Chevron Left
The Unix Workbench に戻る

ジョンズ・ホプキンズ大学(Johns Hopkins University) による The Unix Workbench の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
1,249件の評価
383件のレビュー

コースについて

Unix forms a foundation that is often very helpful for accomplishing other goals you might have for you and your computer, whether that goal is running a business, writing a book, curing disease, or creating the next great app. The means to these goals are sometimes carried out by writing software. Software can’t be mined out of the ground, nor can software seeds be planted in spring to harvest by autumn. Software isn’t produced in factories on an assembly line. Software is a hand-made, often bespoke good. If a software developer is an artisan, then Unix is their workbench. Unix provides an essential and simple set of tools in a distraction-free environment. Even if you’re not a software developer learning Unix can open you up to new methods of thinking and novel ways to scale your ideas. This course is intended for folks who are new to programming and new to Unix-like operating systems like macOS and Linux distributions like Ubuntu. Most of the technologies discussed in this course will be accessed via a command line interface. Command line interfaces can seem alien at first, so this course attempts to draw parallels between using the command line and actions that you would normally take while using your mouse and keyboard. You’ll also learn how to write little pieces of software in a programming language called Bash, which allows you to connect together the tools we’ll discuss. My hope is that by the end of this course you be able to use different Unix tools as if they’re interconnecting Lego bricks....

人気のレビュー

RW
2020年4月29日

This is a very friendly step-by-step guide to Unix for beginners, it helps to build a solid foundation, and the exercises are designed to explore more about what has been introduced in the course.

KS
2018年1月28日

A wonderful course! Answered so many questions I had and gave me a solid background in Git, Bash, makefiles, and working from the cloud. I will definitely be using these skills in my job search!

フィルター:

The Unix Workbench: 51 - 75 / 377 レビュー

by Zhengguan L

2018年11月20日

Very good overall, I will give it 5 starts!!!

But small advice, since it is written in markdown, I hope we can use code blocks to make the keywords like unix command stand out which can help us easier to find it and give more clear context structure.

by Rodrigo

2019年11月21日

Very straight forward course that teaches you the basics of Linux, Git and Cloud. After this course Linux becomes easy to use and you can start learning more advance commands. I would recommend this course for those that want to start using Linux.

by Vipul G

2018年1月26日

Not only the course covered the Linux from basic to advanced but also gave a brief insight on cloud computing as well as GitHub which proved essentially useful and practical giving it an edge industrially over other courses. Thanks Sean Kross! :)

by Darshankumar H

2020年5月30日

Very good course to learn all major topics of UNIX. This also focuses on GitHub and Cloud, which are really important for any developers. I really liked the given peer graded assignment, If possible please consider to add it in every week.

by widraugr

2020年6月10日

Давно хотел более подробно изучить Bash, и в этом достаточно не плохо помог этот курс. Очень понравилась последовательность подачи материала, темы связаны между собой. Единственное, хотелось бы видеть больше видео материала с примерами.

by Ben B

2019年5月27日

Excellent! Peer review was a great first experience, but very worthwhile to look at other's work after thinking hard about the problem myself. Very well structured - and I now feel confident on cloud computers, bash, and UNIX/GitHub.

by Steven B C

2020年4月10日

I am a retired broadcast engineer. I never worked in IT or programming, but I have used Linux at home for many years. This is a great course for Linux users that want to know more about Linux, Github and the cloud. Great course!

by Sunil S

2019年4月24日

Overall, the course was well structured and easy to understand. The mentors reply regularly to any questions posted in the discussion forums. A wonderful learning experience that introduces you to the command-line interface.

by Vladimir O

2017年10月12日

Thanks you for your curse, it was very helpful for me.

Plus: Classes about GitHub

Minus: Overview does not contain check that the script is working fine, I mean some scripts failed if a user tries to enter invalid information.

by Keenal S

2020年5月11日

I like how the discussion forum was so helpful and I was getting my questions answered within a day. The content is great, informative and to the point. The exercises and projects are great as well. Loved the course!

by sonam j

2020年12月30日

this course is very useful for upgrading your skills for UNIX & LINUX. but on the completion, I did not receive my certificate.

Instead it is asking to purchase the course and it is free of cost for my organisation.

by Nikolay M

2018年5月15日

Great introduction to get to speed fast. I didn't know anything about command prompt, terminal, bash and Git before starting the course, and I have mastered it after completing the course. Highly recommended.

by Marshall

2020年1月9日

My only complaint is that there are a few typos in the course instructions that are not in the e-book. Other than that, this is a great course for beginners that offers many suggestions for further learning.

by Jerome C

2017年11月8日

Very good class! I learned so much stuff about how to manipulate files, write scripts to automate actions on my "file explorer", and some basics about using a remote server. The course is very entertaining.

by Carlos A

2018年1月2日

Nice course to get started. Most of the time when you might think "hmm, but what if..." you just keep reading and you will get the answer. I liked the course format and the selected examples. Thank you :)

by Vũ Q H

2019年5月20日

I really want to learn Unix and Git for a long time but I was struggled with finding a good resource to learn. Thanks to Coursera and John Hopkins University, this course gives me what i really expect to

by Pieter F P

2018年6月7日

Very good course. I had a fair working knowledge to begin with, but the course expanded my understanding and skills to where I can actively apply them in my work. It comes highly recommended.

by Dejan M

2020年5月10日

Even though I had some Unix background before, the course helped me to significantly improve my understanding of Unix. Thanks to whole team for providing this beautiful learning material.

by Каранько А С

2020年4月17日

I have warm feeling about this course. I received basic knowledge of unix commands, bash programming, Git tool. And practice lessons helped me to increase undestanding of this things.

by Ajeetkumar V

2017年12月31日

Nice content to get you started with Unix and it's power. It would have been good if it would have covered symbolic links and file structure. those are anyway covered in the book

by Gerardo L

2020年7月22日

The course seemed excellent to me, it is clear that it is an introduction to Unix, but throughout it I have been able to acquire a good command of the console. I recommend it!

by Anirban G

2020年11月6日

Fantastic course. No videos, just casual reading which I liked very much, easily understandable code snippets and commands, very useful, very informative. Was a pleasure :)

by Prakhar T

2019年5月26日

The course was really interactive. It was a fun experience.

Would have been better if you had provided the learning experience in visual form rather readable.

Anyways Kudos!

by Priyanshu T

2019年9月1日

Thanks to this course I was able to learn git. Git really saved me when I was doing my Qt assignments cause sometimes it was really difficult to find what broke the code.

by Aneesh R

2020年6月12日

Amazing course, the course content is very clear. There are many linked resources for practising as well

Suggestion: Could add a few explanatory videos but not necessary