Chevron Left
The Unix Workbench に戻る

ジョンズ・ホプキンズ大学(Johns Hopkins University) による The Unix Workbench の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
1,238件の評価
377件のレビュー

コースについて

Unix forms a foundation that is often very helpful for accomplishing other goals you might have for you and your computer, whether that goal is running a business, writing a book, curing disease, or creating the next great app. The means to these goals are sometimes carried out by writing software. Software can’t be mined out of the ground, nor can software seeds be planted in spring to harvest by autumn. Software isn’t produced in factories on an assembly line. Software is a hand-made, often bespoke good. If a software developer is an artisan, then Unix is their workbench. Unix provides an essential and simple set of tools in a distraction-free environment. Even if you’re not a software developer learning Unix can open you up to new methods of thinking and novel ways to scale your ideas. This course is intended for folks who are new to programming and new to Unix-like operating systems like macOS and Linux distributions like Ubuntu. Most of the technologies discussed in this course will be accessed via a command line interface. Command line interfaces can seem alien at first, so this course attempts to draw parallels between using the command line and actions that you would normally take while using your mouse and keyboard. You’ll also learn how to write little pieces of software in a programming language called Bash, which allows you to connect together the tools we’ll discuss. My hope is that by the end of this course you be able to use different Unix tools as if they’re interconnecting Lego bricks....

人気のレビュー

RW
2020年4月29日

This is a very friendly step-by-step guide to Unix for beginners, it helps to build a solid foundation, and the exercises are designed to explore more about what has been introduced in the course.

KS
2018年1月28日

A wonderful course! Answered so many questions I had and gave me a solid background in Git, Bash, makefiles, and working from the cloud. I will definitely be using these skills in my job search!

フィルター:

The Unix Workbench: 351 - 371 / 371 レビュー

by Viswanadh

2020年9月16日

good course for beginners.

by Alberto J A C

2019年12月21日

Basic course. Very useful

by Pradyumna K R

2018年7月16日

It contains only reading.

by Rohit J

2019年4月2日

good add more content

by GOLI H K

2020年4月8日

goog course

by M A B

2018年11月26日

Excellent.

by Swaraj S N 1

2020年6月3日

good one

by Pratima S

2019年8月19日

like

by Ugo N

2017年8月13日

This course is very boring. But teaches you how to use Bash Shell.

I'm very disappointed and sad at this moment actually, because I want to move on to do other courses but this course is standing in the way of my progress. I just can't seem to get over the last few lectures of week 3. The form of teaching is not enjoyable enough to come back to the material, although what you learn is actually viable.

I have to stomach it and get through this course as quickly as possible, cause the mere thought of coming to it bothers my brain.

Overall, do it if you need to.

by Bart M

2020年4月13日

This course is completely based on the book. There are very few instructional videos, most of the course consists of reading material. I learned a lot, but just wish there were more instructional videos and less reading material.

by Anthony A

2019年3月25日

You need videos, not enough and all reading here, although it was the easiest course I've even started and completed. Took less than 1 day to complete and pass.

by Jessie

2020年2月21日

Good if you've never worked with Linux/Unix before, very elementary. Some of the questions on one of the quizzes require wrong answers.

by Ahmed M A M M

2019年1月14日

The studying material demonstration is not fit for everyone and I see that it needs more explaining video from an instructor.

by Ivan T

2020年6月28日

Pretty average. Would advise to pursue a Linux Foundation course. Or use linuxzoo.net

by Thomas L

2019年1月27日

It's helpful if you want to know a thing or two about Bash.

by 李锐

2017年8月13日

内容还行,就跟自己看书一样。作为一个中国人,还是有很多不方便的地方。

总的来说还可以吧

by Christopher G

2020年11月9日

Instructions for setting up the Unix environment on my Windows laptop were limited and didn't convey the challenges in setting it up. Commands don't always work as advertised, e.g., "make". I'm guessing that's a result of running Ubuntu in Windows 10 but I can't tell. I identified a potential solution but "sudo" won't accept my password so I wasn't able to attempt it. It's just been one annoyance after another. I imagine there are solutions for problems I've encountered but when basic operations don't work right it kills my enthusiasm for continuing with the course. I'm done with it.

by Stefan M

2020年6月28日

Very basic. The git topic felt like not belonging to the course. The video were purely recorded.

by Milad V

2019年3月2日

in my opinion some concepts is not described very well...

by aakriti k

2020年12月17日

For the contents I will give 5.It was more of reading and less of talking. It would have been better if it was explained with example video to make the understanding more clear.Sadly, the policy in this course of reviewing by other members is somewhat stagnant and not pleasant and this is a thing which I hate about this course, you complete from your end but it will show In progress that means there is no difference between people who passed the tests and people who don't.

by Jason J

2020年12月15日

When you get to week 2 and there are questions about 2 text files that you are just magically supposed to have, even though no links have ever been provided, and you search the forums and see students asking where they are in 2017, and still there are no links in 2020, you realize this is an abandoned course and is not worth your time or mine.