Chevron Left
Unraveling the Cycling City に戻る

アムステルダム大学(University of Amsterdam) による Unraveling the Cycling City の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
92件の評価
46件のレビュー

コースについて

Obscured by its apparent simplicity, cycling is a complex phenomenon. Being an almost perfect human-machine hybrid, cycling is deeply rooted in a plethora of socio-technological systems. Around the world cycling is embraced as an important ingredient to tackle a wide variety of individual and societal challenges. The Netherlands is often seen as an ideal living lab, because cycling has retained its significant share of mobility throughout the country. At the same time, there are large differences in developments across time and space, that allows for a better understanding of potential causal relations. This is also increasingly recognized by (inter)national top tier researchers from many different academic fields. They are uncovering reciprocal relations of cycling with spatial, ecological, historical, social, cultural, economic, biological and political structures. Unraveling the Cycling City bundles the state-of-the-art knowledge that emerges from research and practice on the Dutch cycling system. As such, it provides an easily accessible platform to learn about important causes and effects, to open minds for the complexity of the entire system and to support group deliberations around the world....

人気のレビュー

AC

May 13, 2020

I have to say all the hours of this course are worth it and it was not a waste of time. This is what you want to know when you are surfing on reviews, right fellow student? I hope you enjoy it!

EC

Jan 23, 2020

Me encanta el curso, muy buena información y creo que todo el mundo debería saber sobre estos temas, el curso es muy dinámico y con muy buena información y gente muy preparada

フィルター:

Unraveling the Cycling City: 1 - 25 / 47 レビュー

by Michael L

Feb 17, 2020

Great course by the University of Amsterdam! Really recommend for everybody who is interested in multi modal approach to the biking city.

by Md F Y M Y

May 13, 2020

This is simply beyond than 'Seeing is Believing'. The course is well crafted with an interesting module through various mode of experience. As an urban planner who believes that cycling can make the change for better cities environment, this course teaches and shared more than Dutch experience and learning curve in advocating cycling, but also many 'unexplorable' aspects of the Dutch success story that we didn't know & understand before, like egalitarian culture, habitus and many more. Fully recommended!!!

by Vijay M

Apr 20, 2020

Unraveling the Cycling City is a well designed course with comprehensive research material, scholarly articles, educational videos and flexible schedule. Five weeks into this course and I have a renewed approach towards bicycle design, urban planning and better equipped to promote cycling in my city. This course is recommended for transport and city planners, policy makers, cycling advocates and people in the function of mobility and sustainability. Thank You Urban Cycling Institute and Coursera.

by Alistair M

Jan 28, 2020

As an engineer, this course worked very well in introducing me to different perspectives of cycling infrastructure, from urban planning to social science and history. Through the course, I was supported to reevaluate how I thought of cycling infrastructure and how it connects to the humanity of a city as well as connections with the built environment. Highly recommend to anyone wanting a deeper understanding of active travel in cities.

by Axel B

Feb 16, 2020

This course should be standard for everyone involded in city planning, urban design, road design and public transport planning. And highly recommended for everyone else that ever leaves their home. It is far more than an analysis of the urban cycling environment, but a challenge to everyone: What do we want life in our cities and on our streets to be like? And what are the questions we need to ask ourselves to get there?

by Karen S L

Feb 04, 2020

Very informative. The course really expanded my knowledge. I would ask you to please check the transcripts of your video presentations. The spoken word "spatial" was transcribed as "special", for example. I noticed several such transcriptions. It makes the course more difficult for learners whose first language is not English. I will certainly sign up for any further courses of this type from the Urban Cycling Institute.

by Ján R

Feb 17, 2020

Very useful course focused on non-technical aspect of cycle transprtation development - socio-economical aspects, historical sapects, urbanism and planning, connection to public transport, even some psychology and many more. Except two or three lessons (too theoretical to me, thus a little bit boring) the content was really interesting and I am sure I will use it a lot in my cycling decelopment work.

by Stephen H

May 09, 2020

I thought it was an excellent insight into the historical context and contemporary practices and gaps even within a highly developed cycling culture. If you have any interest in promoting cycling, or background in transportation, city planning and urban design, this may broaden your awareness of various topics and how they interconnect.

