Chevron Left
Introduction to Typography に戻る

カリフォルニア芸術大学(California Institute of the Arts) による Introduction to Typography の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
5,092件の評価

コースについて

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

人気のレビュー

BG

2020年8月3日

I thought the assignments worked really cohesively with one another. It helped to keep terms and skills in mind from one assignment to the next. The lecture videos were great, short, and to the point.

AS

2021年4月12日

This was an excellent course. I learned a whole lot about typography. The videos and assignments were interesting and challenging. I'm happy I was able to complete this course and highly recommend it!

フィルター:

Introduction to Typography: 951 - 975 / 1,092 レビュー

by Thomas C

2021年7月15日

The lectures are wonderful and insightful. The only issue is that when it came to the assignments (especially the later ones) the prompt/instructions could be a little bit confusing. But I was able to figure it out eventually.

by Raquel Z W

2017年7月17日

It was really good to learn about the fundamental of Typography in this course. The only con is that, in my point of view, it is really hard to give a consistent feedback for other colleagues when you are just a beginner.

by Natascha B

2021年2月4日

Sometimes there are other participants that don't bother grading peer assignment correctly, but otherwise I mostly had pleasant contact with peers. The course taught me a lot, and I'm sure I can use this in my job life!

by Sakshi J

2018年5月12日

It was a wonderful course with brief but concise delivery of various aspects of typography. I wish the grading was done by experts and not peers, as it would have helped me receive some valuable expert feedback.

by Leroy S

2016年5月23日

Very good overall explanations on the basics of Typography. Anther Kiley did a great job of explaining things in a simple yet detailed format. I never realized there was so much to letters and words in type!

by Helen H

2019年3月20日

I liked the course overall and found it informative. I think that the topics in week 3 and 4 could be combined. I also wasn't sure where I could post questions to clarify something in the assignments.

by Rose G

2019年8月2日

I was excited to learn about typography, these assignments were fun to do. I wished there were more assignments to create more posters for this typography course, overall I enjoyed and learned a lot.

by Roger X M

2018年4月10日

Good way to start with typography. The only problem I see is that there is not enough practice. I think that maybe with two or three more exercises it would be better. But in general, good course!!

by Jorinde B

2022年2月10日

Amazing course. I have learned so much. As a tip I would give to include more knowledge about working creatively with type. But maybe that would be a nice part II of the course? Sign me up <3!

by Louise D

2017年6月14日

Clear content and actual homework that lets you understand what you just studied. A very useful course ! Thank you so much for sharing this, it's incredible to be able to learn from home.

by Allison C

2016年11月26日

I would have liked a few more / longer videos, but I really found the assignments helpful. I like how each one built off of each other, so the final project did not feel so overwhelming.

by Stefano S

2020年8月1日

It was a nice course with a lot of information and good practice good for the beginning. As always I would like to have some recommendations of books and web sites from the teachers.

by Md. N M H

2020年5月14日

I recommend enrolling in online courses that allow you to gain insights into how you want to build yours typography differently. All of this can be done if you take this course.

by Sazidur R

2020年6月24日

I really enjoyed the course. The instructor was able to communicate the importance aspect of typography. Being an introductory course, the content was really diverse. Thank you,

by Sol I

2016年11月29日

This is a fantastic course to start with Typography. This course will help you get the basics of typography and fonts. Highly recommended if you are starting out in this field.

by Matias B

2021年10月24日

Muy buen aporte educativo, la teoria es muy clara, los contenidos faciles de leer y entender. Lo unico malo es que a veces los subtitulos en español no están bien traducidos.

by Aditya R

2021年5月15日

It's good but they have left the judgement of last 2 major assignments on their users which is a drawback bcoz some of them have literally no idea how to rate people's work.

by Emmelie K G

2020年1月26日

In general a great course where you learn a lot about typography. But it was a little to easy I think. Worked through this course in 1 week and didn't feel pressured at all.

by Christos C

2016年8月18日

Thoroughly enjoyable and didactic! Some further elaboration on each subject would do it merit. Poster design should be optional — not everyone is keen on handling software.

by Ana M

2020年12月14日

Thanks to Coursera for providing these courses. Thanks to the teacher, it was very clear and the classes were didactic. Thanks to the people who corrected my assignments.

by David V

2016年3月15日

Nice, brief intro to typography. Good, clear lecture content and interesting assignments. I feel like the "by the book" assignment should not be entirely peer graded.

by Katie S

2020年7月7日

This was a great course--really introductory and yet also really informative. I will definitely take some of the things I learned into future design work! Thanks!

by Georgina P

2017年9月20日

Recomendated for those who want to learn about how to be creative with typography and for designers of course. Letters and words are key part of the compossition.

by Paola H G

2020年10月6日

Me gustó bastante, es un curso introductorio pero que profundiza en algunos conceptos importantes para entender cómo funciona la tipografía en el diseño gráfico

by Christine

2016年6月12日

I'm hooked on typography now. I've read a number of the books that were recommended. Instructor was interesting and the material was engaging. Would recommend.