Chevron Left
Whole genome sequencing of bacterial genomes - tools and applications に戻る

デンマーク工科大学(Technical University of Denmark(DTU)) による Whole genome sequencing of bacterial genomes - tools and applications の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
1,145件の評価
300件のレビュー

コースについて

This course will cover the topic of Whole genome sequencing (WGS) of bacterial genomes which is becoming more and more relevant for the medical sector. WGS technology and applications are high on international political agenda, as the classical methods are being replaced by WGS technology and therefore bioinformatic tools are extremely important for allowing the people working in this sector to be able to analyze the data and obtain results that can be interpreted and used for different purposes. The course will give the learners a basis to understand and be acquainted with WGS applications in surveillance of bacteria including species identification, typing and characterization of antimicrobial resistance and virulence traits as well as plasmid characterization. It will also give the opportunity to learners to learn about online tools and what they can be used for through demonstrations on how to use some of these tools and exercises to be solved by learners with use of freely available WGS analysis tools . By the end of this course you should be able to: 1. Describe the general Principles in typing of Bacteria 2. Give examples of the applications of Whole Genome Sequencing to Surveillance of bacterial pathogens and antimicrobial resistance 3. Apply genomic tools for sub-typing and surveillance 4. Define the concept of Next-Generation Sequencing and describe the sequencing data from NGS 5. Describe how to do de novo assembly from raw reads to contigs 6. Enumerate the methods behind the tools for species identification, MLST typing and resistance gene detection 7. Apply the tools for species identification, MLST typing and resistance gene detection in real cases of other bacterial and pathogen genomes. 8. Describe the methods behind the tools for Salmonella and E.coli typing, plasmid replicon detection and plasmid typing 9. Utilize the tools for Salmonella and E.coli typing, plasmid replicon detection and plasmid typing in real cases of other bacterial and pathogen genomes. 10. Explain the concept and be able to use the integrated bacterial analysis pipeline for batch analysis and typing of genomic data 11. Demonstrate how to construct phylogenetic tree based on SNPs 12. Apply the phylogenetic tool to construct phylogenetic trees and explain the relatedness of bacterial or pathogen strains 13. Describe how to create your own sequence database 14. Utilize the MyDbFinder tool to detect genetic markers of interest from whole genome sequencing...

人気のレビュー

AP

2020年7月19日

Thank you very much for this course through which i learnt basic handling of bioinformatics tools and concepts of WGS. This will help me a lot while pursuing my PhD research work in my field.

MB

2019年6月9日

Excellent course with a wealth of information about tools and applications of whole genome sequencing. Presented in a very lucid and interesting manner, very crispy and simplified course.

フィルター:

Whole genome sequencing of bacterial genomes - tools and applications: 226 - 250 / 305 レビュー

by Maria S

2018年1月5日

Very good overview of the different CGE tools available for analysis of WGS bacterial genome data. Although it partly feels like pure advertisement of the tools and the videos describing usage of the different tools are very repetitive, overall the course gives a good insight. However, the instructors could put a bit more effort in answering the more complex quetions asked in the forum ins

by Mihaela M

2020年7月16日

I found the topic really interesting! Instructors were great and the practical tasks were pretty useful! However, as a complete beginner in studying bacteria outbreaks, I would have loved an intro, explaining a little more about outbreaks, as well as some basic terminology, which would have made the course self-contained. Overall pretty good though! :)

by Deleted A

2019年1月24日

Such a good course which gives an overview to some of the bioinformatic tools that can be employed in genome sequencing. I'm glad I enrolled for this course because it has enlightened me of the other part of molecular biology I didn't know so much about.

So thanks to all the instructors that dedicated their time to provide us with new knowledge.

by Adrián L F

2018年4月27日

Es un curso bastante fácil para entender las herramientas bioinformáticas que tenemos actualmente para interpretar el genoma bacteriano. Curso muy recomendable para farmacéuticos, biólogos, médicos, enfermeros, biólogos sanitarios y demás componentes de las Ciencias de la Salud e incluso otras carreras científicas como Ciencias Ambientales.

by Michael O S

2019年10月24日

Course was great! Practical hands-on knowledge about what it's like to be a microbial bioinformatician (minus coding the tools themselves). One thing I wish they had touched more deeply upon is how WGS itself works, which I was kind of expecting. But I'd say I got enough out of it to merit the price! Thank you!

