Chevron Left
Digital Product Management: Modern Fundamentals に戻る

バージニア大学(University of Virginia) による Digital Product Management: Modern Fundamentals の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
1,574件の評価
479件のレビュー

コースについて

Not so long ago, the job of product manager was about assessing market data, creating requirements, and managing the hand-off to sales/marketing. Maybe you’d talk to a customer somewhere in there and they’d tell you what features they wanted. But companies that manage product that way are dying. Being a product person today is a new game, and product managers are at the center of it. Today, particularly if your product is mostly digital, you might update it several times a day. Massive troves of data are available for making decisions and, at the same time, deep insights into customer motivation and experience are more important than ever. The job of the modern product manager is to charter a direction and create a successful working environment for all the actors involved in product success. It’s not a simple job or an easy job, but it is a meaningful job where you’ll be learning all the time. This course will help you along your learning journey and prepare you with the skills and perspective you need to: Create the actionable focus to successfully manage your product (week 1) Focus your work using modern product management methods (week 2) Manage new products and explore new product ideas (week 3) Manage and amplify existing products (week 4) This course is ideal for current product or general managers interested in today's modern product management methods. This course was developed with the generous support of the Batten Institute at UVA’s Darden School of Business. The Batten Institute’s mission is to improve the world through entrepreneurship and innovation: www.batteninstitute.org....

人気のレビュー

LK

Jun 25, 2018

I enjoyed this course very much! This course helped me ground myself in some of the core principles of product management and I'm confident that I will take what I've learned and put it into practice.

JH

Jun 26, 2019

Great overview of product management in a digital world. It was very accessible to a beginner like myself. There are a ton of great tools and process that are easily transferable to the real world.

フィルター:

Digital Product Management: Modern Fundamentals: 1 - 25 / 485 レビュー

by Aditya D

Mar 31, 2019

I felt like I went from only a vague understanding of what it means to be a product manager to a much more focussed view of what this role entails, common best practices, experiences from other product managers, etc. This course was great for helping me decide if I wanted to pursue Product Management as the next stage in my career seriously or not, and I am glad to say that I am hooked and when I become a successful product manager this course would have been instrumental in retrospect.

by Devesh V

Jul 19, 2017

Too much subjective information. Little info about tools, models and techniques. Overall ok

by Shiv A

May 14, 2019

I've been a Product Manager for a little over a year now, and have been working in the digital sector for over two. This is a really great course, consolidated much of my existing Product Management knowledge and built on other areas where I was lacking. I have taken notes to use as my 'cheat sheets' in my day to day Product Management to ensure I don't forget to implement things from it. Recommend!

by Claudia V

Mar 05, 2019

Overall it was a great course, even as an experienced technologist I liked reviewing some of these topics or hearing different takes on them. It's very hard to give due diligence to data science and analytics topics in 5 minute videos. I found the first part of week 4 hard to get through, it was just not as engaging as week 1 and week 2.

by Varun D

Dec 28, 2018

The first module was great, from there on a lot of the meat of the course is similar to Agile, but just packaged differently. They are a few noisy question in the MCQ too. It would be better value for money at a lower price point

by Saklen I D

Sep 02, 2019

it was mentioned that the course is for free but later after completion they are asking for money for certificate

by Vishesh A

Sep 27, 2019

The course is just amazing. Thanks Alex for a great course. I am now motivated to learn more about PM roles. If you are interested in this course you can go through the course review -

1. Course is addictive and contains a comprehensive introduction to core principles and exciting frameworks/methods used in Product Management.

2. Most interesting part is when the real Product Managers- Nir Eyal , David Chait, David Bland, Tamara Carleton, Ph.D., Eric Qi Dong ,Kiran Kadambi, Andrew Kritzer, Jim Rose , Greg Cohen and Nastia Root, talk about how they applied those core principles and frameworks in their use cases. Thanks everyone.

3. The major part of this course focusses on the importance of achieving customer desirability through agile methodologies.

4. Teaches some great frameworks such as Business Model Canvas, Hook Framework and many others. I really loved the idea of Hook Framework, Lean Startup and Corporate Innovation Pipeline.

