Chevron Left
The Unix Workbench に戻る

ジョンズ・ホプキンズ大学(Johns Hopkins University) による The Unix Workbench の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
827件の評価
250件のレビュー

コースについて

Unix forms a foundation that is often very helpful for accomplishing other goals you might have for you and your computer, whether that goal is running a business, writing a book, curing disease, or creating the next great app. The means to these goals are sometimes carried out by writing software. Software can’t be mined out of the ground, nor can software seeds be planted in spring to harvest by autumn. Software isn’t produced in factories on an assembly line. Software is a hand-made, often bespoke good. If a software developer is an artisan, then Unix is their workbench. Unix provides an essential and simple set of tools in a distraction-free environment. Even if you’re not a software developer learning Unix can open you up to new methods of thinking and novel ways to scale your ideas. This course is intended for folks who are new to programming and new to Unix-like operating systems like macOS and Linux distributions like Ubuntu. Most of the technologies discussed in this course will be accessed via a command line interface. Command line interfaces can seem alien at first, so this course attempts to draw parallels between using the command line and actions that you would normally take while using your mouse and keyboard. You’ll also learn how to write little pieces of software in a programming language called Bash, which allows you to connect together the tools we’ll discuss. My hope is that by the end of this course you be able to use different Unix tools as if they’re interconnecting Lego bricks....

人気のレビュー

RW

Apr 30, 2020

This is a very friendly step-by-step guide to Unix for beginners, it helps to build a solid foundation, and the exercises are designed to explore more about what has been introduced in the course.

KS

Jan 29, 2018

A wonderful course! Answered so many questions I had and gave me a solid background in Git, Bash, makefiles, and working from the cloud. I will definitely be using these skills in my job search!

フィルター:

The Unix Workbench: 201 - 225 / 248 レビュー

by Achuthan R V

May 20, 2020

I would have preferred more video classes to explain the tools as opposed to texts. Further, separate modules on the vi editor, sed and awk utilities could have also been included as part of the course content. The exercises were good but an extra peer-reviewed assignment (on other Week 3 topics) would have been helpful.

by Huajun Z

Jan 16, 2018

It's a very useful course, and helped me to code some simple bash programs, without which my current project would be very laborious. A small piece of suggestion is that content for each week can be further optimized, as the week3 and week4 contents are a bit too much, and week1 is a bit too little.

by John H

Aug 25, 2017

Well paced intro to shell scripting and bash. Could use a little more video and discussion beyond the "text" for the module. However, this is early in the life of the course so perhaps these can be added.

It would be good to have a follow-up module with more make, Git and other areas! Thanks.

by Enpei L

Apr 11, 2019

I chose to take this course as reading manuals is boring. The course is nice in the sense that it gives practicals that you can do and get yourself familiar with the commands. On the other side, the videos are not what I expected and not so useful to have anyways.

by Gautam K

Dec 24, 2017

It was very good course designed for beginner in Unix. Thanks a lot for this. I was expecting a good hands on assignment at each week. The course could be much better if it would have included some more details in all the topics covered.

by Rob C

Sep 10, 2018

Really interesting course and a good introduction to shell programming. I did find the learning curve was a little uneven between weeks (1 and 2 were took almost no time, but some quirks in week 3 made it take much longer).

by Sougata G

Dec 18, 2017

Fantastic book for beginners as well as people who haven't worked on Unix for a long time. Brush up and get going. Very lucid presentation ; gitHub lessons were an additional plus

by Sara A

Oct 11, 2018

A very good course!

Before taking this course, I was a little worried to work with Linux. But now I really feel more comfortable with it.

Thanks to the instructor for his efforts.

by Edgardo S

Apr 22, 2018

I could not get the connection with digitalocean, becasue the page requested me to pay. I suggest to use a server propietary of coursera only for courses.

by Kyösti P

Mar 10, 2019

Excellent introductory course in to Unix and utilizing some of the basic command line functions as well as some of the progarmming structure basics.

by Kirulkar R B

Feb 20, 2018

I learn so many new commands from this course.

and one more important thing is basic standard skeleton of bash programming as well as git-hub basic.

by Roger C

Oct 29, 2017

It's very simple bash (my attention part!) tutorials, and I suggest the video teaching is much better than boring plain text.

by Bikarna P

Apr 12, 2020

I enjoyed the course. However, I would have enjoyed still more, if there were demos using videos rather than mere texts.

by Abhishek k

Jan 31, 2019

This course good for beginners...and helpful for learning git, linux bash shell and git.Thanks

by Francisco A d A e L

Oct 16, 2017

Excelent course! I am very fluent in R but never tried Unix. This was the perfect opportunity.

by Dharmesh S

Mar 03, 2018

The course is good for anyone trying to learn basics of UNIX and especially the GIT command

by Sajjad B S

Feb 28, 2018

The Bash Programming Sections Could Have Been More Detailed.

Everything Else Is All Right.

by Miguel F

Sep 07, 2017

Very good introduction to the command line i wish that could have more demanding exercises.

by محمد أ ع ا م ك

Jun 04, 2019

Course is easy and straightforward, no excessive effort is needed to complete it.

by Prakash C

May 14, 2020

A goto course if required concise and fast understanding of unix command line.

by Tyler S

Jan 27, 2020

Strong logical progression in teaching and well-developed training exercises.

by Jiazhi G

Sep 08, 2017

Simple and clear materials for self-learning basic Unix and Bash programming.

by Dhruvak

May 20, 2019

Material was great. However, last assignment instructions were not clear.

by Dmitry B

Nov 06, 2018

Good and well-paced course. I'd like to see more Unix and less clouds.

by Deleted A

May 21, 2018

All very good. Week 4 is too much work compared to other weeks