Chevron Left
World Design for Video Games に戻る

カリフォルニア芸術大学(California Institute of the Arts) による World Design for Video Games の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.4
738件の評価

コースについて

Start creating your world. A game world is not just a backdrop for your game—be it minimal or detailed, contained or part of a much bigger universe, it provides the context for your player. Ultimately, a game world should feel alive and wholly unique to any player who will experience it. In this course, we will explore game worlds in existing games and study the art and influences that inform their themes and styles. We will also investigate key components of environment and level design as well as strategies designers use to define gameplay or advance it. We’ll also look at navigation and the elements that make your world as real (or unreal) as you want it to be. A weekly challenge will prompt you to explore styles and inspirations for possible game worlds, and you’ll learn effective ways to communicate your ideas from concepts to presentation-worthy proofs of concept....

人気のレビュー

SA

2019年9月20日

i really loved this course. it inspired me to be more innovative and think out of the box. it changed my mindset a lot. so thanks to my instructor and my peers. your words meant a lot to me.

JK

2020年9月10日

This is a fantastic course to run your imagination to it's top! You can built your own game world and show it to other students. The learning curve is definitely improving with this course!

フィルター:

World Design for Video Games: 151 - 175 / 185 レビュー

by Muhammad U

2017年4月10日

Simply Awesome.

by Rodrigo F C H

2021年7月1日

nice course

by mehar s

2020年4月22日

good

by Adrianna ( S

2022年7月9日

I​ found this the most disappointing class by far in the specialization. The instructor rambles on about various video game tropes, laying out every possible option for a world: "maybe there are villains! or maybe not. maybe your world is a spaceship! or, maybe it isn't." This isn't helpful analysis, or guidance on how to creatively bring these ideas in our own worlds—they're just observations of what's already out there, the same kind of observations you could get from any video game fan. If this course is every revisted and re-recorded, I hope the instructor holds off from just introducing ideas, and focuses instead on advice for how we land on them: less "colors affect your game design," because duh, of course they do, and more "here are some different ways to test and play with the colors of your game design"—because yeah, that's something I could work on. The other courses in this specialization are fantastic at this kind of teaching, and I wish this course lived up to their success.

by Julio d O J

2021年3月31日

Lectures are a bit on the vague side, and most doesn't dive too deep on the concepts. The tasks however are very thoughtful and guide you towards slowly crafting a coesive world. I think that major problem with the tasks is that, since they are peer reviewd and the reviewers are chosen at random, it becomes increasingly difficult to understand the coesion of the peers worlds, and the feedback on your own tasks also ends up getting increasingly vague with each week. There should be a sense of progression in the tasks, powered by each iteration.

by Piotr K

2021年4月5日

I think the course is good overall, and in some way explaining the idea of World Design. I liked the tasks and how they are explained. My rating is 3 as the instructor, unfortunately, didn't have a great way of expressing the excitement about the topic of World Design. In some moments it was hard for me to listen as everything was on one note, no punctuation, no articulation, etc.

by Francois B

2015年11月23日

I am all for short videos but here it is a little bit too short... Tehchnically there is about 1h of videos for the 4 weeks of this course and no real documentations to review.

Hence you get few pointers on how to design game wold for video games and really case studies in my opinion... A full review of one or two games would have been a great addition.

by Deborah M M

2015年12月10日

Short, simplistic. Could be done in a week. Very much a beginner's course for those who have not mindfully observed the game worlds in which they play. The student may come away with a few new ideas and the greatest value is in having peers review the homework assignments. Worth the time, if you quickly breeze through it.

by David M

2019年10月11日

There are are very useful tips and ideas in this class and I appreciated completing the assignments. I have a much better vision of my game world now than I did beforehand. However, the pace and vocabulary of the teacher was at times confusing or redundant, making the process of taking notes much more complicated.

by Travis A

2016年10月19日

The content from the instructor is very, very brief. Maybe this is just a simple introduction course but it also seems like the topics are covered in a very vague, abstract way with little exploration on a deeper level. The assignments are really good though, great projects for sparking the creative process.

by Marcus J

2020年8月1日

It's adequate for learning world-building concepts, though it doesn't really go into what makes the process different in video games until the last assignment. Be advised: the instructor has a thick accent that makes it hard to understand him at times.

by Kucherov A

2020年12月14日

It's not that bad, actually, just don't expect the lectures to be specific, like the ones from the previous courses. I really recommend doing the assignments, finish them first and then write everything you've found important.

by André W L O

2017年8月21日

to me, this course was a little obvious... one thing here, other there... it is not a bad course... but I expected a little more...

about the teacher, he is good, I like it (4 stars)... but the content is very "lightweight".

by Chandan B

2017年6月11日

The course is good for learning how to organize and visualize, however I was expecting some sketching assignments also. Such kind of assignment which actually helps the learner draw together a world bit by bit.

by Karl C R

2016年1月12日

Easy to follow and well-packed with good information and tips, but I would like to see some kind of quiz-function along the course to test the knowledge I've been learning.

by Francisco N

2015年12月28日

The course is fun but the content is too general. I like to know more methods and technics to develop a game world, considering genres, mechanics and gameplay options.

by Naila W

2020年6月2日

The instructure has language barrier and its making hard to understand, but week 2 and 3 and 4 has some really great homeworks and enlightment

by Juan C D M

2015年12月24日

The course is ok, but it doesn't give any certificate of completition for free users (something that many other course do give).

by Nuno F A C

2018年6月24日

Substitles are bad, it's hard to understand most of the times what is being said. Also, the narration could be better

by Andrey K

2015年12月21日

I wish the course would give me more structured information and examples of applications.

by Alvaro M

2016年5月24日

The assignments and theory are interesting enough to get you started on world design.

by Jaime R

2015年12月22日

Useful but as with the first course of the specialization very light on content

by Aditya z

2019年6月30日

getting a review in the peer grade assignment is so time cosuming

by Rafael R S R

2020年5月11日

The assignments are good, but the videos don't teach much.

by Daniel H G

2016年2月6日

it's okay,