Chevron Left
The Unix Workbench に戻る

ジョンズ・ホプキンズ大学(Johns Hopkins University) による The Unix Workbench の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
1,255件の評価
384件のレビュー

コースについて

Unix forms a foundation that is often very helpful for accomplishing other goals you might have for you and your computer, whether that goal is running a business, writing a book, curing disease, or creating the next great app. The means to these goals are sometimes carried out by writing software. Software can’t be mined out of the ground, nor can software seeds be planted in spring to harvest by autumn. Software isn’t produced in factories on an assembly line. Software is a hand-made, often bespoke good. If a software developer is an artisan, then Unix is their workbench. Unix provides an essential and simple set of tools in a distraction-free environment. Even if you’re not a software developer learning Unix can open you up to new methods of thinking and novel ways to scale your ideas. This course is intended for folks who are new to programming and new to Unix-like operating systems like macOS and Linux distributions like Ubuntu. Most of the technologies discussed in this course will be accessed via a command line interface. Command line interfaces can seem alien at first, so this course attempts to draw parallels between using the command line and actions that you would normally take while using your mouse and keyboard. You’ll also learn how to write little pieces of software in a programming language called Bash, which allows you to connect together the tools we’ll discuss. My hope is that by the end of this course you be able to use different Unix tools as if they’re interconnecting Lego bricks....

人気のレビュー

RW
2020年4月29日

This is a very friendly step-by-step guide to Unix for beginners, it helps to build a solid foundation, and the exercises are designed to explore more about what has been introduced in the course.

KS
2018年1月28日

A wonderful course! Answered so many questions I had and gave me a solid background in Git, Bash, makefiles, and working from the cloud. I will definitely be using these skills in my job search!

フィルター:

The Unix Workbench: 326 - 350 / 378 レビュー

by Sara A

2018年10月11日

A very good course!

Before taking this course, I was a little worried to work with Linux. But now I really feel more comfortable with it.

Thanks to the instructor for his efforts.

by Edgardo S

2018年4月22日

I could not get the connection with digitalocean, becasue the page requested me to pay. I suggest to use a server propietary of coursera only for courses.

by Kyösti P

2019年3月10日

Excellent introductory course in to Unix and utilizing some of the basic command line functions as well as some of the progarmming structure basics.

by Kirulkar R B

2018年2月20日

I learn so many new commands from this course.

and one more important thing is basic standard skeleton of bash programming as well as git-hub basic.

by roger c

2017年10月29日

It's very simple bash (my attention part!) tutorials, and I suggest the video teaching is much better than boring plain text.

by bikarna p

2020年4月12日

I enjoyed the course. However, I would have enjoyed still more, if there were demos using videos rather than mere texts.

by thejas

2020年8月30日

A great course that is easy to understand and implement it. A good start for beginners with little experience.

by Sai K G B

2020年8月12日

Could have been little crisp and more live demos if possible...Overall a very good course for the beginners

by Abhishek k

2019年1月31日

This course good for beginners...and helpful for learning git, linux bash shell and git.Thanks

by Francisco A d A e L

2017年10月16日

Excelent course! I am very fluent in R but never tried Unix. This was the perfect opportunity.

by Dharmesh S

2018年3月3日

The course is good for anyone trying to learn basics of UNIX and especially the GIT command

by Sajjad B S

2018年2月27日

The Bash Programming Sections Could Have Been More Detailed.

Everything Else Is All Right.

by Miguel F

2017年9月7日

Very good introduction to the command line i wish that could have more demanding exercises.

by محمد أ

2019年6月4日

Course is easy and straightforward, no excessive effort is needed to complete it.

by Long C

2021年12月22日

It is hard to get peer review due to lack of students, but the content is good.

by Prakash C

2020年5月14日

A goto course if required concise and fast understanding of unix command line.

by Tyler S

2020年1月27日

Strong logical progression in teaching and well-developed training exercises.

by Jiazhi G

2017年9月8日

Simple and clear materials for self-learning basic Unix and Bash programming.

by Dhruvak

2019年5月20日

Material was great. However, last assignment instructions were not clear.

by Dmitry B

2018年11月6日

Good and well-paced course. I'd like to see more Unix and less clouds.

by Deleted A

2018年5月21日

All very good. Week 4 is too much work compared to other weeks

by Sharad K

2018年2月25日

It is the best online course with effective assignments !

by Ashkan R

2017年12月29日

Easy to cope and very enjoyable hands-on style course.

by Arunagiri S

2020年6月25日

Code review comments should be in specific.

by Surinder R

2017年12月19日

This is a good course for a level2 beginner