Chevron Left
Story and Narrative Development for Video Games に戻る

カリフォルニア芸術大学(California Institute of the Arts) による Story and Narrative Development for Video Games の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
1,074件の評価

コースについて

In this course, you will examine how storytelling acts as a vital mechanism for driving video gameplay forward. Looking at several historical and contemporary games, you will be asked to evaluate and interpret different story styles with the goal of identifying themes and procedures for your own game ideas. We'll examine traditional narrative story processes, such as three-act structure, and how they fit into game story flows and the strategic elements of gameplay. Ultimately, you will learn how to define character, setting, and structure to create a compelling game concept....

人気のレビュー

CS

2015年12月30日

This is my favorite course ever. Dariush teaches in such an engaging way and it shows you how to have a creative yet objective and analyzed mindset for creating a story and narrative for a Video Game.

DA

2017年11月6日

This is so helpful. It covers all the essentials of developing a good story, applicable in any form of media, then it focuses on converting the story to a game by adding interactive gameplay elements.

フィルター:

Story and Narrative Development for Video Games: 226 - 250 / 261 レビュー

by Paul B

2015年12月4日

Fun, interesting, good pacing and case studies. Instructor was enthusiastic, knowledgeable and presented material well.

by Eduardo B M

2019年7月30日

This really makes you work hard. Lots of writings. Definitely a good way to practice how to create a Game document.

by Sergio C

2016年3月22日

I liked the course. To improve, could become more dynamic , but the teacher is to be congratulated .

by Elena S N

2020年8月3日

It is an excellent course, funny and interesting, but sometimes the content is too basic.

by E. C C

2017年8月14日

Great course for expanding your writing skills in relation to storytelling in games.

by Dan R

2016年2月24日

This course gives actionable ideas about design characters and story lines.

by Antonia P C

2017年5月30日

I enjoyed a lot this course, showed quite well technics and tips to write

by Anirudh C

2018年12月17日

pretty interesting. so many aspects to learn about story writing.

by Carlo S C

2016年9月10日

A nice course, but there is lack of teachers participation.

by Angel A S M M

2021年6月2日

Curso para aprender a redactar historias y sus personajes

by Mikiodelg

2015年11月17日

Really nice way to know hot to present a Story!

by Andrea G A

2021年7月16日

Good course but a little bit less talking head

by Ruaan G

2018年11月30日

Best part of this specialization

by Samin M

2020年7月8日

Very informative.Helped me alot

by Oscar Z

2021年9月6日

A bit boring to write story.

by 万锦阳

2017年5月3日

The course was good!

by Petros K

2015年12月3日

quite enjoyable :)

by 19MSC13 J V

2021年10月22日

Challenging...

by Fernando B B

2017年9月29日

Great course!

by Alexis P C

2020年7月7日

Taking the Story and Narrative Development for Video Games have helped me gain a basic understanding of developing stories for video games, etc. I was fortunate enough to learn from the constructive feedback received from peers in the class, which helped me improve and expand on my ideas in the course assignments. This course helped me apply exercises introduced in the course to everyday life when watching movies and reading stories.

I'm giving 3/5 stars because again, the course mentors did not seem involved in students' questions posted on the discussion forums. I posted a question regarding an assignment's missing grade only for it to be answered a week later. Many students have posted questions on the discussion forums from previous courses and this one only for most left unanswered.

I've left a similar review regarding lack of involvement of course mentors, and I'm disappointed to leave another review about it again. When course mentors are actively involved, it helps us learners to understand course materials and make learning enjoyable when interacting with others.

by Shanna S

2019年3月19日

This course was a little bit a shock for me. It had no continuity with the previous one, which was kinda a pity. Also, I had a hard time with the last two homework of week 3 and week 4, since a ''story'' is imposed to you, and you have to re-write within that...I would have preferred that we did the same exercise with the kid story chosen in the first two lessons(week 1 and 2). I wouldn't recommend it if you have already experience with writing because it was very discouraging for me, I almost wanted to skip the course, but I want that specialization so I had to complete it. But if you don't have experience in writing at all, maybe it could help you because the teacher explains to you his method to help you find your ideas for building your narrative, and also for describing your characters and their motives etc.

by Brit T

2016年11月17日

I appreciate knowing more now than I did before about story writing. I know better now how to approach assessing a story and critiquing it, and I really want to work on a story of my own next!

Not going to lie, though, this course was difficult to immerse myself in simply because of the examples: I'm not into guns, not into muscle, not into violence, and every single example was either of men, or how a female's mission centered around the men in her life. If I could suggest a change in this course, it would be to consider all the different backgrounds of the people taking the course, and give examples that are more inclusive.

by amberlimshin

2020年12月27日

There were some insightful points and the instructor is clear and concise. The teachings were also made clearer by using actual written examples of games/stories. The reason for 3 stars is because the peer feedback is lacking. Maybe it's because this course requires more reading. People don't give critique or feedback. Just one-liners like "this is good" or "nothing to change". An important element of writing (especially for games) is feedback from others, which makes the feedback in this course frustrating.

by Vanessa S

2018年3月1日

I like that the instructions and lessons are easy to follow for a beginner. I am not a hardcore gamer but still I was able to understand the lessons and the examples given were quite helpful. What could be improved though is the Peer Review mechanics - I have submitted my assignment early but the review of my work came late. I don't want to pay for the course again in the next month, I really wanted to finish on time, but apparently that is not even in your control even if you submit on time.

by Laura R

2020年8月24日

Although I did enjoy the challenges proposed, the content was rather basic. I feel like the work we've done on week 1 and 2 where wasted as soon as week 3 came. My suggestion is to integrate all the challenges. I'd only suggest this course for real beginners.