Chevron Left
Story and Narrative Development for Video Games に戻る

カリフォルニア芸術大学(California Institute of the Arts) による Story and Narrative Development for Video Games の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
1,053件の評価
261件のレビュー

コースについて

In this course, you will examine how storytelling acts as a vital mechanism for driving video gameplay forward. Looking at several historical and contemporary games, you will be asked to evaluate and interpret different story styles with the goal of identifying themes and procedures for your own game ideas. We'll examine traditional narrative story processes, such as three-act structure, and how they fit into game story flows and the strategic elements of gameplay. Ultimately, you will learn how to define character, setting, and structure to create a compelling game concept....

人気のレビュー

CS

2015年12月30日

This is my favorite course ever. Dariush teaches in such an engaging way and it shows you how to have a creative yet objective and analyzed mindset for creating a story and narrative for a Video Game.

DA

2017年11月6日

This is so helpful. It covers all the essentials of developing a good story, applicable in any form of media, then it focuses on converting the story to a game by adding interactive gameplay elements.

フィルター:

Story and Narrative Development for Video Games: 201 - 225 / 256 レビュー

by Jenny F

2016年9月23日

I feel that the course was great but I felt confused on the last assignment, we covered a lot of things during the last week but then I was unsure if I should've applied that on our assignment... Also I'm not sure if it is possible but if we could have a chance to ask the teacher questions would be great. I know that there is a lot of people going this courses and maybe it is not possible but still there are things that I feel only the teacher could answer. Overall the course was good :)

by Kilian S

2020年6月30日

The course material was fine, I just imagined a bigger focus on narrative development *in videogames* not narrative development in general, which is like 70% of the course. I woudlve been interested in studying, how narrative design and mechanical design need to come together in video games.

I like the tasks that you get at the end of each week. They are fun and modular, allowing for little work, or quite the deep dive into the task, depending on what you want.

by Tsur D

2020年10月3日

3 first weeks were pretty good, I oonly felt like there was not enough examples and reading materials, I also felt that the 4th week was too condense and unclear i went throguh the 4th week materials twice and didn't get a good sense of what are is expected of us in the last submission.. i improvised as best as i can but i belive the outcome was not good enough, we were suppossed to gamify the story but the instructions were not clear enogh on the how.

by Paul R

2016年5月22日

Enjoyable content and presentation but the coarse seemed very short compared to others I've taken. Not a criticism but rather and observation. If it was short on purpose that is one thing but I believe there is more to be said on this topic fundamentally and hope to see this course expanded or a second one produced.

I would like to that those involved int its creation.

by Julian A

2018年10月29日

I love the material on this course, it really helps to improve. However, the peer evaluation system is the worse option for this course, only one person evaluates your work, and sometimes you must ask for help for the evaluation because no one will do it for default as its supposed to happen. Coursera needs to find a solution for this.

by sean o

2017年7月15日

At the end of the course I'm happy with it. I learnt about structure of stories and how they can be implemented in games, how to help people connect emotionally with a story and characters. I think the beginning was a little weak. I didn't like any of the example stories and I know there are a lot of great stories out there.

by Marcus J

2020年7月7日

This course taught me a lot of important story-writing essentials and brainstorming techniques. However, it didn't really shift into video game storytelling and what makes that medium different until the very last project. I feel like the course could have gone more in depth about writing techniques specific to video games.

by Tania A

2015年11月22日

The contents were comprehensive, and the assignments helped reinforce the theory. By using pre-existing references to other works, they were tighter, which I think is useful to focus on the objectives set for a particular week. Some additional creative freedom would also have been interesting.

by Mehmet Y

2015年11月25日

Assignments are good-intended, but I am not sure how helpful they are, as they are really boring and unnecessarily time-consuming. I do not know how could one make them better. In contrast, the videos are really good, they are worth your time even if you know your way around these things.

by Sarah P

2015年11月19日

I really enjoyed this course, The only thing I would have liked to have learned more about was how to do Game Design Documents and how they are made. I would have liked to have seen more examples as well as how to do these examples as well.

Thank you, I learned a lot.

Sarah Prewitt

by Juan U G C

2021年8月11日

it was good but i think more visual elements would have been pretty cool. Also more examples of official documents that they use in big studios, those are pretty cool but i would like some more.

by VANSH P

2020年7月12日

The course is really good and really educational and i would recommend people about it. Though the thing that i didn't like was that i wanted some more examples for different types of games.

by Alexey Z

2018年3月14日

A very good course to a beginner with no education in script-writing. A good relation to game industry. Interesting methods of organizing your work. Good cooperation with classmates

by Ramon M L

2016年3月9日

I learned good stuff. i gave four star because there could be more content some parts were written instead of a lecture. But i will recommend this course.

by Büşra T

2021年11月14日

It was an enjoyable course. maybe better ideas could be given on how to start writing the story because sometimes you don't know where to start.

by W B

2019年3月28日

I really enjoyed this course and the instructors materials, I just wish we were given the chance to work on our own games in the assignments.

by Mateus F

2016年4月2日

Makes you think. Interesting for any developer or anyone intested in narratives as a whole. Really nice exercises and lists too!

by John L N d S

2016年10月28日

It was a great course and I`ve learned a lot with him!

I recommend for all student who want to get start on game design area.

by Marina Z

2016年8月1日

Course materials are a little bit obvious, but I really like the original version of The Shooter and Jane's personality

by Jorge T

2016年5月16日

The course is fun, but as the previous part of the specialization a bit simple for what it charges for the certificate.

by Paul B

2015年12月4日

Fun, interesting, good pacing and case studies. Instructor was enthusiastic, knowledgeable and presented material well.

by Eduardo B M

2019年7月30日

This really makes you work hard. Lots of writings. Definitely a good way to practice how to create a Game document.

by Sergio C

2016年3月22日

I liked the course. To improve, could become more dynamic , but the teacher is to be congratulated .

by Elena S N

2020年8月3日

It is an excellent course, funny and interesting, but sometimes the content is too basic.

by E. C C

2017年8月14日

Great course for expanding your writing skills in relation to storytelling in games.