Chevron Left
Understanding Terrorism and the Terrorist Threat に戻る

メリーランド大学カレッジパーク校(University of Maryland, College Park) による Understanding Terrorism and the Terrorist Threat の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
219件の評価
64件のレビュー

コースについて

The National Consortium for the Study of Terrorism and Responses to Terrorism (START), a Department of Homeland Security Center of Excellence housed at the University of Maryland, offers a course looking at the who, what and how of Terrorism Studies, by introducing students to cutting-edge research from the social and behavioral sciences and the experts investigating these topics. The course will begin with a unit looking at widely held myths about terrorism and utilizing empirical data to discuss the realities of broad trends and patterns in terrorist attacks over time. The course will then review the psychological factors at play in individual radicalization and recruitment into terrorism, followed by an analysis of terrorist group dynamics. The course will next look at terrorist group operations, including their attacks and some of the supporting behaviors that allow them to carry out attacks, including use of media, financing, recruitment, and training. The course will conclude by looking at the factors that drive terrorist group persistence or endurance versus terrorist group desistance, and will bring the varied course concepts together through a detailed look at the case of Al-Qa’ida. Throughout the course, students will have the opportunity to study and work with the University of Maryland’s Global Terrorism Database (GTD), the largest database of terrorist incidents in the world, learning its capabilities and developing basic skills in searching and displaying terrorism data....

人気のレビュー

JC

Oct 09, 2018

very dynamic, focused on factual accuracy versus popularized propaganda. the psychological models and structural organization are applicable and invaluable in many areas. well worth the time.

DB

Nov 15, 2018

Really enjoyed the course, signed up thinking I would learn much because I had studied terrorism before. I was wrong, they had some great analysis using the database the school founded.

フィルター:

Understanding Terrorism and the Terrorist Threat: 26 - 50 / 60 レビュー

by Nev D

Apr 23, 2017

Great course. Thank you. The information was very comprehensive, and thorough, and very professionally presented. Very enjoyable and I learned a lot.

by Sam B

Apr 16, 2018

Outstanding material and great use of the GTD

by Diganta B

Jul 19, 2017

Well researched course documents and very nice video lectures, which really helped me to grab the understanding of complexities of terrorism. Thanks a lot..!!

by Beka K

Jul 31, 2017

I would change nothing in this course. It’s very comprehensive and enlightening one. I have enriched and increased my supply of knowledge about terrorism. Presentation slides are perfect and I’m excited about high quality of interaction of existing professors. There are quizzes, which are not overwhelmingly complicated and also final peer-graded assignment about particular terrorist group. Thanks to University of Maryland for such a great adventure. Besides, there is no need of any previous knowledge and by this mean, I recommend this course to everyone generally interested in the issues of terrorism.

by Aren F

Jun 20, 2017

It was an excellent course. A follow up course should be done with greater focus on organizational analysis.

by Jiří K

Jul 09, 2017

Very nice course, only the waiting for assessment was little annyoing.

by KATSIVARDEAS V

Dec 05, 2017

Excellent work!!!!!!

by Nanda F A

Nov 23, 2016

recommended course...thanks for START team...

by Jesse H

Mar 27, 2017

I enjoyed going through this course. The material was fascinating and the instructors provided great detail regarding the data and research.

by Kofi B

Jun 21, 2018

This course is amazing and very insigntfull

by Ivan J

Oct 25, 2017

A very good course diving into the foundations to understand the threats out of terrorism and counter-terrorism aspcts. It is inter-disciplinary oriented and putting analysis in context to frameworks from psychology and sociology and considers in depth as well data collected from global terrorism databases. It was pivotal to a structured understanding of terrorism basics, the use of terrorist incidents data as well as in particular on getting view into the radicalisation process and dynamics of indidviduals, groups and organisation being involved in terrorism.

by Ahmad T B M S

Jan 01, 2018

A good and comprehensive introduction course on understanding terrorism.

by Paul

Jul 17, 2017

Excellent introduction to terrorism studies. The lectures were interesting and engaging, and the course materials were well-presented. The final assignment gave us the chance to apply many of the things we'd learned in the course. I'd highly recommend this!

(This was also my first MOOC - and I enjoyed the experience greatly. Looking forward to taking my next course...!)

by Carlos A

Aug 16, 2018

Excellent Course!

by Neisha

Apr 13, 2019

I enjoyed the content and it's presentation. I feel like I gained a comprehensive understanding from this course.

by Halwest A S

May 15, 2019

AMAZING

by Eric F

Aug 15, 2019

excellent course. highly recommend it to others.

by Seth D M F

Sep 26, 2019

Nice

by Tofail A

Sep 28, 2019

Nowadays, "Understanding Terrorism and the Terrorist Threat" is a big challenge to the humankind. We have to know in concise way of extremism to prevent and protect it through the channel and respond in proper mechanisms. It's a correct time to learn and put in practice...

by Donovan M

Feb 05, 2019

Excellent and a wealth of information. It would have been 5 stars if the content was current to at least 2017/18.

by Shawn J K

Feb 20, 2019

Pretty good course! Some of the content is outdated but I am still likely to recommend it to others.

by André S

Nov 10, 2016

Great Course!!

by Marc G

Aug 13, 2017

Great course, although some of it was slightly sketchy, particularly what had to do with statistical material. Instead of sharing so much raw data, students at this initial stage might benefit more from a comprehensive analysis of the information in which the researchers share their own conclusions instead of asking the students to make their own.

by Edson A M

Oct 27, 2016

That's a great course with a lot of updated information about the terrorism in the world.

by Brunaud

Jun 15, 2018

Very useful and interesting cours .