5. Touches upon the importance of Design Thinking in developing great processes for identifying personas, problems, and alternatives.

by Minjeong K

Apr 19, 2020

I'm a digital designer who works for various client projects and sometimes plays a product manager role in these relationships. I found the course helpful for the frameworks it provides. A lot in software development is fluid that it can feel chaotic. This course helped structure my thinking, and I'll now be able to distinguish between chaos versus flexibility that is necessary to succeed. Outcome over Output is one of the takeaways I'll keep with me.

by Cole S

Sep 24, 2018

Great course, very educational and full of helpful information. The only thing that would benefit me would be some sort of step by step example of running a project from beginning to end. There are plenty of examples in the course on how to perform specific methodologies, but by the end I was really hoping for a big picture example of one project going through the whole process and using each tool along the way. Aside from that, an amazing course!

by Manish M

May 03, 2020

Thanks for producing and delivering this great product management fundamentals course. I really appreciate the effort to bring in experts. it really adds value when experts echo the ideas we learn here. Only one minor suggestion, some content goes really really very fast and hard to comprehend when message is between lines within lines. I suggest to articulate max 2 nested sentences in one. :)

by NITIN K

Dec 24, 2018

This course covers all the necessary and much required fundamentals about the product management. The course structure is very well balanced and covers all the aspects of product management. Thanks

by Sridhar R

May 20, 2019

I have been a product professional for more than 5 yearns now. Even at my experience level, I could gain a lot of insights and practical frameworks which I could use at my everyday work.

by Jose A

May 04, 2020

The course materials and content were very good. Much better than I expected, even from UVA. The facilitator and guest interviewees were generally very good to excellent and provided high-quality real-world perspective. Where this course lacked was collaboration and interaction with the instructor and other students. The student submissions are generally very low quality and there is little to no interaction. Creating a more structure participation model would go a long way in improving the course even further.

by Noel C S

Apr 16, 2020

Pros: Perfectly set and aligned.

Alex Cowan's way of presentation is engaging and does end up bringing a smile.

Guest Lectures, industry experts sessions are lit.

Cons: Quizzes have answer options which are ambiguous.

Highly Theoretical at some parts.

by Ogonna M

May 16, 2019

Great theoretical concepts. However i would have loved a more practical session with compulsory assignments

by Gabe S

Apr 27, 2020

The difficulty of the unit tests varies a lot. Unit 3 was extremely challenging compared to the others.

by Nir A

Mar 14, 2019

I wish there was an exercise and not just quizzes.

by ABHINIT P

Apr 10, 2018

The course was very practical in its approach with a lot of good sessions with industry practitioners. Also, I learnt a lot of industry & function-specific lingo, tools and frameworks that will help with a structures approach to product management. Alex as a faculty comes across as very friendly and humorous. However, I felt he could have made his lectures a little more structured rather than impromptu. All in all, the course serves as a great primer to product management and one needs to apply the concepts learnt in practice to gain fully from the course.

by Riccardo M

May 06, 2020

The course is interesting indeed, but lot of reviews here are right in pointing out that there are also some problems that could be addressed. TO be more specific 1) Lot of content and not enough depth, so lot of topics get only surfaced and not fully explained and understood: 2) This idea of the teacher to scribble/write on top of the slides while explaining is not the best, at least for me. The final slides are very hard to read, and the original slides are not enough cause they missed annotations; 3) More practical examples would have been beneficials

by Giuseppe B

Aug 15, 2019

I would have been appreciate more practical examples. For instance was a good idea to start from the week 1 to the week 4 to show about to manage a product from scratch in all the steps

by jonathan, m d B

Jan 29, 2019

All the quizz questions are vague and the "right" answers are debatable.

by Jean A

Dec 05, 2019

Great introduction to the current world of Digital Product Management. Appreciated the examples, such as the chicken coop company, and the HR/Hiring application. Most of the speakers were great, although I would've appreciated if they shared more real life examples, instead of big picture theory (which tended to be redundant against the information already taught throughout the course). Professor Cowan has a great personality, which made it very easy to watch the lectures. Overall, I am very happy I took the course, for I feel that I have a better foundation on Digital Product Management, which will help me continue learning more about Product Management without feeling overwhelmed.

by Andy

Jul 26, 2018

This was a terrific introduction and explanation of recent concepts and methods which a product manager can use to be much more effective in his or her role. Alex Cowan did an outstanding job in presenting the information clearly and in keeping me engaged. For the most part, the guest speakers were very informative. I have not checked the repository of the content, so cannot speak to that (another comment may be forthcoming... ) I say this because I would like the opportunity to refer to the documentation from time to time, to refresh my memory, when needed. Really enjoyed it, and learning the material.

by Abdul M K

Aug 14, 2017

I want to truly thank Mr. Alex Cowan for carving out such a nice course for all the product managers and aspiring ones as well. The course content is very good and if any one has been in the industry and worked as a product manager then he / she can relate to it very well. The way Alex has explained the concepts and how we need to implement them is of immense importance for any product manager in their daily product management related work activities. I will recommend this course to all the aspiring product managers as well as those who are already practicing product management.

by Kumaraswamy D

May 02, 2020

Being a founder of 2 startups and author of 2 technical books Alex brings experience to this course along with greatly formulated content which covers principles, practices, processes, frameworks which are being used in the industry. Short interviews with industry experts give insights to real time practices

With this Course i am able to get the fundamental knowledge of core principles in all the aspects of product management. Since the content is dense, as Alex suggests need to put them to practice one at a time to get acquainted with.