Chevron Left
Whole genome sequencing of bacterial genomes - tools and applications に戻る

デンマーク工科大学(Technical University of Denmark(DTU)) による Whole genome sequencing of bacterial genomes - tools and applications の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
818件の評価
224件のレビュー

コースについて

This course will cover the topic of Whole genome sequencing (WGS) of bacterial genomes which is becoming more and more relevant for the medical sector. WGS technology and applications are high on international political agenda, as the classical methods are being replaced by WGS technology and therefore bioinformatic tools are extremely important for allowing the people working in this sector to be able to analyze the data and obtain results that can be interpreted and used for different purposes. The course will give the learners a basis to understand and be acquainted with WGS applications in surveillance of bacteria including species identification, typing and characterization of antimicrobial resistance and virulence traits as well as plasmid characterization. It will also give the opportunity to learners to learn about online tools and what they can be used for through demonstrations on how to use some of these tools and exercises to be solved by learners with use of freely available WGS analysis tools . By the end of this course you should be able to: 1. Describe the general Principles in typing of Bacteria 2. Give examples of the applications of Whole Genome Sequencing to Surveillance of bacterial pathogens and antimicrobial resistance 3. Apply genomic tools for sub-typing and surveillance 4. Define the concept of Next-Generation Sequencing and describe the sequencing data from NGS 5. Describe how to do de novo assembly from raw reads to contigs 6. Enumerate the methods behind the tools for species identification, MLST typing and resistance gene detection 7. Apply the tools for species identification, MLST typing and resistance gene detection in real cases of other bacterial and pathogen genomes. 8. Describe the methods behind the tools for Salmonella and E.coli typing, plasmid replicon detection and plasmid typing 9. Utilize the tools for Salmonella and E.coli typing, plasmid replicon detection and plasmid typing in real cases of other bacterial and pathogen genomes. 10. Explain the concept and be able to use the integrated bacterial analysis pipeline for batch analysis and typing of genomic data 11. Demonstrate how to construct phylogenetic tree based on SNPs 12. Apply the phylogenetic tool to construct phylogenetic trees and explain the relatedness of bacterial or pathogen strains 13. Describe how to create your own sequence database 14. Utilize the MyDbFinder tool to detect genetic markers of interest from whole genome sequencing...

人気のレビュー

AP

Jul 20, 2020

Thank you very much for this course through which i learnt basic handling of bioinformatics tools and concepts of WGS. This will help me a lot while pursuing my PhD research work in my field.

MB

Jun 10, 2019

Excellent course with a wealth of information about tools and applications of whole genome sequencing. Presented in a very lucid and interesting manner, very crispy and simplified course.

フィルター:

Whole genome sequencing of bacterial genomes - tools and applications: 201 - 223 / 223 レビュー

by Carla L I

May 30, 2020

It has very hard but very interesting for my career

by DINESH K R

Aug 17, 2020

It was really amazing lecture with detailed demo.

by AGBO A A J B P

Nov 29, 2018

perfect course . very instructive and well detail

by ESHA J

Oct 16, 2020

Thank you so much

This course was really helpful

by Yasser M

May 05, 2018

It is one of the best MOOC courses I have Taken.

by Rui P d S F M

Aug 16, 2020

The final task requires too much work.

by Ivonne G

Nov 20, 2017

I really like it. Easy and practical.

by Abarna C

Sep 09, 2020

The course was interesting!

by Bikash K

Jan 15, 2019

Very simple and informative

by Romain M

Jul 22, 2018

Great course, thanks

by 121922201008 g

Sep 19, 2020

Great

by Joanna P

Apr 14, 2020

Interesting topic! And well presented material! It is very convenient and helpful to be introduced into several bioinformatic tools, as they may seem intimidating in the beginning. Also, I liked the final assignment.

I would suggest to add more assignments during this 5 week course as it is hand-on work and thus it motivates students to learn more and get familiar with the tools. It would also be useful to put more emphasis into the applications f these tools and how widely they are used. It would also be useful to do some troubleshooting during the course, like how we should interpret the results when they are not so clear or what we could further do to acquire a more clear picture.

Thank you very much for everything! It has been an enjoyable 5-week course.

by Jason B

Mar 27, 2020

There is very little background information given to what is being done, how it is being done or why it is being done. Obviously an online course like this can only go into so much detail but there was almost no explanation of the background. It is also not just using the medical field as its context but what is taught has almost no relevance outside medicine as the course is better understood as a tutorial on how to use their own web tools. While those tools serve their purpose, unless you want to use their tools, you will gain very little over the course.

by Arina D

Jul 01, 2020

This is a set of manuals. No theory - just a description of several tools with some very basic explanation of the principles underlying these tools.

Before applying for this course, I can suggest visiting the site with all the tools described in these courses and reviewing it - it may be easier for someone (and definitely faster) to read the instructions on the site https://cge.cbs. dtu.dk/services/

However, the tools themselves are quite useful.

by Lynn M

Sep 18, 2020

Was slightly disappointed about how the class is very on the surface. It covers some cool tools but does not go into the details of genome sequencing, which I was expecting to see more of. Some lectures are highly repetitive as well.

by Lydia S

Apr 26, 2020

Got only rudimental knowledge of WGS but more detailed information how to use their pipelines- seems like a more commerical course than learning element.

I'd like the other course about antimicrobial resistance much better.

by Frédéric B G

Nov 11, 2019

This course has been mainly constructed to explain how the full set of bioinformatic tools developed by the CGE of DTU can be used. Personally, I would have preferred a course with more theoretical basis.

by James P

Aug 12, 2020

I thought this would be informative but the entire course is basically an infomercial for using their web based tools. Which to some, could be helpful but any serious bioinformatician should avoid.

by Luisa F D B

Jun 22, 2020

I liked some of the sections but the course is really focused on the platform developed by its university, so despite it is useful it does not give examples of another tool like BLAST

by Franziska N

Oct 01, 2020

Good lectures, but unfortunately there is little general background transferred through this course. The lectures and the quiz seem mainly to be advertisement for their tools.

by Harvey T

Oct 29, 2019

the presentation skills and the language were not so high. some files that need analysis are not working. But it is useful course by the end.Thx alot

by Jing C

Nov 15, 2017

Wish it was more concise.

by Luka G

Jun 05, 2020

The course itself is great, unfortunately the person who designed it and is the main speaker has incomprehensible English, to a point that one needs triple the exertion to understand her. The transcript of the speech seems to be automatically generated, so one can not even read the lecture to understand it.