Chevron Left
US Social Services Compared に戻る

コロンビア大学(Columbia University) による US Social Services Compared の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
86件の評価
26件のレビュー

コースについて

In all nations, social policy is a very large public investment. Course 1 will explore the size, structure, and outcomes of U.S. social policy and compare this policy to those of similar developed countries. The course will also probe the values this policy represents and the values debate regarding about how big our welfare state should be— in other words, how much of our education, housing, health, income support, and social services the government should supply and how much individuals should supply for themselves. This course addresses issues of power, oppression, and white supremacy. The course is part of a sequence in social policy that has an HONORS TRACK. This track will prepare the learner for masters-level work in policy, which involves reading the literature, writing concise summaries and probing critiques. Over the sequence the learner will develop a policy analysis that will create a foundation for professional policy analyst assignments....

人気のレビュー

TA
2019年9月26日

"US Social Services Compared" - I am hoping this course will help me out with a clear concept of US Social Services Compared. Thanks COURSERA for the such online access.

D
2020年6月21日

Excellent information and well presented. Love the honors section that provides an opportunity for further learning and feedback from peers.

フィルター:

US Social Services Compared: 1 - 25 / 26 レビュー

by Sarah G

2020年4月11日

The content is overall useful and is a good introduction to understanding the US welfare state. However, some of the quiz questions are unclear and occasionally do not reflect the content discussed in the course. Discussions are not very critical, I would have liked to have a greater centering of marginalised communities. The honours option seems a little excessively time-consuming.

by Sean L

2019年1月21日

The quality of the content is good for an introductory course. The high amount of typos in the slides is distracting when you're trying to take notes.

by Joy S

2019年1月17日

good info, instructor really quiet. had to use earphones

by Evaluation R

2019年12月11日

Dr. Robertson developed a great course. I was a little put off by Garfinkel. A few slides need to be edited a little bit because the errors are distracting and may be confusing for ELL e.g. venerable instead of vulnerable ... I learned quite a lot even though I have over a decade of experience working in Health & Human Services. THANK YOU!!!

by Leah B

2019年3月22日

very interesting and useful for my wider studies supporting my application to universities

by Hector O

2020年6月6日

Excellent Course! Better than the one I took on-campus for my MSW at another institution.

by Maite S P

2020年7月22日

The course was very informative, it definitely broaden my knowledge of Social Services in the US and other Countries. I would recommend my co-workers to take this course.

by Caroline R

2020年11月8日

This course presented a good overview of the basics of the U.S. welfare state, but in many cases, arguments were not presented in a way for students to critically engage with the coursework. I wish that there was greater opportunity for critical engagement, because I found some of the beliefs presented to be biased yet present

by Mohammad O A

2021年3月28日

This was a great course, content wise. The quizzes are very simple and do not require much critical thinking. The Honors Assignments, however, are rigorous and require in depth reading, preparation and writing.

There was a bit of delay in getting reviews for my assignments for this course. However, I was able to work things out with Coursera Help Desk and also Professor was kind enough to reply to my email. It worked out in the end and I got my Honors credit on the certificate!!

Content wise: the quality of the readings was top-notch, drawing from book chapters to journal papers to think tank reviews. I am so glad I took this course!

by Leslie W

2020年7月20日

This course taught me so much about the United States social welfare state and how it compares to other Welfare States. I was excited to review each new course as I learned a wealth of information that will assist me in my upcoming policy classes at Columbia this fall. A truly valuable source of information that was delivered in a highly comprehensible fashion. Thank you for creating this course!

by Tofail A

2019年9月27日

"US Social Services Compared" - I am hoping this course will help me out with a clear concept of US Social Services Compared. Thanks COURSERA for the such online access.

by Diana M

2020年6月22日

Excellent information and well presented. Love the honors section that provides an opportunity for further learning and feedback from peers.

by Mushtaq M G

2020年10月26日

It is very true encouraging step to enhance educational skills and knowledge by doing this course.

by Syam S A

2020年1月9日

Very informative. I am very new to Social Policy, so the grounding was very useful.

by Denise B

2021年2月12日

Excellent content. Valuables knowledge about US social policy and welfare system.

by Ruben C

2019年6月29日

Exceptional topics and Positive take-aways for our nations Welfare State

by Paulo R V P

2019年6月15日

Excellent course about the US welfare state in comparison with others.

by K L

2020年12月12日

I have a greater understanding of the State Welfare system.

by Diane H

2019年12月12日

Challenging class but also very informative!

by Robert B S M

2020年1月6日

Good course... thanks.

by Michael L B J

2020年8月17日

Un excelente curso.

by Codie J V

2020年5月14日

Excellent Material

by Suhmer F

2019年10月5日

Excellent

by Mona A A

2020年5月30日

GOOD

by Emerson O

2020年12月6日

This was a very good course, and I'm glad that I completed it. From Emerson Overton