Chevron Left
Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments に戻る

デューク大学(Duke University) による Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
2,571件の評価
694件のレビュー

コースについて

In this course, you will learn what an argument is. The definition of argument will enable you to identify when speakers are giving arguments and when they are not. Next, you will learn how to break an argument into its essential parts, how to put them in order to reveal their connections, and how to fill in gaps in an argument by adding suppressed premises. By the end of this course, you will be better able to understand and appreciate arguments that you and other people present. Suggested Readings: Students who want more detailed explanations or additional exercises or who want to explore these topics in more depth should consult Understanding Arguments: An Introduction to Informal Logic, Ninth Edition, Concise, Chapters 1-5, by Walter Sinnott-Armstrong and Robert Fogelin. Course Format: Each week will be divided into multiple video segments that can be viewed separately or in groups. There will be short ungraded quizzes after each segment (to check comprehension) and a longer graded quiz at the end of the course....

人気のレビュー

SM
2020年6月10日

I found this course very challenging as I find critical thinking very difficult. However this course was extremely rewarding and I will be taking the other three modules in the Think Again series.

FY
2018年7月5日

I found this course very challenging as I find critical thinking very difficult. However this course was extremely rewarding and I will be taking the other three modules in the Think Again series.

フィルター:

Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments: 51 - 75 / 684 レビュー

by Aedrian A

2021年1月20日

I have been looking for a college-level education in logic (since I never had one during my college days), and this course perfectly quenched the thirst at least for a moment. This is an excellent material for those who want to learn informal logic in a low-stakes setting (without the pressure of doing well in and paying for a college course) but with a respectable measure of academic rigor. The mentioned reference is an impressive resource, and I recommend reading its contents after the corresponding lecture videos. Lastly, the final exam is enjoyable if you aim to get a perfect score, since every attempt (at a certain point) provides non-identical questions. I am looking forward to finish the entire Coursera Specialization.

by Naufal S

2020年5月18日

I enjoyed this course. The content of the lectures is thought-provoking. The quizzes also reflect the topics covered in the lecture. The usage of discussion forums is also apt as it allows the students to learn from each other and seek insight from other perspectives.

This course has also helped me to be more critical of the arguments that I come across and not to easily believe anything that I read without proper thought. I can apply the materials that I have learnt in my daily life, as a researcher, when I analyse the arguments brought forth in academic papers. Overall, I look forward to the subsequent courses in this series. I would definitely recommend this course to my friends.

by Sandra Z C

2020年10月16日

It was so good!! Although some of the lectures were pretty dense and I needed to take small breaks to process every piece of new information, it all was very digestible. The teacher takes your hand and guides you through all the topics and the tasks, putting attention in every detail we need to successfully understand the content. And you can even go back to the videos to reassure your understanding about things you still might have doubts about. I personally did not use the tool to save notes (not much, at least) during the lectures because I take my notes manually, but that's a great option for those who don't have much time to take notes traditionally. a 10/10.

by AMALIA B

2020年11月22日

I always thought critical thinking was a dangerous trip to mysterious dark paths of the brain and only brilliant scientists and criminal or corporate lawyers could master. To my surprise, this course was designed for me! I actually had fun having this course! It was understandable, had a clear structure and a smooth gradual climax in difficulty. Even though English as a foreign language was an obstacle I had to overcome, and it's been more than 13 years since I did some serious studying for my master's degree, I found it challenging enough both for my English comprehension and my logic. I 'll certainly go for all 4 courses.

by Sir M S

2021年4月19日

I love this course because the instructor gives an important tool for life in learning a material subject that will affect not only the work-related project but also life decision making base on our understanding of how important the arguments present themselves. Wisdom will make you rich because you understood the situation and know how to tackle the suppressed premises including all the nooks and crannies for these courses. Understand, uncover, decisions,s and avoid falacies. Totally appreciate these courses and will take all the courses based on my financial stability. From where I start, I still know nothing.

by Zacarias A d A N

2020年11月23日

It was a difficult course because it was in English. The examples were in English and it was sometimes challenging to understand the logic, although the captions were very useful. But it was wonderful, I learned a lot and I hope to continue the other modules: Think Again II, III and IV.

Foi um curso difícil por ser em inglês. Os exemplos foram em inglês e algumas vezes foi desafiador compreender a lógica, apesar das legendas terem sido muito úteis. Mas foi maravilhoso, aprendi muito e espero continuar os outros módulos: Think Again II, III e IV.

by Ramasuwame M

2020年6月19日

Helped me learn the otherwise impossible subject . The explanations to the quizes at the end of each lesson were very educative and made me understand the lesson better. Nudged me to continue and complete the course in a simple and careful way. I should have done this course when I was working in a Bid Management Team in a IT company 10 years back. I am able to do this at the age of 65 is sufficient proof of the efficiency of Coursera, the subject, and the masters. Thanks a lot to all of you.

