Chevron Left
Whole genome sequencing of bacterial genomes - tools and applications に戻る

デンマーク工科大学(Technical University of Denmark(DTU)) による Whole genome sequencing of bacterial genomes - tools and applications の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
1,143件の評価
300件のレビュー

コースについて

This course will cover the topic of Whole genome sequencing (WGS) of bacterial genomes which is becoming more and more relevant for the medical sector. WGS technology and applications are high on international political agenda, as the classical methods are being replaced by WGS technology and therefore bioinformatic tools are extremely important for allowing the people working in this sector to be able to analyze the data and obtain results that can be interpreted and used for different purposes. The course will give the learners a basis to understand and be acquainted with WGS applications in surveillance of bacteria including species identification, typing and characterization of antimicrobial resistance and virulence traits as well as plasmid characterization. It will also give the opportunity to learners to learn about online tools and what they can be used for through demonstrations on how to use some of these tools and exercises to be solved by learners with use of freely available WGS analysis tools . By the end of this course you should be able to: 1. Describe the general Principles in typing of Bacteria 2. Give examples of the applications of Whole Genome Sequencing to Surveillance of bacterial pathogens and antimicrobial resistance 3. Apply genomic tools for sub-typing and surveillance 4. Define the concept of Next-Generation Sequencing and describe the sequencing data from NGS 5. Describe how to do de novo assembly from raw reads to contigs 6. Enumerate the methods behind the tools for species identification, MLST typing and resistance gene detection 7. Apply the tools for species identification, MLST typing and resistance gene detection in real cases of other bacterial and pathogen genomes. 8. Describe the methods behind the tools for Salmonella and E.coli typing, plasmid replicon detection and plasmid typing 9. Utilize the tools for Salmonella and E.coli typing, plasmid replicon detection and plasmid typing in real cases of other bacterial and pathogen genomes. 10. Explain the concept and be able to use the integrated bacterial analysis pipeline for batch analysis and typing of genomic data 11. Demonstrate how to construct phylogenetic tree based on SNPs 12. Apply the phylogenetic tool to construct phylogenetic trees and explain the relatedness of bacterial or pathogen strains 13. Describe how to create your own sequence database 14. Utilize the MyDbFinder tool to detect genetic markers of interest from whole genome sequencing...

人気のレビュー

AP

2020年7月19日

Thank you very much for this course through which i learnt basic handling of bioinformatics tools and concepts of WGS. This will help me a lot while pursuing my PhD research work in my field.

MB

2019年6月9日

Excellent course with a wealth of information about tools and applications of whole genome sequencing. Presented in a very lucid and interesting manner, very crispy and simplified course.

フィルター:

Whole genome sequencing of bacterial genomes - tools and applications: 51 - 75 / 304 レビュー

by Dipti S

2020年1月8日

By taking this course, I am able to advance my knowledge on whole genome sequencing of bacterial genomes and this course explores the applications of different tools for identification of bacterial species and its sub types. Thank you.

by Jolanta G

2017年8月28日

Thank you for the excellent course. It was very interesting to try upload genome and use various tools for identification of the pathogens and resistance mechanisms.Very useful information and excellent excercises. Good luck!

by Drake A

2022年3月4日

This course introduced me to the tools that I need for genotyping bacteria specifically, the bioinformatics tools. I would recommend it to anyone that would wish to analyze their data for research or any other analysis.

by Jyotika P

2020年8月5日

I really liked this course very much. It gave me hands on experience and the best part is the final quiz of this course. This course has given me confidence to do further study in this field. Thanks to Coursera and DTU.

by DrPurvi R

2020年5月21日

This was very informative and easy to understand course for beginners. Whole genome sequencing tools were explained very easily. I learned bacterial sub typing and new bioinformatics tools for bacterial gnome analysis.

by David M M

2018年4月11日

Learn the basics of WGS and how to use different tools for data analysis: species identification, plasmid search, resistance genes search, serotyping... All with a good structure and very well explained.

by Magha R C B

2020年7月13日

Thank you very much for all the lecturers participated in this course.I believe the knowledge and the qualification which I gain from this course will benefit me in my future Biomedical science studies.

by Anisha M

2020年11月4日

excellent instructors... really enjoyed the course ...my sincere thanks to all the instructors for their effort...looking forward to meet them in forecoming sessions...thanks a lot

by Charan R

2020年7月21日

Thank you very much coursera and all educators who helped me learn this WGS. This course is just awesome. It really helps me pursue my career. Once again thanks alot to DTU TEAM.

by Abdullah A J

2020年8月20日

It was an immense journey throughout the course. The structure of the course, so organized and informative. Truly appreciate Coursera and the DTU instructors for the course.

by Ashraf A

2020年7月22日

Excellent Course. Many thanks to DTU and Coursera for providing such a wonderful course. I learned a lot of things from this course. This course is definitely a winner.

by Linh D

2021年10月9日

Now I have a background on whole genome sequencing, which means how I know to solve data from WGS. Thanks to DTU's course for giving me NGS knowledge in a simply way.

by Ana V U B

2017年12月17日

I loved the course. I lerned how to use different tools to understant a DNA information, with a lot of practical exercises. I can wait the course of metagenomics.

by S.Nipun

2020年7月6日

Very well structured and conducted .A very good course for hands on experience of bioinformatic online tools for Whole Genome sequencing of bacterial genomes.

by Valeria O M

2018年6月3日

Me gustaron los video que van directo al fundamento de cada herramienta, y lo mejor es que el curso también se enfoca en la aplicación de lo enseñado. Gracias

by Sanjana V

2020年3月31日

The instructors are very efficient and helped me learn with full understanding and made me proficient to use the tools and databases.

Thank you very much ;)

by Ferdinand A

2021年12月27日

​I have learnt a lot through this wonderful topic. It had enabled me to understand the whole process of genome sequencing and different ways of processing.

by David P

2020年4月21日

Excellent beginner course for WGS. The topics of the course are very interesting and well curated. The speakers are fluent and clear during the lessons.

by Tan P W

2021年2月23日

The course was super fun and enjoyable. I am able to follow each module and proceed through the quizzes with ease. Thank you for creating this course!

by Kulumanali G ]

2020年6月20日

It is a very wonderful and informative lecture & thank you so much Coursera & DTU for your amazing presentations. I am very grateful for this course.

by Nidhi p

2020年6月8日

This course content is very informative. It gives both theoretical as well as practical knowledge of Whole Genome Sequencing. MCQ's are well designed.

by Hiren B

2022年2月10日

Well organized course. I have learnt many new things. Liked all the instructors. Thanks to Ms. Shiny for her enthusiastic lectures. Thank you all.

by Vanessa L

2018年1月14日

This is a very interesting course, it's practical and simple to follow and I've learned a lot about whole genome sequencing and its techniques.

by Hussen E A

2020年8月20日

I found the course very interesting but I am not happy that the certificate was not sent to my email. please send it to my institutional email.

by Hussen E A

2020年8月19日

The course is very relevant for animal science professionals, however, you should offer the certificate while applicants finishing the course.