Chevron Left
Understanding Terrorism and the Terrorist Threat に戻る

メリーランド大学カレッジパーク校(University of Maryland, College Park) による Understanding Terrorism and the Terrorist Threat の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
219件の評価
64件のレビュー

コースについて

The National Consortium for the Study of Terrorism and Responses to Terrorism (START), a Department of Homeland Security Center of Excellence housed at the University of Maryland, offers a course looking at the who, what and how of Terrorism Studies, by introducing students to cutting-edge research from the social and behavioral sciences and the experts investigating these topics. The course will begin with a unit looking at widely held myths about terrorism and utilizing empirical data to discuss the realities of broad trends and patterns in terrorist attacks over time. The course will then review the psychological factors at play in individual radicalization and recruitment into terrorism, followed by an analysis of terrorist group dynamics. The course will next look at terrorist group operations, including their attacks and some of the supporting behaviors that allow them to carry out attacks, including use of media, financing, recruitment, and training. The course will conclude by looking at the factors that drive terrorist group persistence or endurance versus terrorist group desistance, and will bring the varied course concepts together through a detailed look at the case of Al-Qa’ida. Throughout the course, students will have the opportunity to study and work with the University of Maryland’s Global Terrorism Database (GTD), the largest database of terrorist incidents in the world, learning its capabilities and developing basic skills in searching and displaying terrorism data....

人気のレビュー

JC

Oct 09, 2018

very dynamic, focused on factual accuracy versus popularized propaganda. the psychological models and structural organization are applicable and invaluable in many areas. well worth the time.

DB

Nov 15, 2018

Really enjoyed the course, signed up thinking I would learn much because I had studied terrorism before. I was wrong, they had some great analysis using the database the school founded.

フィルター:

Understanding Terrorism and the Terrorist Threat: 1 - 25 / 60 レビュー

by Tan J F

Nov 18, 2018

Great Course!

by Ivan A B C

Dec 03, 2018

excelente me entrego las herramientas necesarias para poder iniciar mi trabajo en el campo designado.

by Eduardo F

Dec 21, 2018

Great Course.

Well presented

by Ivan M

Mar 08, 2019

Great course to build upon existing knowledge of terrorism, media and the impact of terrorism internationally. Highly recommend.

by Dominic B

Nov 15, 2018

Really enjoyed the course, signed up thinking I would learn much because I had studied terrorism before. I was wrong, they had some great analysis using the database the school founded.

by James C

Oct 09, 2018

very dynamic, focused on factual accuracy versus popularized propaganda. the psychological models and structural organization are applicable and invaluable in many areas. well worth the time.

by sion p

Oct 19, 2018

Great course, really enjoyed it.

by Udo H

May 04, 2018

Definitely raises the understanding of Terrorism and the Terrorist Threat and puts a lot of bias and preconditions into the "right light". Worth attending!

by abdirizak m h

Apr 06, 2018

helpfull

by Nabin C J

Oct 13, 2017

Very nice course and flow of materials. A good learning for Urban socio-political Disaster

by Alejandro A B

Nov 28, 2017

Es un curso que abre la mente a quienes nos interesa el tema, y particularmente a los que vivimos en paises que no controlan ni tienen en cuenta estos tópicos.

by Alfred W P I

Jun 20, 2017

This was an excellent course that gave me a broad view of the terrorism threat. At the same time, we examined many specifics particular to certain groups and and challenges faced when dealing with terrorism. I highly enjoyed the course and will continue my studies on this subject.

by Joseph A J

Mar 28, 2017

I loved this course! I have taken a variety of other terrorism courses over the years and this is definitely one of the best courses I have ever been involved in. I will recommend this course to anyone seeking to expand their knowledge base!

by Melissa J H

Dec 16, 2016

I really enjoyed this course and learned a lot. Much of the knowledge I thought I had coming into the course was erroneous or skewed by the media. Highly recommend this course to anyone in the law enforcement field/homeland sec field, or who just wants to learn more on the subject!

by José W B d S M

Apr 24, 2018

Very interesting content presented by very good professors .

by BILU K

Feb 24, 2017

I love this course..thanks to coursera and professors for the course..wonderful

by Nathan R

Mar 23, 2017

Start is a great program with lots of resources

by Livingstone N M

Dec 21, 2016

A very good course in the modern times where there is increased terrorism threat across the globe,,

by Sohail N K

Aug 11, 2017

An excellent course well designed to elucidate the chores of terrorism through an empirical perspective so as to base the countering endeavours on a logical edifice of practical and appropriate solution to eradicate this menace from the civilized world. Well done.

by Panagiota K

Jul 17, 2017

Great course! The lectures are very interesting!

by Conrado T D J

Oct 07, 2016

Absolutely engaging & informative course!

by José F G Á

Jul 16, 2017

Great MOOC!

by Diego R C

May 25, 2017

Great introducion course with new ideas and concepts.

by Katarina M

Jan 15, 2018

Very good course, I got a lot out of it. Recommended for its clarity, organisation, scope of issues that it covers and the way they are presented.

by Muhammad Y B S

Feb 26, 2017

A refreshing course that widens your opinion on Terrorism with information and datas to back up the research.