M.Ramasuwame, Chennai, India.

by Gladis I P D

2017年7月23日

Not to dominate the language was a little confusing to understand the subjects, as they are guarding and standard term, for that reason the test I realized them to understand better the subjects, since it has been very useful for me that many points had the written answer. I am aware that I must review each lesson. Obviously has been much knowledge captured, I now have more bases and clarity to be more assertive in understanding what comes to me and what I transmit. Thanks very much teacher Waltter Sinnott

by Hazrat A

2020年7月1日

This course is for them who are very particular when they say something or they literally understand what they are saying. Say you want to analyse why someone told that sentence, what did he/she mean when uttered that words, why said "she may" meet and not "she will" meet etc. In simple you can break any sentence said to you, to know what was he/she thinking when said that sentence. It needs focus and determination and patience the most BUT it is worth it. :)

by Ningyan D

2021年4月29日

Just finished this great course by Duke University about how to decompose and untangle logical arguments in order to understand, assess, and learn from them. This course really shed a light on explaining a lot of the things I intuitively felt wrong about many logical arguments before but didn't know why and taught me how to catch those "wrongs" in the future. I would definitely recommend this course and I think everyone can benefit by learning from it.

by LoLa

2018年3月10日

This course does help me a lot in the logical way of thinking, understanding and reasoning. Especially with the reconstruction of an argument, by providing three methods of organizing an argument, It not only helps me to understand arguments better, but also help me express my ideas and opinions explicitly. This course blows me away with the amazing examples, especially the professor is so so adorable and humorous. Thank you so much Dr. Armstrong!

by Deepak S

2019年6月17日

The course was awesome. I never knew we can look at discussions and conversations from this kind of a perspective which is not only scientific but also beautifully mesmerizing. The way it was taught by Prof. Sinnott-Armstrong was simply amazing. He has a simple lucid style which is not only friendly and articulate but also entertaining at the same time allowing me to love the course even more. Thank you so much!!

by Santiago M

2016年10月27日

I think the professor is clear an concise (I know, the word "clear" is not easy to define). The content is very interesting, and definitely relevant. It might be so that I won't use EVERYTHING I learned here in my daily life, but I definitely have tools to provide better arguments, and debate other people's arguments.

Some parts of the course are heavy, but with a little bit of effort and dedication, one can follow.

by Jeanette L

2020年9月5日

I am a retired 76 year young lady living in Melbourne Australia. Due to circumstances at the time I left school at 15. I returned to study in my early 40`s to do an applied science course in Remedial Massage. Now retired after 30 years,

I enjoyed Think Again 1 as it made me stretch my brain in a new way even though I found it quite difficult in certain areas. Hopefully my powers of reasoning have increased.

by Marcos F H

2017年4月29日

Excellent course! The education didactics is really well organized and easy to follow through even for a nonenglish native as myself. At the same time is gradually challenging. I'm really grateful to Professor Dr. Walter Sinnott-Armstrong for sharing his amazing knowledge with such passion. I believe that this course will influence my life in a long therm basis and I look forward to beginning part II.

by Tainá A

2020年5月31日

This course was definitively a positive surprising to me. I feel more capable of organizing my thoughts and making an argument. Also, it may be also useful when it comes to analyzing other people's argument. Therefore, this is a course that can come in hand in our daily life. The professor is also very good and made learning a lot easier. I'm looking forward to completing the other three courses!

by Tan M L

2020年4月24日

I will definitely recommend all to take up this 4 volume courses where one not only understand the structure of arguments explain by the lecturer in an interesting and lively manner. Over and above, this help us to be more alert in our day to day communication with others and not falling into unnecessary bad arguments with others. I am looking forward to subsequent 3 volume. Keep going !

by Areeb A K

2020年12月11日

By this course i understand a lot about critical thinking, problem solving, solving issues, judgement, close analysis of arguments. I feel some changing on myself to attract people after this course learned. Now I realized that almost people arguing in their life almost arguments are use less, and even they don't think about this arguments only arguing each other without thinking.

by Priti S

2020年10月28日

Being able to reason and understand arguments is a very important skill for everyone but is sadly neglected as part of our curriculum.I came across this wonderful course which was not only informative but fun with such instructors and it is one of the best courses offered on this platform.Strongly recommended for everyone who wants to understand and be understood by others .

by Scott K

2020年6月20日

This was not an easy course; it required a lot of thinking and taking time to really understand what was being taught. But, the professor presented the material in an enjoyable way, and the quiz questions were beneficially in helping me to make sure that I understood the concepts being taught. I look forward to taking the next three courses associated with "Think Again."

by Josef T

2017年4月27日

An excellent introduction to the valuable skill of understanding arguments. The lectures are entertaining and provide a welcoming style for learners of all backgrounds. The content is not light but is well-structured and the pacing is generous - one hour a day of study should more than suffice. I thank the creators for an edifying and enjoyable experience.

by Carla L R

2020年6月15日

Outstanding course in its entirety from beginning to end. The quizzes are challenging and dynamic; the extra material is very useful and clarifying and the video lectures with the Professor are priceless. He is very pedagogical and fun to learn from. Hats off! Highly recommended. Now, on track to keep up with the other three courses in this Program! :)

by Shakeel R K

2020年7月6日

One of the most interesting course I have been through. Dr. Walter Sinnott-Armstrong, take a bow Sir! He makes it look so easy and enjoys alongside the student. The course seems easy but once you go through the whole course you will realise how much of it you weren't aware of to begin with. Really looking forward to the other courses in this series.

by Teresa M

2017年4月18日

English is my second language, sometimes is not easy to understand "arguments", since the introduction of this course I understand different ways to clarify points of view without arguing or fighting. It was easy, fun and it makes me feel more confident when I talk to others and when they explain me some important things about many concerns. Thanks!

by Lovina N

2020年5月11日

This course helped me understand more about the human interaction and how language plays its part in it. It was taught and explained exceptionally! As a humanities student looking forward to studying linguistics, I feel my interest has increased significantly in the subject. Will definitely take the other courses from Think Again series.