Chevron Left
Mathematical Thinking in Computer Science に戻る

カリフォルニア大学サンディエゴ校 による Mathematical Thinking in Computer Science の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.4
2,056件の評価

コースについて

Mathematical thinking is crucial in all areas of computer science: algorithms, bioinformatics, computer graphics, data science, machine learning, etc. In this course, we will learn the most important tools used in discrete mathematics: induction, recursion, logic, invariants, examples, optimality. We will use these tools to answer typical programming questions like: How can we be certain a solution exists? Am I sure my program computes the optimal answer? Do each of these objects meet the given requirements? In the online course, we use a try-this-before-we-explain-everything approach: you will be solving many interactive (and mobile friendly) puzzles that were carefully designed to allow you to invent many of the important ideas and concepts yourself. Prerequisites: 1. We assume only basic math (e.g., we expect you to know what is a square or how to add fractions), common sense and curiosity. 2. Basic programming knowledge is necessary as some quizzes require programming in Python....

人気のレビュー

AD

2019年3月25日

The teachers are informative and good. They explain the topic in a way that we can easily understand. The slides provide all the information that is needed. The external tools are fun and informative.

AM

2021年2月27日

It is a great course! teachers explain everything with care. While providing lectures there are some popup ques that verify whether you understood that lecture or not. Overall, a great experience.

フィルター:

Mathematical Thinking in Computer Science: 51 - 75 / 474 レビュー

by Mohammed R

2019年4月30日

Absloutely Fantastic. I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to learn data structures and algorithms thoroughly.

by Singhi K

2018年1月2日

Enjoyable and interesting...also easy to follow for people like me who have been out of college long time back.

by Ernest D

2019年1月5日

this is a very nice course ,its has broaden my whole knowledge about maths

thanks to the creator of this course

by Ethio T

2019年10月12日

The course is very good at equipping the basic math concepts for computer science. I highly recommend it!

by Swarnava S

2019年6月13日

Awesome course for beginners. It helped me alot to understand the logic and how to solve problems.

by Rafael D d L P

2018年8月2日

Great introduction to mathematical thinking and how to apply it to computational problems.

by KUMAR A

2020年1月24日

This was the one-stop that I'll never regret learning things again in a different manner.

by Vishnu M

2019年9月7日

Puzzles are great. Seems Instructors put lots of efforts into it. Different approach !

by Jesse W

2019年5月2日

This course mostly consists of a set of loosely related under the umbrella of discrete mathematics. A lot of the exercises take the form of puzzles where you either have to solve the puzzle or determine whether a solution is impossible. The puzzles are fun and make for good brain exercise; however, I'm not sure if all of this has made me a better programmer. It's worth noting that most Computer Science degrees will require some form of discrete math coursework, so if you're considering CS and are worried about the math requirements, this Specialization would be good to try out.

by Anton M

2019年4月4日

Great course with variety of different mathematical puzzles.

Two things can be improved:

1) It's not always obvious which global subject is discussed during the week and what is a connection with puzzles, some kind of review video at start of each week will be helpful.

2) Sometimes explanations not clear at all. I did watched some videos 2-3 times before completely understand what is going on. It will be great to have a rigours proof of theorems as supplementary reading material.

by Mike P

2019年1月31日

I liked the course, and I enjoyed the math for sure. BUT, I think there were some sections that could have been explained more thoroughly and perhaps some videos that could have been shot again to be more clear. But whatever, I am very grateful to be able to learn this here :)

by Vladimir K

2018年2月5日

While the material itself is important and very useful in general, the course, unfortunately, doesn't have enough practical material to help students to internalise it.

by Frederick H K K

2019年1月21日

Some explanation are unclear or confusing.

by Md. Z M

2019年4月26日

The course is taught by 3 instructors. This makes the experience strikingly unbalanced. The style of course delivery and explanation is very poor with one of the instructors, the one who took Week 1 and 6. The rest of the weeks were OK. The other two instructors were clear with their arguments. This course has a very different approach (do-it-yourself-before-expalnation-by-instructors), although it was mentioned clearly on the Course Info page. If you can make out yourself what strategy to apply for the interactive puzzles, then you are doing good. Otherwise, the puzzles will just be trial-and-error games for you. The instructors were kind enough to answer on the Discussion Forum, but do not expect much activity from your fellow learners as there might be very few people taking this course with you.

by Carlos V

2020年2月15日

I believe that the content of this course is both important and interesting. However, the learning methods used are awful. To begin with, while going through the interactive puzzles I felt that I was not learning anything related to the core lesson at hand. Moreover, the exercises feel like disconnected trivia unrelated to the theoretical explanations. I think the course should be heavily revamped in order to present a proper and useful corpus of knowledge.

by Anand R

2020年7月27日

The team presented the concepts in a fun and easy ways to learn. They usually start off with a puzzle exercise so that we are better prepared to understand the concepts in the subsequent lessons. Some of the lessons need intermediate mathematics and programming experience. The instructors are also very responsive in the discussions forums. Whatever the shortcomings, they are not significant. For e.g., sometimes it was difficult to understand their accent but this can be overcome by using closed captions. There were some technical difficulties with tools that the instructors remedied pretty quickly. Overall, an excellent course on the subject. Thank you.

by Alvaro A

2021年7月9日

A​fter so many digging, I can only say this is the best introductory course for mathematical thinking, Its amazingly creative and I recommend following the book along with the course. The teachers present the material in a really fun and engaging way. This is definetly how a mooc should be made.

by Jacob K

2021年1月9日

I personally have very limited coding skills. this course was able to build my funadmentals in both math and science while understanding more of the bridge between the two. Very thankful for it.

by Himanshu P M

2020年5月7日

This course is good for beginner.

rather than being complicated it will change the way you think.

one advice---- you should have knowledge of python basic to complete the assignment of this course

by yonas a

2020年5月24日

I have come to know how mathematical proof is fun thing to do, this course transformed me, i highly recommend it to every one. I would like to thank every one involved in providing this course.

by Mohamed A H

2020年6月26日

This course will improve your problem solving skills and gives you a rigorous explanation in how to counter various mathematical problems in the real life. You will think like a mathematician.

by Jonibek N

2020年4月29日

Course was good, but sometimes i needed additional sources to understand topic better. Maybe, it was because of my english. Anyway it gave me a path what i should look for! Thank you!

by Sanjay A

2017年9月17日

I was waiting for such a great course on discrete Mathematics in coursera.

Thank you UC San Diego

by Dmytro N

2017年10月5日

I like the course. Still some mistakes and bugs, but course is really interesting to pass. Thanks

by PLN R

2019年7月9日

An amazing course really!! The interactive fun assignments make it all the more interesting!! :D