Chevron Left
Introduction to Financial Accounting に戻る

ペンシルベニア大学(University of Pennsylvania) による Introduction to Financial Accounting の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
5,191件の評価
1,150件のレビュー

コースについて

Master the technical skills needed to analyze financial statements and disclosures for use in financial analysis, and learn how accounting standards and managerial incentives affect the financial reporting process. By the end of this course, you’ll be able to read the three most common financial statements: the income statement, balance sheet, and statement of cash flows. Then you can apply these skills to a real-world business challenge as part of the Wharton Business Foundations Specialization....

人気のレビュー

EY

Sep 20, 2019

The course is very easy to understand, and most importantly it is fun to learn accounting! I find this course covers basic yet comprehensive contents compared to other basic accounting online courses.

MM

Feb 04, 2016

I took Brian Bushee's course and found him to be one of the BEST INSTRUCTORS I'VE EVER HAD IN MY ENTIRE LIFE. If you've had trouble with accounting courses in the past, HE IS THE INSTRUCTOR FOR YOU!!!

フィルター:

Introduction to Financial Accounting: 26 - 50 / 1,118 レビュー

by Tyrel B

May 31, 2017

Not a fan of the animated video presentations, could have expanded on the vocabulary and concepts.

by Brent C

Feb 08, 2017

Ironically it seemed not very linear for an accounting course. Those cartoons have to go.

by Toria K

Oct 19, 2016

I HAVE COMPLETED THE COURSE AND STILL HAVE NOT RECEIVED MY CERTIFICATE

by Abhay G

Sep 18, 2019

It keeps getting boring after every video.

by Nadia K

Jun 17, 2016

Really don't think I learned about accounting after this course. The "virtual students" were distracting, as were the attempts at humour. I came in not knowing much about accounting and don't feel like I left knowing much more.

by Rina C M G

Sep 02, 2018

Professor Brian Bushee made learning financial accounting very enjoyable! Not only was his lecture videos informative (of course), he finds ways of injecting humor in his lectures to stir away from the boring subjects and very serious matters. His lecture notes files are also named in a very organized way that corresponds to the week that they were taken up in so back referencing during exam reviews would be a breeze. He also made a point of including A LOT of examples and examples after examples that covers about everything in the course so the student will not be surprised during exams of items that were not taken up. I just wish the virtual students could have better audio and accent in terms of delivering the statements but this was well compensated in the speech bubbles that come with the appearance of the virtual student. Over all, these helped in my understanding of the concepts better. This course is highly recommended to everyone. I am an engineer by profession and I used to fear accounting subjects prior to my finishing the degree. But taking up this course made that fear go away.

by William H

Aug 12, 2016

Professor Brian Bushee is a wonderful teacher. He makes Financial Accounting interesting by illustrating how it can be practically applied in real life scenarios. There are many examples so that you don't have to conceptualize everything and the material is more comprehensible. He makes it entertaining by introducing virtual students that ask him questions that real students would ask and a few that i hadn't thought to ask but provide beneficial information.

There is a lot of material. It is quite complex. Financial Accounting is a mix of rules, intuition, terms that must be learned, very particular processes, and last but not least, some math. This isn't for the faint of heart. That said, I found it interesting and learned more than I had planned on. I may take the follow up course as well. I can't imagine learning this material from a typical instructor. I wouldn't enjoy it and i wouldn't be able to take as much from it. Superior course. Apologies for any typos.

by D. T W

Feb 13, 2020

The professor provided a wonderful course. He took a subject that seems scary and made it enjoyable and fun. I thought his jokes, and the use of his virtual students, were an unexpected element that I actually enjoyed more and more throughout the class. For the virtual students, their use of valid questions I may/may not have thought of were great as well as sometimes just saying slow down and repeat. This shows the professor's excellence over his subject AND teaching it.

The material was presented logically and in bite-sized pieces that were easier for a non-business person to understand and retain. The two running examples, Relic Spotter and 3M, were great to synthesize all of the information that had been learned in the current and previous week(s).

