Chevron Left
Introduction to Typography に戻る

カリフォルニア芸術大学(California Institute of the Arts) による Introduction to Typography の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
4,901件の評価
1,057件のレビュー

コースについて

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

人気のレビュー

AS
2021年4月12日

This was an excellent course. I learned a whole lot about typography. The videos and assignments were interesting and challenging. I'm happy I was able to complete this course and highly recommend it!

BG
2020年8月3日

I thought the assignments worked really cohesively with one another. It helped to keep terms and skills in mind from one assignment to the next. The lecture videos were great, short, and to the point.

フィルター:

Introduction to Typography: 126 - 150 / 1,040 レビュー

by Lidia B

2016年4月8日

Plenty of information on various aspects of typography presented in detail and in a comrehensive manner, as well as engaging exercises really boost your knowledge and broaden your design horizons!

by Hongjoo Y

2016年8月24日

This course was even better than the previous course of the specialization. It explains historical, technical part of the typography and assignments were very well related. Well designed course.

by Jennifer V H

2016年4月29日

I learned so much in 4 weeks! Knowing the terminology is wonderful, but I'm excited to start using a grid for my layouts and be able to choose fonts based on the psychology behind their design!

by Rahul K S

2020年5月11日

Ffirstly i need to say thanks to my university they provide me a best platform for learn more about my subject. And i get more knowledge from my forign mentors. I am Thankfully to your support.

by Ethan M

2018年1月14日

I highly enjoyed this class. I found it very helpful crash course on typography. The activities were engaging enough to help me understand more of the importance of typography in graphic design

by Elizabeth O

2017年12月18日

Reviewed some of what we learned about Typography in the first course (Fundamentals of Graphic Design), but did expand in some areas. Interesting and informative and great course assignments.

by lhys

2016年9月29日

The videos are beautifully edited and interesting to watch. There's a good amount of information, without making the course overwhelming. The assignments are clear and focused on the content.

by Катерина Л

2021年10月25日

I really like this course! All the information is structured and clear. I extremely enjoyed reviewing other student`s works. I think, it is the great way to practice and learn something new.

by Juan F Z R

2020年4月5日

Como estudiante de arquitectura, este curso me ha ayudado bastante para la diagramación de láminas y el correcto uso de la tipografía. Gracias Coursera y CalArts por este maravilloso curso.

by Junxu L

2017年1月14日

Great Course. It is well-organized and instructive. I highly recommend the lectures, however, the assignments are not very challenging. Also, it is kind of theoretical instead of practical.

by Gustavo S d S

2020年7月20日

Great course on typography, we learn about spacing, form, scale, historical context of typefaces, differences between font and typeface, building posters and challenging assignments. 5/5 !

by Ellie R

2018年9月17日

Highly useful information to beginners in typography with very well made videos. Balanced exercises push students to implement the knowledge they acquired mixed with their own creativity.

by Solange C

2021年6月8日

Learning about the story behind the typefaces was astonishing. This course made me learn some history and think outside the box to make a representation of the typeface on Adobe InDesign

by Pratik R K

2020年6月24日

Fabulous course! Learnt a lot in this course about various typefaces, history of the typeface, and how to use it effectively and efficiently and in a very appealing way. Thank you a lot!

by Maria E S

2021年3月8日

I enjoyed this course so much. It's incredible how the design can totally change with the type you use, and this course helps you notice that. Thank you! Great, friendly instructor too.

by Ahmed H K

2020年8月29日

To some designer typography may be their bread and butter. But to some it is their kryptonite. And I fall into that later group. Hopefully I will have better chance with Typography now.

by Russel Q

2019年6月23日

The discerning use of Type has always escaped me. This class helped me see Type blocks as objects in addition to understanding the characteristics of type. Good class by Anther Kiley.

by SecB_310_Dhanshri P

2021年4月17日

It's a very helpful course for the learners and a kickstart to the Graphic Designing aspirant.

This course helped me for making my basics more clear in Graphic Designing ...Loved it !

by Alim B

2020年12月17日

This is some really professional grade knowledge. I did not know that this course could have such a great impact on my ideology of design. This changed everything I think about design.

by Susan H

2019年5月24日

Really thorough for an introductory class. The supplementary materials invite the student to go deeper. Made me get out there and get my feet wet in InDesign - fun and good learning!

by Rolando R

2021年4月8日

Muy recomendable, principalmente por los conceptos y herramientas.

Las prácticas dan la oportunidad de comparar tu trabajo con el de otros compañeros, lo mejor desde mi punto de vista.

by Rosa P M V

2017年8月26日

I didn't have any idea about all concepts related to Typography. I learned so much that now I see the world in a different way. Now I understand the relation between words and things.

by Jemma H

2020年4月14日

I really enjoyed this course as a photographer who studied design I did not go into detail in my degree as to the specifics of typography. I found it beneficial to fill in some gaps.

by Shreya S

2018年4月8日

This course helped me understand the basics of typography as well as propelled to experiment with layouts, the composition and collaborate with peers. It was fun learning experience.