Chevron Left
Getting Started on Mainframe with z/OS Commands and Panels に戻る

IBM による Getting Started on Mainframe with z/OS Commands and Panels の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
345件の評価
62件のレビュー

コースについて

Getting Started with the IBM Mainframe with z/OS Commands and Panels is a mostly hands-on in an IBM Mainframe z/OS Environment. A total of seven labs will provide live access to an IBM Z server. The labs are designed to teach you the fundamental practical skills to navigate and work in a z/OS environment. This includes the use of ISPF/PDF dialogs, and TSO/E commands. On successful completion of this course, the learners are eligible to claim the Getting Started on Mainframe with z/OS Commands and Panels badge. More information can be found here: https://www.youracclaim.com/org/ibm/badge/getting-started-on-mainframe-with-z-os-commands-and-panels...

人気のレビュー

AT
2020年9月4日

Instructions are not rightly mentioned, it was tough to really make sense of the instructions passed in few of the excercises.\n\nHope that the semantics used in instructions is taken care of

SM
2021年10月19日

The course is wonderful and gives a comprehensive picture because of the theory as well as hands on lab exercises. Thanks to the educator for wonderful explanations.

フィルター:

Getting Started on Mainframe with z/OS Commands and Panels: 1 - 25 / 63 レビュー

by Vivian

2021年5月20日

Course is very go out and find the answer yourself, which for someone just starting down this education path was not helpful. I found myself struggling at every turn in the exercises, trying to decipher the correct action to take. Won't say anything else.

by Juan F B A

2019年11月7日

Seguimos aprendiendo de una manera amena. Trata los temas con claridad y facilitando el entendimiento. Buenos ejercicios.

by Ed S

2020年8月13日

Disappointing. Poorly laid out, sequence was confusing, and there were syntax and nomenclature errors throughout.

Some documents (ex:TSO manual) were not included, and I found that to manage through some of the labs, I had to google many topics.

The lectures were a high level overview of what might occur in the lab, providing little insight into why the tasks were being illustrated.

Quizzes should have been after the labs instead of after the lectures. While most of the information in the quizzes were covered in the lecture, it lacked relevance to the lab. One lecture "how to allocate a dataset, started with "Now that we have allocated a dataset, let's go ahead and use it" (I thought I had missed a section)

Some of the hints were syntactically incorrect (ex. exercise 4: sort x a 2 13 a 18 31 is incorrect, the manual shows ascending or descending arguments after the range). Some entries in the lab noted incorrect screen options.

Still, I derived som benefit fromtaking the class. I feel more comfortable moving around the ISPF screens and using TSO. I also think there is potential for the course to be much better if it is reviewed and proofread.

by zain m

2019年11月25日

It was tough and also most of the steps of the exercise were not cleared.

by PEI-CHUN Y

2020年10月29日

Does not provide enough detail examples for the exercises.

by Fabian d A G

2021年5月14日

Lot of things were lacking. Lectures were very terse and contained brief explanations. The sys admin assignments and quizzes were basically puzzles that had to be solved with the manual supplied (and the exercise hints). Might be easy for Mainframe developers who are familiar with the ISPF/TSO, but then again why would they take an introductory certification like this? IBM needs to update this course to a more structured approach with detailed content so that students who are completely new to the mainframe environment would not feel that this specialization is just "RTFM" coupled with few lecture videos. Don't need to take a course to do that.

by Bryan R

2020年5月30日

The lab manual needs a lot of work to make it more understandable and clear. The quizzes cover material not covered in the labs or the videos which is really frustrating.

by Ernesto P E

2020年6月6日

full of concepts that, somehow, does not makes clear the final goal of the course

by Kapil P D

2019年10月8日

Great course for getting your hands on with a mainframe TSO and IPSF features. I tried a lot to find the TSO/E Commands Reference guide mentioned in Week 3, but couldn't find it.

Also, I know you might have a good reason for this, but why doesn't this course use a VISTATN3270 emulator instead of making us go through the sluggish Skytap Lab. Its tedious to work with!

All in all, its a short and insightful deep dive into the word of zOS.

by Mansi B

2020年7月10日

As always, Coursera has helped me understand the concepts clearly. This course is excellent for the beginners. I will say that everything was explained properly with examples and detailed explanation. The tutor, Jeff Bisti has done an excellent job. Now, I have a better understanding of Mainframe.

THANK YOU COURSERA !

by Saul M

2020年7月10日

It was quite a bit of a steep learning curve for me coming from a different background. I enjoyed the IBM labs the most, was really challenging but i love challenges. The lectures are a little brief but i'm a self learner so it doesn't bother me. I'm now totally hooked. Looking forward to Course 3.

by Jerome C

2019年12月2日

Love this course. This course is where the rubber meets the road. You learn the ins and outs of commands and you are able to practice utilizing them in a live environment. I work in the mainframe field and I have learned a lot in this short course. I am excited for the next course in this series.

by Anu T

2020年9月5日

Instructions are not rightly mentioned, it was tough to really make sense of the instructions passed in few of the excercises.

Hope that the semantics used in instructions is taken care of

by Srinidhi M

2021年10月20日

The course is wonderful and gives a comprehensive picture because of the theory as well as hands on lab exercises. Thanks to the educator for wonderful explanations.

by Ali K

2020年2月8日

Please to add more power points or presentations while explaining topics. more visual material, better understanding for everyone.

by Karthikeyan D

2021年6月5日

Tips on Lab highly useful; Course design facilitates person independent learning. Excellent course!

by venkata S K

2020年6月9日

Thanks for the course, I brushed my skills back, the educator is really awesome,thanks Coursera

by Eduardo M

2020年7月28日

Exercises were really difficult i had to look for info from the ibm website to complete them

by Ridho W

2020年7月29日

Adding good knowledge about ibm z/os series make me confident in my future career. aamiin

by Marcelo A N S

2019年12月15日

Jeff,

Congratulation for this course, it´s very interest and strong in knowledge.

by Nidhi S

2020年5月22日

learned lot of commands and their sub commands, more core in the mainframe

by Anna U

2019年12月23日

A lot of info explained in a very clear manner with practical examples.

by Glenn R

2020年11月17日

Tough course - had to revert to earlier mainframe notes for this one

by Vishal K P

2020年7月5日

best course of tso and ispf with full explaination and lab material

by Theodore B

2019年9月24日

Learning material is of high standard, interactive, and re