Chevron Left
Story and Narrative Development for Video Games に戻る

カリフォルニア芸術大学(California Institute of the Arts) による Story and Narrative Development for Video Games の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
867件の評価
212件のレビュー

コースについて

In this course, you will examine how storytelling acts as a vital mechanism for driving video gameplay forward. Looking at several historical and contemporary games, you will be asked to evaluate and interpret different story styles with the goal of identifying themes and procedures for your own game ideas. We'll examine traditional narrative story processes, such as three-act structure, and how they fit into game story flows and the strategic elements of gameplay. Ultimately, you will learn how to define character, setting, and structure to create a compelling game concept....

人気のレビュー

DA

Nov 07, 2017

This is so helpful. It covers all the essentials of developing a good story, applicable in any form of media, then it focuses on converting the story to a game by adding interactive gameplay elements.

RB

Feb 24, 2016

I am glad that I have chosen to sign up to this course. It has open up my vision to a whole new world. Thanks so very much. The professor is engaging and the course content is fascinating.

フィルター:

Story and Narrative Development for Video Games: 151 - 175 / 202 レビュー

by Christian T

May 05, 2016

Amazing.

by Kevin

Jan 28, 2016

Perfect!

by Milos J

Apr 10, 2016

Awesome

by Babaeva N V

May 13, 2020

Super!

by Licinio S

Mar 19, 2018

great!

by Xavior T

Nov 18, 2015

good

by Jenny F

Sep 23, 2016

I feel that the course was great but I felt confused on the last assignment, we covered a lot of things during the last week but then I was unsure if I should've applied that on our assignment... Also I'm not sure if it is possible but if we could have a chance to ask the teacher questions would be great. I know that there is a lot of people going this courses and maybe it is not possible but still there are things that I feel only the teacher could answer. Overall the course was good :)

by Kilian S

Jun 30, 2020

The course material was fine, I just imagined a bigger focus on narrative development *in videogames* not narrative development in general, which is like 70% of the course. I woudlve been interested in studying, how narrative design and mechanical design need to come together in video games.

I like the tasks that you get at the end of each week. They are fun and modular, allowing for little work, or quite the deep dive into the task, depending on what you want.

by Paul R

May 22, 2016

Enjoyable content and presentation but the coarse seemed very short compared to others I've taken. Not a criticism but rather and observation. If it was short on purpose that is one thing but I believe there is more to be said on this topic fundamentally and hope to see this course expanded or a second one produced.

I would like to that those involved int its creation.

by Julian A

Oct 30, 2018

I love the material on this course, it really helps to improve. However, the peer evaluation system is the worse option for this course, only one person evaluates your work, and sometimes you must ask for help for the evaluation because no one will do it for default as its supposed to happen. Coursera needs to find a solution for this.

by sean o

Jul 16, 2017

At the end of the course I'm happy with it. I learnt about structure of stories and how they can be implemented in games, how to help people connect emotionally with a story and characters. I think the beginning was a little weak. I didn't like any of the example stories and I know there are a lot of great stories out there.

by Marcus J

Jul 08, 2020

This course taught me a lot of important story-writing essentials and brainstorming techniques. However, it didn't really shift into video game storytelling and what makes that medium different until the very last project. I feel like the course could have gone more in depth about writing techniques specific to video games.

by Tania A

Nov 22, 2015

The contents were comprehensive, and the assignments helped reinforce the theory. By using pre-existing references to other works, they were tighter, which I think is useful to focus on the objectives set for a particular week. Some additional creative freedom would also have been interesting.

by Mehmet Y

Nov 25, 2015

Assignments are good-intended, but I am not sure how helpful they are, as they are really boring and unnecessarily time-consuming. I do not know how could one make them better. In contrast, the videos are really good, they are worth your time even if you know your way around these things.

by Sarah P

Nov 19, 2015

I really enjoyed this course, The only thing I would have liked to have learned more about was how to do Game Design Documents and how they are made. I would have liked to have seen more examples as well as how to do these examples as well.

Thank you, I learned a lot.

Sarah Prewitt

by VANSH P

Jul 12, 2020

The course is really good and really educational and i would recommend people about it. Though the thing that i didn't like was that i wanted some more examples for different types of games.

by Alexey Z

Mar 14, 2018

A very good course to a beginner with no education in script-writing. A good relation to game industry. Interesting methods of organizing your work. Good cooperation with classmates

by Ramon M L

Mar 09, 2016

I learned good stuff. i gave four star because there could be more content some parts were written instead of a lecture. But i will recommend this course.

by Wafa' B

Mar 28, 2019

I really enjoyed this course and the instructors materials, I just wish we were given the chance to work on our own games in the assignments.

by Mateus F

Apr 02, 2016

Makes you think. Interesting for any developer or anyone intested in narratives as a whole. Really nice exercises and lists too!

by John L N d S

Oct 28, 2016

It was a great course and I`ve learned a lot with him!

I recommend for all student who want to get start on game design area.

by Marina Z

Aug 01, 2016

Course materials are a little bit obvious, but I really like the original version of The Shooter and Jane's personality

by Jorge T

May 16, 2016

The course is fun, but as the previous part of the specialization a bit simple for what it charges for the certificate.

by Paul B

Dec 04, 2015

Fun, interesting, good pacing and case studies. Instructor was enthusiastic, knowledgeable and presented material well.

by Eduardo B M

Jul 30, 2019

This really makes you work hard. Lots of writings. Definitely a good way to practice how to create a Game document.