While I will definitely have to go through the materials again to cement them into my head, I have learned a lot from this course and thoroughly enjoyed it!

by Manoliakis P

Nov 08, 2015

This course is presented in a surprising comprehensive way that will let you understand the basic functions of accounting. It will help you build the concrete foundations that will enable you to make sense of more complicated concepts as you progress in your career. Professor Brian Bushee is in my opinion a gifted tutor since he possesses the ability to transfer his knowledge in a simple interesting and comprehensive way that will let you understand the logic behind the accounting principles and the way of thinking without requiring from you any related background. He helped me expand my horizons and actually find a job in the accounting sector but most of all he made me understand and form my way of thinking around accounting in a robust and confident way. I give my thanks and gratitude to the maestro of Debits and Credits and I hope he will help you in the same way and even more.

by Ahmad R D

Mar 09, 2016

I found this course as addictive of studying with all its facility materials

I pray and hope a better life for Professor, Brian J Bushee. and wish he could cooperate thousands of knowledge seeker those who(m) are unable to pay for studying in university in Financial Accounting course as students from Afghanistan, or Africa, Middle east and other countries who(m) are eligible to improve their knowledge in Financial Accounting term.

once again I appreciate President (Chancellor), Professors and all members of Wharton University of Pennsylvania that they really facilitate this course for all people around the world and specially for me where I will find my prospective job by studying most of lessons.

Thank you,

Sincerely,

Ahmad Reshad Darwishy

by Danielle F

Feb 16, 2016

Excellent introduction! Professor Bushee is clear, organized, and best of all goofy. A high-quality course right down to the formatting of the slide and video presentations. Plus, it covered exactly what I was looking for – starting with basic journal entries on the general ledger (including adjusting and closing entries) and then building into the foundations of some key financial statements (balance sheet, income statement, and cash flow statement) and ratio analysis thereof. And the price is right! Free to audit (including graded assignments) and only $95 for the certificate (which not everyone will need, but it's still a huge bargain considering the cost of university per unit). A+!

by Swati S

Jun 11, 2019

When I started with the course, It took me some time to adjust to the style the course was delivered. I thought it might get boring, especially since I am completely from a non-finance background. But as I made progress with the course, I must say, Professor Brian has really done a great job, explaining the details of the concepts. I really liked the detailed case study analysis. It was lot of information, a very fast tracked course, but since we can always revisit the videos, they can give one a very good start. Thanks to the virtual class room, they are an acquired taste, towards the end of the course I got used to them, and missed their interesting questions. Thank you Prof. Brian.

by Alessio P

Jan 21, 2018

Very complete and in depth course for a beginner. Lots of info and material for future reference. Very clear lectures. I had started the same kind of course on another platform were the way the subject was taught was completely different, I found it hard and for other reasons decided to enroll in this one, which in comparison is way more linear and logic in the way it introduces the topics.

Only one suggestion to make the course a bit easier to understand, would be to use a bit of flow charts to better visualize some concepts. But that's only because some people may be more comfortable memorizing images.

Great work, terrific value for money!

by Olesia A

Apr 21, 2018

This course will introduce you to accounting in the efficient and smooth way. Most importantly, the professor really knows how to teach it! We all know that accounting is boring and many of us are struggling to get even the basics. However, if you stay tuned throughout the course you will see that the professor is doing exceptional work while introducing Cash Flow Statement (which is the most challenging part of financial accounting to many newbeies). I highly recommend the course to those who just started studying Accounting OR who wants to review the basics before landing a new job or internship.

by Leonardo P

Oct 02, 2016

By means of this course, I got to understand the most fundamentals concepts of financial accounting. Professor Brian is very good at explaining this concepts, with a very entertaining way of teaching. I needed to go back to classes to take and retake the tests, so it shows that you must comprehend the concepts in order to pass the Tests. I would recommend this course to anyone that wants to learn about accouting. For my case, which is related to process to becoming an investment banker, this course was a great foundation, and the stepping stone into the other courses offered by coursera.

by Amy W

Feb 17, 2019

Fantastic overview, covered all desired topics going into the course. The material itself was engaging and interesting, it should be said, however, that the instructor has a perplexing way of going about this. There is a running gag of having virtual students be angry and/or bored with the presented material. As someone genuinely interested in the topic, this came off rather crass and de-motivating rather than humorous. That said, the material itself was incredibly engaging and perfectly paced. Professor Bushee is an incredible teacher, perhaps not so incredible a comedian.

