Chevron Left
Understanding China, 1700-2000: A Data Analytic Approach, Part 1 に戻る

香港科技大学(The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology) による Understanding China, 1700-2000: A Data Analytic Approach, Part 1 の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
85件の評価
22件のレビュー

コースについて

The purpose of this course is to summarize new directions in Chinese history and social science produced by the creation and analysis of big historical datasets based on newly opened Chinese archival holdings, and to organize this knowledge in a framework that encourages learning about China in comparative perspective. Our course demonstrates how a new scholarship of discovery is redefining what is singular about modern China and modern Chinese history. Current understandings of human history and social theory are based largely on Western experience or on non-Western experience seen through a Western lens. This course offers alternative perspectives derived from Chinese experience over the last three centuries. We present specific case studies of this new scholarship of discovery divided into two stand-alone parts, which means that students can take any part without prior or subsequent attendance of the other part. Part 1 (this course) focuses on comparative inequality and opportunity and addresses two related questions ‘Who rises to the top?’ and ‘Who gets what?’. Part 2 (https://www.coursera.org/learn/understanding-china-history-part-2) turns to an arguably even more important question ‘Who are we?’ as seen through the framework of comparative population behavior - mortality, marriage, and reproduction – and their interaction with economic conditions and human values. We do so because mortality and reproduction are fundamental and universal, because they differ historically just as radically between China and the West as patterns of inequality and opportunity, and because these differences demonstrate the mutability of human behavior and values. Course Overview video: https://youtu.be/dzUPRyJ4ETk...

人気のレビュー

AA
2017年5月24日

I loved the course. It gave me a totally different view of pre-revolution China. Even though I am not into\n\nquantitative data, I still learned from the conclusions and interpretations of the data.

RH
2020年11月11日

This course was very informative and engaging. The questions were a great way to check understanding. I can't wait for Part 2!

フィルター:

Understanding China, 1700-2000: A Data Analytic Approach, Part 1: 1 - 22 / 22 レビュー

by Jialin B

2018年5月23日

Brilliant course. High quality information, comprehensive sources and interesting tests. Part 1 puts the revolution in a new perspective and connects imperial China with contemporary China. The course also throws a light on equality vs inequality globally and in China. The course is controversial in that it reflects duly and appropriately the complexity of Chinese social history and its development as opposed to the black-and-white view on China which still persists in the West. I also liked the very down-to-earth approach of Prof Lee.

by JOHN Q

2017年11月20日

I enjoyed this course tremendously, and discovered that there was a vast amount of information that I needed to learn about this SuperPower. China is an amazing country with an enormous population and economy, a history of remarkable achievement, and yet still unknown in many ways. Thanks for putting this course together.

by Phuong N

2020年7月25日

Assumptions or discourses of social diversity, wealth distribution/inequality were examined in a multi-faceted manner. Appropriate coverage of social theories as background for the discussions, which made it very interesting for a natural science student like me. Nice course! I'm very happy I took it.

by Toni H

2020年8月8日

This is a very short but informative course comparing the wealth distribution between China and the United States / UK throughout times of history. It features history but also data analysis looking at education levels influenced social mobility in society. Eyeopening course.

by Asir A

2017年5月25日

I loved the course. It gave me a totally different view of pre-revolution China. Even though I am not into

quantitative data, I still learned from the conclusions and interpretations of the data.

by Roxanne H

2020年11月12日

This course was very informative and engaging. The questions were a great way to check understanding. I can't wait for Part 2!

by Bhoomi A

2020年9月18日

Very relevant and precise information, videos were also very engaging. I am definitely doing the second part of this course.

by Matt M

2017年10月19日

Informative, relevant, and unique. The focus on recent discoveries unearthed through original research is refreshing.

by Qierag

2020年4月12日

A very in-depth introduction to Chinese society. This learning experience is very valuable. Thanks a lot.

by Joy S

2018年12月29日

The truth about China. This is fact, by evidence, by statistics. Very good to know.

by Sara T

2017年10月25日

Well presented material, new and surprising insights. Rewarding experience.

by Marcos O

2020年11月1日

Excellent to know a little about this great nation, culture and philosophy

by Sathyajith M 1

2020年7月14日

This is the best course on Chinese history I've attended..

by Médéric D

2018年1月17日

Very interesting, I would recommend this course.

by Nhat L

2017年9月26日

It is a very short and concise course.

by Keawalin S

2020年7月10日

totally useful! love it!

by lichuangye

2017年4月4日

good

by Yasmin C

2018年7月6日

A little bit slow at first, amazing for people who just want to have some contact with the history and culture of china!

by Fabian F

2017年7月24日

I liked the data-driven, very analytic approach to understand Chines history better. Thank you for a great course.

by ERIC N J V

2020年8月19日

The video lessons were kind of long

by Gabriel M R L

2018年8月14日

Very good

by Jonathan G

2018年2月27日

This course was boring as hell.