Chevron Left
Introduction to Typography に戻る

カリフォルニア芸術大学(California Institute of the Arts) による Introduction to Typography の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
4,046件の評価
828件のレビュー

コースについて

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

人気のレビュー

BG

Aug 04, 2020

I thought the assignments worked really cohesively with one another. It helped to keep terms and skills in mind from one assignment to the next. The lecture videos were great, short, and to the point.

LS

Apr 07, 2016

Very organized and detailed about the basic, history, characteristics of typography.\n\nI really enjoyed it and wish there were other courses by the same lecturer.\n\nThanks for the great course!!

フィルター:

Introduction to Typography: 726 - 750 / 803 レビュー

by Sasha B

Mar 29, 2017

Good short course. I would have like a few more quizzes on top of the assignements for repetition

by Amélie P

Jun 02, 2018

Really cool course! But it was really to short. More lectures and more projects should be great.

by Kirstin H

Jul 30, 2020

Wish we where given more direction and examples of what was wanted.

But enjoyed the instructor.

by Abbie W

Apr 12, 2017

I would like some input from the instructors on all the Graphic Design specialization courses.

by Margaret T

May 16, 2020

I understand more about typography and learnt the theory behind. The assignments are useful

by P Z C

May 27, 2017

Typography got really interesting after the teacher told many different artists in history.

by Christine S

Feb 05, 2017

Very basic introduction to typography. The material a bit more simplistic than I had hoped.

by 邱菁

May 16, 2016

Nice course! Hope the teacher can give us more instruction about how to design typography.

by Shaivy B

Oct 17, 2017

not being able to submit my assignments even though I took a financial aid, please help

by spencer z

Aug 06, 2017

i would prefer more case study or posters comparison! but still, this class is awesome!

by Sandesh S

Feb 22, 2017

The course was really fun and I learned a lot. I wish there was more to this course.

by Andrea S A

Jun 28, 2020

It's very helpful to understand how important is the typography in any composition

by Joly F Z

Jun 14, 2018

A good intro course to Typograph - with basic information and practical skills.

by James H

Apr 01, 2018

A few key snippets here and there have really enhanced my typographic fluency.

by Masahiro S

Dec 01, 2016

I could learn this course in the "step by step" way, by refined assignments.

by Michelle G

Sep 11, 2017

This one really got me thinking about typography in new and different ways.

by Marcella S M S

Jun 01, 2020

Lovely intro to typography! Hands-on, theory-heavy and great explanations.

by Edward G C

Jun 24, 2016

Es un buen curso sobre tipografía... Debería tener subtítulos en Español.

by Ranjit R

Jul 05, 2020

This is a great course to learn about basic typography and it's history.

by wessam

Aug 27, 2018

love this course , open mind to realize a typography process in design

by Legs C

Mar 16, 2018

Nice introduction for the typography and some important bases to start

by Lisa H

May 06, 2017

Nice course that will give you a great understanding of typography.

by Hamza S

Jan 29, 2020

i will guarantee that this is the best course to learn typography

by Ibrahim K

Dec 19, 2017

I think videos should include more about typography techniques.

by Rachel K

Apr 30, 2018

Very straightforward lessons with good practice techniques!