by Megan A

Sep 20, 2019

Learning accounting was once described to me as "something as fun as chewing cardboard." This was not the case with Prof. Bushee's class. I came in never having taken an accounting class before and he made the topics approachable and understandable. The virtual students are silly at first (and continue to be so throughout the class), but I chuckled at them many times and their questions were often the exact questions I was thinking. I enjoyed Prof. Bushee's sense of humor and use of "dad jokes" to keep the material light and kept me engaged. Thanks so much!

by Maurinho

Mar 20, 2018

Very interesting fun and thorough course. Apart from the very high amount of notions offered, which is what one would expect from a course, they were broken down incredibly well. The Professor explains it so well that makes you able to pick up even most complex things at first sight. The only negative point of this course is that during the exams wherever you make a mistake then it does not tell you why, not even a hint. Anyway you can work it through by using the tools and notions you´ve justlearned which is also a positive thing of the course as well.

by James W

Oct 02, 2016

Wow, is this a great course! Professor Bushee has such a talent for making what could be very complicated, straightforward and simple. He has a great knack for explaining Financial Accounting step by step and building upon each lesson in subsequent lessons. He goes slow enough to make it easy to grasp the material but fast enough to keep the students. His nutty sense of humor is really great and I loved the comments he had the virtual students make. Very entertaining and sometimes they were the questions I would have asked live myself.

by Alessandro D P

Aug 27, 2017

Awesome course. I had no previous knowledge of any of these topics but at the end of the course I was confident with the Accounting Language. Thanks to Prof Brian Bushee that seems to have understood perfectly the true meaning of fun in learning. I really appreciated the presence of virtual students that helped to clarify some doubts that I raised in my head during the lessons. It was not just theory, but with the Relic Spotter case you had also the chance to put in practise what you were learning. Absolutely recommended.

by Matthew B J

Apr 27, 2018

Professor Bushee put together an excellent course that allowed me to grasp basic accounting principles despite having no formal financial education on the subject whatsoever. He has virtual students who ask well-timed, relevant questions and it's just campy enough to keep you engaged in spite of the dry subject matter. Professor Bushee is a clearly gifted instructor with a passion for his work. I never thought I'd say I enjoyed an accounting class, but it was a solid experience throughout and I'm happy that I took it.

by John R T

Jul 06, 2017

I really enjoyed this course. The course was exceptionally well organized and a lot of fun to take. I thought the instructor was outstanding. Even had a spot of dry humor, which is always welcome. I would recommend the course to anyone who wanted to get a strong, broad-brushed introduction to financial accounting as well as a basic introduction to accounting. It is not an easy course in the sense that the instructor sets a hard pace and puts forth a great deal of information. It will make you think.

by Ryan B

Jul 10, 2017

Great class. Prof. Bushee's lectures were very clear and informative. As a young professional working in the Investment Management industry with no formal prior training in Financial Accounting, this was a fantastic way to learn the basics. The animated students were a nice touch - they often asked questions which I myself wanted to ask. It felt like a real lecture, except the comments/questions from the animated students were (usually) productive and helpful. Highly recommend taking this course!

by Salem M H

Sep 21, 2017

I am so grateful to Prof Brain Bushee and Wharton University of Pennsylvania for this great opportunity. I am totally new to financial accounting and it seemed very difficult at first. But with all the video presentations and the sample company reports, I have been able to get a good grasp of the building blocks of financial accounting. I wish to expand on the basic knowledge I gained from this course. I thank you all.

P.S. I liked the virtual students. They kept me on track when I thought I lost it.

by Siti A F

Jan 02, 2019

As someone who graduated with bachelor of economics eight years ago and wants to refresh my knowledge (I had intro to acc 1 and 2 at the uni) I thought this course would still be challenging. But with the help of Professor Bushee (great teaching method from the Professor), everything seemed easier than I'd thought. I completed the course in 7 days! Now I have more confidence to return to job market (after 2 yrs of hiatus due to pregnancy and maternity leave). Thanks Professor, UPenn, and Coursera!