envery single bit of this course

by Imanol M

Mar 26, 2017

Un curso excelente!!! Enhorabuena

by Marloes T

Apr 23, 2017

AMAZING course!!!!! Lectures are well presented, I liked the extra tutorials and the assignment are really fun to do. If you have only a slight interest in skeletons, archeology or maybe even forensics, I would definitely recommend

by Savitha

Aug 14, 2017

It's an amazing course.. I LOVED IT!!

by Paul R

Mar 07, 2018

Excellent

by Veronica E

Sep 20, 2018

I learned a lot and found the assignments relevant and useful for achieving a better understanding the material. Great course!

by Megan W

Aug 23, 2019

This course was really informative and thorough. I enjoyed it immensely. Discussion prompts with my fellow classmates resulted in a truly interesting and interactive experience. The only potential con I could let people know about, is that there are quite a few quizzes and assignments. These are necessary given the volume of information provided, but it does make this course more of a commitment on top of a full-time job, and other life stuff. Cheers! :)

by Bhaskar D

Aug 23, 2019

The course was very well designed and importantly the instructors were excellent specially Dr Andrea Waters-Rist. I have learnt a lot about the information which are stored in our bones. A big Thank You to everyone.

by Pauline D

Feb 06, 2019

Good introductory material without being simplistic.

by Gary J

Dec 02, 2016

This is a very good course, I have really enjoyed taking this course, and I learned a lot. I have already put to use what I have learned in this course, into another course I am taking. The only criticism I have of this course is the grading system. The peer review grading of the papers lacks a lot to be desired. People give you arbitrary grades without giving any feed back. You can submit a graduate level paper, and be graded off by someone with a high school education. I feel this problem needs to be corrected before I take another course from Leiden University.