Chevron Left
The Unix Workbench に戻る

ジョンズ・ホプキンズ大学(Johns Hopkins University) による The Unix Workbench の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
1,283件の評価
393件のレビュー

コースについて

Unix forms a foundation that is often very helpful for accomplishing other goals you might have for you and your computer, whether that goal is running a business, writing a book, curing disease, or creating the next great app. The means to these goals are sometimes carried out by writing software. Software can’t be mined out of the ground, nor can software seeds be planted in spring to harvest by autumn. Software isn’t produced in factories on an assembly line. Software is a hand-made, often bespoke good. If a software developer is an artisan, then Unix is their workbench. Unix provides an essential and simple set of tools in a distraction-free environment. Even if you’re not a software developer learning Unix can open you up to new methods of thinking and novel ways to scale your ideas. This course is intended for folks who are new to programming and new to Unix-like operating systems like macOS and Linux distributions like Ubuntu. Most of the technologies discussed in this course will be accessed via a command line interface. Command line interfaces can seem alien at first, so this course attempts to draw parallels between using the command line and actions that you would normally take while using your mouse and keyboard. You’ll also learn how to write little pieces of software in a programming language called Bash, which allows you to connect together the tools we’ll discuss. My hope is that by the end of this course you be able to use different Unix tools as if they’re interconnecting Lego bricks....

人気のレビュー

SM

2022年5月24日

This course is extremly helpful and well designed for beginnner and working professionals with neat info. I strongly recomended this course. Thanks for mentors/authors with real time example commands.

RW

2020年4月29日

This is a very friendly step-by-step guide to Unix for beginners, it helps to build a solid foundation, and the exercises are designed to explore more about what has been introduced in the course.

フィルター:

The Unix Workbench: 326 - 350 / 387 レビュー

by Enpei L

2019年4月11日

I chose to take this course as reading manuals is boring. The course is nice in the sense that it gives practicals that you can do and get yourself familiar with the commands. On the other side, the videos are not what I expected and not so useful to have anyways.

by GAUTAM K

2017年12月23日

It was very good course designed for beginner in Unix. Thanks a lot for this. I was expecting a good hands on assignment at each week. The course could be much better if it would have included some more details in all the topics covered.

by Rob C

2018年9月10日

Really interesting course and a good introduction to shell programming. I did find the learning curve was a little uneven between weeks (1 and 2 were took almost no time, but some quirks in week 3 made it take much longer).

by Dimitris H

2022年2月11日

It's a nice course that provides you with the basics. I wish the content was updated in more frequent manner. It would be nice to be able to submit and run scripts online as the method for verifying the assignements.

by Sougata G

2017年12月18日

Fantastic book for beginners as well as people who haven't worked on Unix for a long time. Brush up and get going. Very lucid presentation ; gitHub lessons were an additional plus

by Carla C S

2021年10月6日

​This course is a quick introduction to the Unix shell and bash scripting. Very advisable indeed, nevertheless I think they could show you correct answers of practice excercises.

by Sara A

2018年10月11日

A very good course!

Before taking this course, I was a little worried to work with Linux. But now I really feel more comfortable with it.

Thanks to the instructor for his efforts.

by Edgardo S

2018年4月22日

I could not get the connection with digitalocean, becasue the page requested me to pay. I suggest to use a server propietary of coursera only for courses.

by Kyösti P

2019年3月10日

Excellent introductory course in to Unix and utilizing some of the basic command line functions as well as some of the progarmming structure basics.

by Kirulkar R B

2018年2月20日

I learn so many new commands from this course.

and one more important thing is basic standard skeleton of bash programming as well as git-hub basic.

by roger c

2017年10月29日

It's very simple bash (my attention part!) tutorials, and I suggest the video teaching is much better than boring plain text.

by bikarna p

2020年4月12日

I enjoyed the course. However, I would have enjoyed still more, if there were demos using videos rather than mere texts.

by thejas

2020年8月30日

A great course that is easy to understand and implement it. A good start for beginners with little experience.

by Sai K G B

2020年8月12日

Could have been little crisp and more live demos if possible...Overall a very good course for the beginners

by Abhishek k

2019年1月31日

This course good for beginners...and helpful for learning git, linux bash shell and git.Thanks

by Francisco A d A e L

2017年10月16日

Excelent course! I am very fluent in R but never tried Unix. This was the perfect opportunity.

by Dharmesh S

2018年3月3日

The course is good for anyone trying to learn basics of UNIX and especially the GIT command

by Sajjad B S

2018年2月27日

The Bash Programming Sections Could Have Been More Detailed.

Everything Else Is All Right.

by Miguel F

2017年9月7日

Very good introduction to the command line i wish that could have more demanding exercises.

by Tamer A

2022年5月28日

It is a good course. It just requires some minor updates. Thanks for the good contents.

by محمد أ

2019年6月4日

Course is easy and straightforward, no excessive effort is needed to complete it.

by Long C

2021年12月22日

It is hard to get peer review due to lack of students, but the content is good.

by Prakash C

2020年5月14日

A goto course if required concise and fast understanding of unix command line.

by Tyler S

2020年1月27日

Strong logical progression in teaching and well-developed training exercises.

by Jiazhi G

2017年9月8日

Simple and clear materials for self-learning basic Unix and Bash programming.