Chevron Left
Introduction to Typography に戻る

カリフォルニア芸術大学(California Institute of the Arts) による Introduction to Typography の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
4,360件の評価
904件のレビュー

コースについて

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

人気のレビュー

MB
2020年7月25日

The course is very interesting and well presented, the assignments are really helpful for the learning process. I would recommend to anyone interested in design, art, web design or just for curiosity.

BG
2020年8月3日

I thought the assignments worked really cohesively with one another. It helped to keep terms and skills in mind from one assignment to the next. The lecture videos were great, short, and to the point.

フィルター:

Introduction to Typography: 51 - 75 / 878 レビュー

by Jyotsna M

2020年9月18日

I found both the courses so far to the point videos precise and interesting and though (before I joined this course) I had worked with typefaces/ graphic designing yet gained a whole lot of confidence so feel thankful. The assignments were interesting and kept my brain on it's proverbial toes :)

by EminOj

2018年11月17日

It was one of the best online courses I have attended before. I liked syllabus and teacher. I boosted my knowledge about typography in English and knew good information about some specific typefaces as well. I recommend this course for everyone is interested in typography in English letters.

by Megan

2017年12月12日

Very interesting course. I learned a lot- about the history of typography, the importance of digital typography today, how to design a poster, different typefaces and their uses and meanings, etc. Highly recommend as an intro to typography class! Some knowledge of InDesign is helpful.

by Jory H

2020年8月7日

I really enjoyed this course! It really helped me to see type as a medium for creating an interesting compositions. I also really enjoyed learning about and exploring the history of type, it gave me a new respect for those who design typefaces and am eager to continue learning more.

by parvez a

2016年10月27日

I wish I would have found this course a little earlier in my career. I can now justify my usage of typeface in any projects.

The course is short and well thought.

I would really appreciate if there can be more assignments to design a brand identify, user interface, magazine layout etc.

by Jenny T

2020年9月30日

As a newbie in this area this course makes me realize the importance of typography in all aspect of our designs. Types can express more than its contents, It can express feelings. The lessons are great and it cover a lot of material in a short way. I enjoyed every week. Thank you!

by Mitali D

2018年9月3日

The course is very helpful and makes you develop a lot of typographic skills in just 4 weeks. The assignments are very interesting and helps in developing design skills and improves design thinking. The lectures are very explanatory and cover all the important areas of typography.

by Natasha G

2016年12月27日

Dear Teacher,

thank for your perfect introduction and explanation of the Typographie.

I really enjoyed all 4 weeks. It was my pleasure to learn from you! Very understandable videos and i learned a lot! Thank you! I will enroll further :) I wish you all the best in your future work!

by renata i

2020年12月11日

i really enjoyed this course's curriculum, and learned a lot about typography as a whole as well as little rules I had not previously known. It was disappointing however how much plagiarism i encountered as well as receiving mostly single word critiques on my own submissions.

by Robert I

2020年5月26日

This course exposed me to the basics of typography - the instructor provided historical and current day uses of type. The videos in the 2nd & 3rd week were loaded with lots of information, maybe this should have been spaced out a bit more. Good course overall, I recommend.

by Alekseeva K

2016年4月9日

The course gives fundamentals of typography in a clear and very interesting way. I adore the structure of the course and the lector's speech. The content is extremely useful. Every designer and editor should know those things. Mostly they don't even if they think they do.

by Soh W K

2018年10月9日

Excellent, now I am equipped with a deeper understanding of Typography. The applications of these knowledge can provide very nicely produced emails, publications, posters, etc. I never thought I could design Text so nicely and neatly, and artistically whenever I choose.

by Amanda V

2020年4月13日

I did not think I was going to like Typography, but I loved the course and learned a lot. Everytime I see signs or any form of type, I see more than just a billboard or text. If I type something, I double check that it is denotative and connotative and legible. Thanks!

by Yiyang Z

2017年7月10日

My favorite course in the Graphic Design specialization. The course is very informative, structured, and well-edited. I really enjoyed Anther's lectures. In addition, the mentors and the instructor responded to questions in the Discussion Forum thoroughly and promptly.

by Camila V T

2016年11月6日

Muy buen curso, cumple con todo lo necesario para ser una excelente manera de introducirse a la tipografía. Cada unidad es muy sencilla de seguir y cualquier puede aprender y realizar los ejercicios. Además, las presentaciones y material visual son de alta calidad.

by maria a c

2020年10月7日

With the Introduction to Typography course, I learned a little about the specific vocabulary, the origin of some typographic families and that there is a huge potential in relation to texts that can be explored at any time, in any type of piece. Really enjoyed.

by Sherly N G

2016年11月23日

The typography is well- explained. The important typeface history also covered. It will be very useful to those who will become a typographer. it suits for beginner well. thanks, sir. i learned about the typography well. Your assignments are very helpful to me.

by Daniel P

2016年8月9日

Claro, conciso. Cualquier persona a quien le guste la tipografía aprendería de este curso. Esta introducción permite agudizar la apreciación de la tipografía como el lenguaje no verbal de la escritura, y explorar el potencial estético y expresivo de las letras.

by Erik M

2017年5月3日

Great courses for pretty much everyone. I'm a marketer, not a designer but I still found it very useful, as sometimes I still have to work with typgraphy a bit. This is a great introduction to typography for designers, copywriters, marketers and everyone else!

by Doug W

2019年4月29日

This is a fantastic course! The video lectures were exceptionally concise and always compelling. The assignments were very effective in providing opportunities to explore and apply the ideas learned in the lectures. A wonderful learning experience all around!

by Muhammad Q

2020年12月25日

This course gives you the primary knowledge to dive into the ocean of typography. It is quite helpful. Only thing I find intimidating is that instructors do not grade your assignments. Overall I find it quite helpful. The Teacher has a very relaxing voice.

by Mubashir Z

2020年12月18日

The course was well designed, it has covered all parameters regarding typography, I was already a graphic designer, but the terminologies used was never before, this really enhance my knowledge about typography...Thanks to Cal arts and specially instructor

by Karlem S

2017年4月25日

Great course. The videos are jam-packed with information which makes it really worth your money and your time. I am a self-taught designer and truly appreciated all the very specific tips and rules that are not as obvious when you start out on your own.

by Joshua O

2020年5月9日

This introductory course has definitely kindled my love for Typography. Thanks a lot to Calarts and the instructor Anther Kiley. I gained a lot from this class and if I ever become a successful graphics designer, you will be part of my success story!

by Guthrie A

2019年4月15日

This course was great! The assignments were challenging and so helpful for me to go through. I learned a tremendous amount of information and feel much more confident in my skills as a designer and gained a deep appreciation for type and typesetting.