Chevron Left
Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments に戻る

デューク大学(Duke University) による Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
1,262件の評価
337件のレビュー

コースについて

How to Understand Arguments Think Again: How to Reason and Argue Reasoning is important. This series of four short courses will teach you how to do it well. You will learn simple but vital rules to follow in thinking about any topic at all and common and tempting mistakes to avoid in reasoning. We will discuss how to identify, analyze, and evaluate arguments by other people (including politicians, used car salesmen, and teachers) and how to construct arguments of your own in order to help you decide what to believe or what to do. These skills will be useful in dealing with whatever matters most to you. Courses at a Glance: All four courses in this series are offered through sessions which run every four weeks. We suggest sticking to the weekly schedule to the best of your ability. If for whatever reason you fall behind, feel free to re-enroll in the next session.We also suggest that you start each course close to the beginning of a month in order to increase the number of peers in the discussion forums who are working on the same material as you are. While each course can be taken independently, we suggest you take the four courses in order. Course 1 - Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments Course 2 - Think Again II: How to Reason Deductively Course 3 - Think Again III: How to Reason Inductively Course 4 - Think Again IV: How to Avoid Fallacies About This Course in the Series: When is someone giving an argument instead of just yelling? Which parts of what they say contribute to the argument? Why are they arguing instead of fighting? What are arguments made of? What forms do they take? Think Again: How to Understand Arguments will answer these questions a more. In this course, you will learn what an argument is. The definition of argument will enable students to identify when speakers are giving arguments and when they are not. Next, we will learn how to break an argument into its essential parts, how to put them in order to reveal their connections, and how to fill in gaps in an argument. By the end of this course, students will be better able to understand and appreciate arguments that they and other people present. Suggested Readings: Students who want more detailed explanations or additional exercises or who want to explore these topics in more depth should consult Understanding Arguments: An Introduction to Informal Logic, Ninth Edition, Concise, Chapters 1-5, by Walter Sinnott-Armstrong and Robert Fogelin. Course Format: Each week will be divided into multiple video segments that can be viewed separately or in groups. There will be short ungraded quizzes after each segment (to check comprehension) and a longer graded quiz at the end of the course....

人気のレビュー

FY

Jul 06, 2018

I found this course very challenging as I find critical thinking very difficult. However this course was extremely rewarding and I will be taking the other three modules in the Think Again series.

RH

Feb 16, 2017

This is a very very engaging and applicable course, and is truly presented with 10/10 efficacy! I couldn't be more sincere and adamant in my recommendation, no matter who you are or what you do.

フィルター:

Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments: 251 - 275 / 330 レビュー

by Wes D S

Oct 19, 2019

Great class, I didn't have time to work on it and watch all the videos by the deadline but at least this remains open so I can go back and watch them still after taking the test. I was late taking it but seems they let me pass anyway? Anyway a lot of good material here, it is a long 4 weeks with a lot to learn and review even though it was my second time taking this course, thinking it would be easy was wrong. Take your time if you can they did a great job redoing this course and learning it all over again was fun and helpful for me as I debate in fb groups often and making 'good' cogent arguments is a must. So far I'm 11-0 winning all my debates so far and I can thank this class in part for preparing me to debate and think critically about a topic. I like to think I've always been decent at this but this course certainly improved my skills and recommend it to everyone. (except my opponents) :D

by Vitalii S

Nov 25, 2019

Was interesting to me and make me think in more details after getting knowledge from the course.

Thank you!

by Jaime A

Dec 01, 2019

Excellent course to refresh your thinking skills and make them sharper. The professor, Dr. Walter Sinnott-Armstrong, makes it really engaging and enjoyable with his continuous jokes and funny faces and performance. I wish I had learned this in this way when I was in high school. A must-do-course in this era of post-truth, fake news, and really bad political debate!

by David B

Dec 05, 2019

Awesome! I do really appreciate the time passed here. I learned a lot. Thank you!

by NIRMAL K

Jan 18, 2019

g

by vidushi k

Feb 01, 2019

good

by Sandra L M P

Feb 24, 2019

Excelente curso para mejorar redacción, comprensión y hasta escritura de un texto.

by Sarah D

Feb 05, 2019

Interesting and helpful in becoming more analytical. Also helped to raise awareness of language usage

by Muhammad F

Feb 19, 2019

its very helpful coarse for those whose language is other than English

by ajay s

Oct 29, 2016

One splendid course ! I thoroughly enjoyed taking it and look forward to the next part of it.

by Flavia L

May 04, 2018

Excellent explanations and excellent instructor. Only the subject that is very difficult.

by Henrietta J

Nov 07, 2016

Fun course!

by Nargis l

Jul 28, 2017

It was interesting working through this course and though I had to repeat my assignments I understood that I need to enhance my skills in argumentation.

by wai c c

Sep 24, 2016

I do enjoy the course through interaction with other participants and like to express my sincere gratitude to Coursera and Duke University.

by Dysprosium

Jun 25, 2017

Great intro course. The skills taught can be useful for both academic pursuits as well as making our way through the bombardment of information we navigate in our daily lives.

by Esther M

Jan 08, 2018

The lectures were a little long but were thorough. I didn't realize this course was part of a series. I think I would like to see a more condensed version. I will have to take the other course(s) to find out.

by Andrew C

Nov 16, 2016

An excellent course, but it is hard going (took me 3 attempts to get through the final quiz!). Recommend for anyone interested in how people present arguments.

by Iris L

Feb 28, 2017

Excellent

by Eduardo S

Aug 25, 2017

Great Experience! The professor is amazing! Congrats!

by Adan R V

Apr 29, 2018

I would have a formal test every week to pass the whole course instead of a final quiz

by George E

Feb 28, 2017

Very engaging lecturer for what could be a very dry subject.

In depth analysis and examples

by William M

Dec 28, 2016

Weekly quizzes instead of just the final (that actually counts for a grade) would be very helpful to me, but it was a great course and I learned a lot!

by Guillermo P

Aug 05, 2017

Very well explained every aspect of an argument with examples explained in great detail. Clearly lot of work has put into this and I thank everyone for it.

by Darryl C

Apr 04, 2017

No complaints. This course revealed im more interested in the interpersonal dynamic of influence and persuasion vs the logic of arguments.

by Teodora V

Dec 18, 2016

I loved the course and I want to take the othe