by Angela K T C

2020年10月15日

The teachings are good and practical. Also the quizzes wherein you download an unknown sample then you'll run it in CGE and find out the results. However, there are parts in the course (i.e. CSI phylogeny) that does not include interpretation of results. Overall, this course is so good and I learned a lot.

by Ali P

2020年6月6日

It's a good work created by young scientists, but there are some points need to be improved like providing a manuscript containing a short explanation/ discribtion for every online tool in CGE server to use it as a reference for samples analysis and results interpretation while answering the quizzes.

by Shalmali K

2020年6月7日

Course is very simple to understand and follow. Simple exercises through out help learn the tools easily and also are able to apply all at the end. I found the CSI analysis and phylogenetic tree formation particularly little tough so little more explanation about that should be given in the video.

by Jaspreet S P

2020年2月1日

The course was a great kick-starter for me. Kudos to the whole team. But the course was more focused on the tools made by the university. It would have been awesome if they have explained the ins and outs of the theory and back end process they are teaching along with their tools usage.

by Abrar R A

2021年3月28日

I am so happy to finish this course with you. This is the first online course I had and I hope to learn more and more from you.

I start to study and use metagenomics but I don't have enough information about it and about bioinformatics. you made it easy to understand for me. Thank you

by Md. M R

2020年5月30日

The speakers tried very hard to explain every details of each tools and processes. they literally made it very easy to understand the process and the manner of how to execute them. I just wish the videos were a little more faster. Great course, great teachers.

Thank you.

by Kafilat T S

2020年5月10日

This is a very informative course. I learnt from it and wish to learn more such how to edit and align sequence data. Also how to assemble raw data before analysis. Thanks to all involved in delivering this course. It is a great online experience.

by Eric H

2019年7月26日

While this course was very helpful in learning about DTU's tools (the final project was pretty helpful), I initially thought this course would also go over non-DTU tools, so perhaps it would be better to clarify that in the course title.

by Jayesh M B

2020年5月2日

Overall a good course to learn about the analysis of WGS and with real examples.

Though a bit outdated as of 2020 as this is being replaced by metagenomics pipelines, Nonetheless it forms the basis to understand WGS analysis.

by Adeyemi S

2019年2月20日

Please, improvements on the bioinformatic tools and the zipped files will be appreciated, i had little difficulty opening and accessing them on my andriod device, however overall, the course was enlightening

by AMAL E

2020年4月20日

Thank you very much for this course. I have learned new knowledge. Typing is a little bit new for me but I managed to understand the tools and how to use them. Looking forward to the new course by your team.

by Carol H

2019年4月1日

The information presented was very good in terms of content. Sometimes the accent of the tutors was difficult to follow and the English translation of the text for the presentations were not always accurate.

by Ifrah J

2020年5月23日

Overall course was really great. It had covered all the necessary aspects. Only suggestion is to elaborate SNPs section in more detail, it was difficult to interpret. Thank you so much for such effort.

by Francisco J F S

2022年2月13日

Hay conceptos que no se explican y son difíciles de comprender. Además, algunas herramientas no son explicadas en su totalidad y pueden haber momentos de confusión. Aún así, buen curso, recomendado

by Gabriela R S B

2021年2月15日

I really learned the basics and the tools presented in this course; thanks!. I have one suggestion, can you include more theoretical and essential information on the topics before giving the tools.

by Ulla J C

2020年1月14日

Please correct the text as there are many mistakes. It it simply not being typed correctly to what the teachers are actually saying. Otherwise I think it was a good course. I enjoyed it. Thanks :)

by JORGE E M V

2020年8月22日

It is a very good course, easy to follow, needs to be updated with respect to some details of the bioinformatic tools presented with the changes of version of the tools through time.

by Muhaimen A

2022年3月22日

This course was very informative and videos were very engaging. As a soil microbiologist this course provides you an introduction to tools which are being used in epidemiology.

by Sayan P

2018年10月1日

This course helped me a lot in determining bacterial typing. Just one question, in some quizzes I got some answers wrong so is there any way of knowing the right answer.

by Tuan N

2021年4月20日

The course provides some basic ideas about sequencing and assembling in a fairly easy to understand manner. However, the parts of phylogenic trees are badly explained.