Chevron Left
Wood Science: Beyond Building に戻る

ウェストバージニア大学(West Virginia University) による Wood Science: Beyond Building の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
209件の評価
67件のレビュー

コースについて

The central question of this course: “why study wood?” If “why study wood” is the question, one answer would be that it is the only raw material available to us that is truly renewable in human life span terms. Wood is as important to society today as it ever was, despite the development of many man-made substitute materials, changing resource availability, and the changing needs of society. Some items on the list of wood products stay the same (lumber, plywood and veneer for building construction, furniture, shipping pallets & crates and other containers & packaging materials, railroad ties, utility poles, chemical feed stocks, etc), but the list also keeps changing to meet new needs and challenges as the resource changes. In short, wood is a far more diverse, green, and renewable resource than you might have imagined. Join us to learn about the important role of wood in human history, civilization, and our future. By the end of the course, learners will be able to: - describe wood as a raw material and its critical importance to the world economy, and the lives of the people that make that economy work. - identify the projected trend for wood consumption to continue to grow in the coming years, despite the image of wood as a "low tech" material. - identify the ways in which wood's properties can lead to its efficient and sustainable use. -identify wood's positive role in boosting the world economy and ability to lead to unexpected vocations....

人気のレビュー

CZ

Feb 12, 2020

As a Civil Engineering student, this course has been very helpful for me. I do recommend to have this course in order to get the basic concept of wood science and its use as a building material.

AC

Apr 23, 2020

This course was a wonderful experience in learning about forest - wood - timber - products. Thank you for sharing that knowledge. It is a trip of understanding the wood and it's uses

フィルター:

Wood Science: Beyond Building: 1 - 25 / 70 レビュー

by Kurian G

Jun 01, 2019

Very useful to understand about the American wood industry. Also helps know about some general information about wooden materials and wood itself.

by Volodymyr N

Nov 21, 2017

Thanks, for offering this course! Though I've been working with wood at home for some years, I learned a great deal about the wood, ranging from specifics of working with the wood from the different species of trees to the global market and management of the forest. Your corse gives a great incentive go to forward with learnig more and working more with wood, looking at it in bigger depth rather than a conventient material only. Thanks, again!

by Daniel C P

Jan 31, 2018

Very useful course. Nicely presented in a well structured way, it gives a global view of wood science. It has links to very interesting resources of books, international associations and technical NASA papers (pretty understandable, in my opinion). It has a great value for the time required. Fully recommended!

by Alejandra F

May 21, 2020

As one of the materials for sustainable construction, a Civil Engineer needs to know all about it. This course was for me, a great introduction in this amazing world, they give you the general basis of the entire process and life cycle of wood in America.

by Tyler R

Dec 23, 2019

This course was amazing! The instructors have so much valuable knowledge to share and they are very personable. It has been a significant factor in my decision to go back to school and pursue a degree. I highly recommend signing up for this course.

by Harry A H

Feb 20, 2018

This course opened my eyes to a whole new world. Kind of helps you over the stumbling block to then study yourself further. Loved the honest simplicity of the teachers though it quickly becomes obvious that there is a huge industry behind it.

by Briseida L J A

Apr 04, 2019

This course is a great oppontunity to learn and take a look about wood from other point of view. It explain very well theory and process with good examples and clear schemes. From the architecture point of view is very useful. Excellent!!

by Manoj K R

May 16, 2020

This is very good course. I enjoyed this and the science of wood. How principles of physics works in wood science. I alot of thanks to course instructors and whole team of course they describe the things very practical and easy way.

by Akemi I

Sep 08, 2019

I really liked this course in terms of structure, in particular. The quizzes in the video effectively kept me paying attention to the contents and made me better understood the contents of the course. Thank you very much!!!

by Chowdhury Z B Z

Feb 12, 2020

As a Civil Engineering student, this course has been very helpful for me. I do recommend to have this course in order to get the basic concept of wood science and its use as a building material.

by Postarnak E

Apr 25, 2020

This course will be helpful for everybody! Very interesting, with a lot of facts that make you understand and memorize the main ideas and thoughts. Thanks to West Virginia University!

by Alexandros C

Apr 23, 2020

This course was a wonderful experience in learning about forest - wood - timber - products. Thank you for sharing that knowledge. It is a trip of understanding the wood and it's uses

by samet

Jan 13, 2020

It was a great experience to learn wood, I am a civil engineer unfortunately we learn much of wood in school. Thanks to everyone who available us to learn this materials.

by Ronie C D J S

Nov 25, 2019

This is an awesome course! Such a fair conversation an dialogues about many technologies, as well as issues involved in the use of the wood resources. Highly recommended.

by David T

Mar 27, 2020

Short, sweet, simple, and concise while at the same time presenting a decent summary of key factors affecting wood use and harvest as it pertains to construction.

by Rajasekhar R

Apr 26, 2020

Thank you so much. Excellent lectures. Clear explanations in a practical view.

Thanks alot to coursera for providing this platform to learn.

Thanks to instructors

by Margaret

Apr 24, 2018

Very imformative, very engaging, very inspiring!

An awesome course to be taken and the knowledge shared here is simply shocking and usefull.

THANK YOU.

by Rangani s p

Apr 15, 2019

It is a very useful topic to everyone. It explains about the how human damage environment. And how we regulate the wastages of wood

by Laura K

May 20, 2020

Loved the course, so interesting and insightful. Very helpful for someone in the design/furniture/architecture industry.

by Dana L

Jun 22, 2019

I loved the course. Very informative, I shared some resource links with my mothernatureus facebook fanpage too.

by Yugantara S J

May 02, 2020

It was awesome experience during this course.I got to know many things related to wood.Thank you so much

by Kalliopi K

Mar 26, 2018

Great course for introduction to forestry with many information about wood science. GREAT teachers !

by Jeyhun R

Nov 28, 2019

It is not only theoretically but also practically educational. Thank you for such amazing course.

by Jason D M

Sep 04, 2019

A few of the external links are missing, the course is relaxed and well taught.

by Richard W

May 27, 2017

Very interesting course. The instructors, Larry and Jeff, were both excellent.