Chevron Left
Whole genome sequencing of bacterial genomes - tools and applications に戻る

デンマーク工科大学(Technical University of Denmark(DTU)) による Whole genome sequencing of bacterial genomes - tools and applications の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
1,143件の評価
300件のレビュー

コースについて

This course will cover the topic of Whole genome sequencing (WGS) of bacterial genomes which is becoming more and more relevant for the medical sector. WGS technology and applications are high on international political agenda, as the classical methods are being replaced by WGS technology and therefore bioinformatic tools are extremely important for allowing the people working in this sector to be able to analyze the data and obtain results that can be interpreted and used for different purposes. The course will give the learners a basis to understand and be acquainted with WGS applications in surveillance of bacteria including species identification, typing and characterization of antimicrobial resistance and virulence traits as well as plasmid characterization. It will also give the opportunity to learners to learn about online tools and what they can be used for through demonstrations on how to use some of these tools and exercises to be solved by learners with use of freely available WGS analysis tools . By the end of this course you should be able to: 1. Describe the general Principles in typing of Bacteria 2. Give examples of the applications of Whole Genome Sequencing to Surveillance of bacterial pathogens and antimicrobial resistance 3. Apply genomic tools for sub-typing and surveillance 4. Define the concept of Next-Generation Sequencing and describe the sequencing data from NGS 5. Describe how to do de novo assembly from raw reads to contigs 6. Enumerate the methods behind the tools for species identification, MLST typing and resistance gene detection 7. Apply the tools for species identification, MLST typing and resistance gene detection in real cases of other bacterial and pathogen genomes. 8. Describe the methods behind the tools for Salmonella and E.coli typing, plasmid replicon detection and plasmid typing 9. Utilize the tools for Salmonella and E.coli typing, plasmid replicon detection and plasmid typing in real cases of other bacterial and pathogen genomes. 10. Explain the concept and be able to use the integrated bacterial analysis pipeline for batch analysis and typing of genomic data 11. Demonstrate how to construct phylogenetic tree based on SNPs 12. Apply the phylogenetic tool to construct phylogenetic trees and explain the relatedness of bacterial or pathogen strains 13. Describe how to create your own sequence database 14. Utilize the MyDbFinder tool to detect genetic markers of interest from whole genome sequencing...

人気のレビュー

AP

2020年7月19日

Thank you very much for this course through which i learnt basic handling of bioinformatics tools and concepts of WGS. This will help me a lot while pursuing my PhD research work in my field.

MB

2019年6月9日

Excellent course with a wealth of information about tools and applications of whole genome sequencing. Presented in a very lucid and interesting manner, very crispy and simplified course.

フィルター:

Whole genome sequencing of bacterial genomes - tools and applications: 276 - 300 / 304 レビュー

by Anushka G

2020年9月9日

The course was pretty interesting. I enjoyed learning it.

by Carla L I

2020年5月30日

It has very hard but very interesting for my career

by Dinesh K

2020年8月17日

It was really amazing lecture with detailed demo.

by pacome a

2018年11月29日

perfect course . very instructive and well detail

by ESHA J

2020年10月16日

Thank you so much

This course was really helpful

by Yasser M

2018年5月5日

It is one of the best MOOC courses I have Taken.

by Rui P d S F M

2020年8月16日

The final task requires too much work.

by Ivonne G

2017年11月20日

I really like it. Easy and practical.

by Suman M

2020年10月31日

good but question are too trickly

by Abarna C

2020年9月9日

The course was interesting!

by Bikash K

2019年1月15日

Very simple and informative

by Romain M

2018年7月22日

Great course, thanks

by Olga S

2021年1月24日

very practical!

by 121922201008 g

2020年9月18日

Great

by Muhammad S A

2022年1月16日

5

by Deleted A

2021年1月18日

I found this to be a very well-structured course which gave me a good overview of a wide variety of tools used in the field. Among other things, I learned how to look for resistance genes and plasmids, and how to determine the species and sequence type of a sample. A sincere thank you goes to all those involved in putting this together.

Each weekly set of lectures is followed by a quiz, but perhaps a few more exercises would have been helpful... something on the lines of the final assignment (an exercise to learn how to interpret phylogenetic trees, for instance). What I think would also have helped is a brief description given by the lecturers of the biological features they were going to talk about - for example, what is the biological meaning of 'sequence type' of a strain? I think this would have made things clearer for beginners.

by Ioanna P

2020年4月14日

Interesting topic! And well presented material! It is very convenient and helpful to be introduced into several bioinformatic tools, as they may seem intimidating in the beginning. Also, I liked the final assignment.

I would suggest to add more assignments during this 5 week course as it is hand-on work and thus it motivates students to learn more and get familiar with the tools. It would also be useful to put more emphasis into the applications f these tools and how widely they are used. It would also be useful to do some troubleshooting during the course, like how we should interpret the results when they are not so clear or what we could further do to acquire a more clear picture.

Thank you very much for everything! It has been an enjoyable 5-week course.

by Jason B

2020年3月27日

There is very little background information given to what is being done, how it is being done or why it is being done. Obviously an online course like this can only go into so much detail but there was almost no explanation of the background. It is also not just using the medical field as its context but what is taught has almost no relevance outside medicine as the course is better understood as a tutorial on how to use their own web tools. While those tools serve their purpose, unless you want to use their tools, you will gain very little over the course.

by Arina D

2020年7月1日

This is a set of manuals. No theory - just a description of several tools with some very basic explanation of the principles underlying these tools.

Before applying for this course, I can suggest visiting the site with all the tools described in these courses and reviewing it - it may be easier for someone (and definitely faster) to read the instructions on the site https://cge.cbs. dtu.dk/services/

However, the tools themselves are quite useful.

by Lynn M

2020年9月18日

Was slightly disappointed about how the class is very on the surface. It covers some cool tools but does not go into the details of genome sequencing, which I was expecting to see more of. Some lectures are highly repetitive as well.

by Lydia S

2020年4月26日

Got only rudimental knowledge of WGS but more detailed information how to use their pipelines- seems like a more commerical course than learning element.

I'd like the other course about antimicrobial resistance much better.

by Frédéric B G

2019年11月11日

This course has been mainly constructed to explain how the full set of bioinformatic tools developed by the CGE of DTU can be used. Personally, I would have preferred a course with more theoretical basis.

by James P

2020年8月12日

I thought this would be informative but the entire course is basically an infomercial for using their web based tools. Which to some, could be helpful but any serious bioinformatician should avoid.

by Luisa F D B

2020年6月22日

I liked some of the sections but the course is really focused on the platform developed by its university, so despite it is useful it does not give examples of another tool like BLAST

by Victor B C B

2021年8月5日

Poderiam explicar mais a fundo algumas definições e me pareceu que algumas ferramentas estão desatualizadas (Ex: Ferramenta para montagem, Velvet, a mais usada no momento é a Spades)