by Jessica A

May 14, 2020

This layout of this course was completely unique and extremely engaging. It really stimulates critical thinking about the interplay of various factors and how they can shape a cycling city. I personally really enjoyed this course and it inspired me to hopefully continue researching and learning about this.

by Roberta C

Apr 01, 2020

Un corso sulla città ciclabile osservata da diversi punti di vista - pianificazione, società, economia - e realizzato con la massima cura dall'Istituto di Ciclabilità Urbana dell'Università di Amsterdam, che raccoglie i migliori esperti al mondo su questo tema. Eccellente opportunità e grande ispirazione.

by Jesus d R P

May 26, 2020

Exceptional insights. An introductory course which looks far beyond the basic facts and opens a whole field of urban planning and desing.

Lessons are structured in a very entertaining and at the same time challenging way. All of the academic papers that are included as bibliography are extremely relevant.

by Niren J

May 06, 2020

A well structured course, providing great insights for cycling activists, planners or for anyone else desiring to learn about cycling experiences in urban areas. The course takes one through various perspectives, often through off beaten track when compared to the standard transport planning practices.

by Laurence P

May 05, 2020

Cours très riche, très intéressant avec de bonnes surprises. Il m'a permis de renforcer ma culture vélo et de l'ouvrir vers de nouvelles perspectives. Il m'a donné envie de retourner faire du vélo aux Pays-Bas pour observer les flux de cyclistes, pour expérimenter les aménagements.

by Robert C

Feb 12, 2020

Very insightful MOOC, i have learnt a lot and will take away new gained knowledge and thoughts to deliver into my professional and also personal life! All the personnel and staff that contributed to the content, have invaluable skills and knowledge ready to be soaked up.

by Maxime L

May 12, 2020

Cours d'une grande richesse. On peut alors imaginer la ville durable de demain, pensée pour l'homme (et le vélo) et non plus pour la voiture.

Great course. I can now think the tomorrow's sustainable city, build for person (and thus bikes) and no more fo cars.

by Anna W

May 08, 2020

A fascinating course which packs a lot into its four weeks, illuminating the complexity of cycling within historical, social and urban contexts and providing plenty of inspiration for further learning, both academically and in real life. Highly recommended.

by Rahul R

Feb 16, 2020

This course is a wonderful guided tour of the cycling world. Cycling is a cultural phenomenon which is entirely nonlinear and sometimes unpredictable due to its vast culture, dynamics and infrastructure that exists in cycling-friendly Dutch society. Thanks.

by Leonie T

Jan 23, 2020

Interesting topics and you'll get an insight of different points of views (inhabitants, urban planners, ...). The tasks are also do-able and the demanded time for all the exercises is exactly (if not even less) than described in the module.

by Richard S

May 08, 2020

A pretty good starter. Would be great if the University of Amsterdam could do something as a follow up, with more of the detail on what works and doesn’t work (maybe with credit) as their summer course is not running this year.

by Mauro A

May 12, 2020

Unraveling the Cycling City is a very complete and well structured course. It gives you the opportunity to learn learn the historical, sociological, urbanistical and cultural aspects of cycling in the Netherlands.

by Juliana B

May 13, 2020

Me encantó este curso, muy completo, muy dinámico y con una perspectiva muy acertada y muy novedosa para un tema que seguramente estará mandando la parada en los tiempos en los que estamos viviendo.

by Jiri G K

Feb 03, 2020

This course takes you deep into the cycling world, not only in Netherlands. I have enjoyed the materials provided, even some of the papers were hard to read or study, due to the academical language.

by Ana C

May 13, 2020

I have to say all the hours of this course are worth it and it was not a waste of time. This is what you want to know when you are surfing on reviews, right fellow student? I hope you enjoy it!

by Erick F C C

Jan 23, 2020

Me encanta el curso, muy buena información y creo que todo el mundo debería saber sobre estos temas, el curso es muy dinámico y con muy buena información y gente muy preparada

by Kathryn P

May 11, 2020

An excellent course on the components that underpin a city with an integrated cycling culture. Good mix of materials, Easy to access, well structure. Lots of ideas discussed