Chevron Left
Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments に戻る

デューク大学(Duke University) による Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
1,226件の評価
328件のレビュー

コースについて

How to Understand Arguments Think Again: How to Reason and Argue Reasoning is important. This series of four short courses will teach you how to do it well. You will learn simple but vital rules to follow in thinking about any topic at all and common and tempting mistakes to avoid in reasoning. We will discuss how to identify, analyze, and evaluate arguments by other people (including politicians, used car salesmen, and teachers) and how to construct arguments of your own in order to help you decide what to believe or what to do. These skills will be useful in dealing with whatever matters most to you. Courses at a Glance: All four courses in this series are offered through sessions which run every four weeks. We suggest sticking to the weekly schedule to the best of your ability. If for whatever reason you fall behind, feel free to re-enroll in the next session.We also suggest that you start each course close to the beginning of a month in order to increase the number of peers in the discussion forums who are working on the same material as you are. While each course can be taken independently, we suggest you take the four courses in order. Course 1 - Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments Course 2 - Think Again II: How to Reason Deductively Course 3 - Think Again III: How to Reason Inductively Course 4 - Think Again IV: How to Avoid Fallacies About This Course in the Series: When is someone giving an argument instead of just yelling? Which parts of what they say contribute to the argument? Why are they arguing instead of fighting? What are arguments made of? What forms do they take? Think Again: How to Understand Arguments will answer these questions a more. In this course, you will learn what an argument is. The definition of argument will enable students to identify when speakers are giving arguments and when they are not. Next, we will learn how to break an argument into its essential parts, how to put them in order to reveal their connections, and how to fill in gaps in an argument. By the end of this course, students will be better able to understand and appreciate arguments that they and other people present. Suggested Readings: Students who want more detailed explanations or additional exercises or who want to explore these topics in more depth should consult Understanding Arguments: An Introduction to Informal Logic, Ninth Edition, Concise, Chapters 1-5, by Walter Sinnott-Armstrong and Robert Fogelin. Course Format: Each week will be divided into multiple video segments that can be viewed separately or in groups. There will be short ungraded quizzes after each segment (to check comprehension) and a longer graded quiz at the end of the course....

人気のレビュー

FY

Jul 06, 2018

I found this course very challenging as I find critical thinking very difficult. However this course was extremely rewarding and I will be taking the other three modules in the Think Again series.

RH

Feb 16, 2017

This is a very very engaging and applicable course, and is truly presented with 10/10 efficacy! I couldn't be more sincere and adamant in my recommendation, no matter who you are or what you do.

フィルター:

Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments: 301 - 324 / 324 レビュー

by Nick G

Jan 09, 2018

Professor Armstrong can be a bit long-winded at times, but the course is still engaging and worthwhile. The frequent use of pop quizzes helps to break up the monotony and apply concepts to real, if often lighthearted, arguments. I plan to continue on with the remaining 3 courses so that I can better separate the wheat from the chaff in my own beliefs as well as those of others.

by Bridgette F

Jul 15, 2019

The Instructor Is Fun,I Really Enjoyed The Entire Course Up Until The Awful FInal Quiz.I Have Not Encountered Another Final Test/Quiz Quite As Annoying As This One.

by Amal K

Jul 28, 2019

Many thanks, i have had fun in the course. Material was easy to comprehend and flow easy to follow . I am just giving it 4 stars, as i think more practical examples should be provided

by Preethy A M

May 18, 2019

I found the validity portion to be confusing. Other parts of the class were interesting.

by W

Aug 14, 2019

Some videos are a little bit long!

by Samra I

Aug 27, 2019

this is the great course with simple understanding of an argument

by Rahul M P

Jul 14, 2019

This course is very helpful in everyday life, as not everyone pays attention to what everyone else is talking, but those who have taken this course can really understand what they mean.

by Jiaojiao Z

May 27, 2019

very useful course to form a thinking formulate about arguments

by Jacob A V

Oct 17, 2019

Good

by Kseniia L

Mar 06, 2018

First part is quite intresting, but then lectures are too long and repetitive. I suppose previous course was much better.

by Dorothy H

Aug 17, 2016

Hoping that the next sections won't be so laborious and focussed on analyzing texts in detail. If you want to know how to do such things, then this would be a 5-star course for you.

by Carl T

Nov 22, 2016

An excellent course for students that require, or want intricate detail on the subject. Not really designed for casual interest, more likely for the philosophy major. Presented very clearly and the discussions and material were interesting. Would have been four stars but the final quiz was excessively difficult.

by KatieD

Oct 24, 2017

Videos cut off before the end and would instantly start replaying from the beginning

by Greg G

Aug 16, 2016

Dr. Sinnott-Armstrong does an amazingly thorough and detailed job, and the progression of the course is well planned and well executed.

I wanted to give the course a higher rating, but unfortunately, the good doctor's explanatory skills only served to confuse and frustrate me, the further I progressed through the course. Extemporaneous examples were unintentionally and unnecessarily muddled. There were numerous misspoken or confused terms that could easily have been re-recorded or edited. And the splicing between the old course and the new one is sometimes discontinuous (though, to be fair, they warn us about that at the beginning).

Nevertheless, I would still highly recommend the course to anyone looking for a thorough-going university-level course in critical thinking, and basic argumentation.

by Nicole R

May 22, 2018

Somewhat outdated videos.

by Charles E D

Feb 17, 2018

One of the questions I got wrong on the final quiz suggest all birds fly as a correct answer, wrong ALL BIRDS do not fly.

by Sophie P K

Jun 03, 2018

There was a lot of new information, I learned a lot. A bit too long for me, since I'm only 9 years old. I'm happy I accomplished it, though! The reason why I gave three stars is because the due dates on the quizzes did not show. It made me rush at the end.

by Jordan W

Mar 25, 2019

Really gets into the semantics here which I wasn't expecting, not quite the course I went in for.

by P G

Jul 20, 2017

Useless linguistics and philosophy with no real use in real life. I don't think anyone's life has gotten better by learning this.

by Janet T

Mar 29, 2017

Could not finish the course. I found the course to be boring.

by Trevor F

Sep 05, 2016

I do not want to rate this course at this stage but I would like to make the following comment in relation to the course resources and in particular the answers to the exercises in the optional text book.

For students who do not have a copy of the text book, providing answers to questions from the text book without showing the actual questions is not very useful and to be quite frank, ridiculous. I would like to think that the course designers would take some sort of appropriate action to remedy this.

How exactly this would be done is up to the course designers but I would suggest that another downloadable PDF document showing all the questions would be extremely useful and necessary.

I look forward to a response.

Regards, Trevor Farley

by Amany e i s

Nov 10, 2017

It was really boring

by Anudatt D

Sep 05, 2019

.

by Nicole M

Oct 17, 2019

I thought this course was about understanding arguments/disputes/how people think etc. NOT linguistics and grammar/syntax