Chevron Left
Big Data Modeling and Management Systems に戻る

カリフォルニア大学サンディエゴ校 による Big Data Modeling and Management Systems の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.4
2,877件の評価
486件のレビュー

コースについて

Once you’ve identified a big data issue to analyze, how do you collect, store and organize your data using Big Data solutions? In this course, you will experience various data genres and management tools appropriate for each. You will be able to describe the reasons behind the evolving plethora of new big data platforms from the perspective of big data management systems and analytical tools. Through guided hands-on tutorials, you will become familiar with techniques using real-time and semi-structured data examples. Systems and tools discussed include: AsterixDB, HP Vertica, Impala, Neo4j, Redis, SparkSQL. This course provides techniques to extract value from existing untapped data sources and discovering new data sources. At the end of this course, you will be able to: * Recognize different data elements in your own work and in everyday life problems * Explain why your team needs to design a Big Data Infrastructure Plan and Information System Design * Identify the frequent data operations required for various types of data * Select a data model to suit the characteristics of your data * Apply techniques to handle streaming data * Differentiate between a traditional Database Management System and a Big Data Management System * Appreciate why there are so many data management systems * Design a big data information system for an online game company This course is for those new to data science. Completion of Intro to Big Data is recommended. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Refer to the specialization technical requirements for complete hardware and software specifications. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge (except for data charges from your internet provider). Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

人気のレビュー

MP
2017年10月16日

Good Explanations of Concepts and Nice Tests. I got a trilling experience in completing the peer Assignments with keen observation and Analyzing of Concepts learned.Thanq for your course very much.

VG
2017年3月27日

Nice course to describe the traditional data modeling (RDBMS) as well as various semi-structured and un-structured data modeling and management of the systems (Batch and Streaming data processing)

フィルター:

Big Data Modeling and Management Systems: 451 - 475 / 477 レビュー

by Christine G

2017年8月9日

Capstone assignment was disappointing.

by Marco F

2018年4月24日

Final assignemet is too hard.

by Juan A R

2017年5月11日

poco contenido práctico

by Ra'ed A

2019年5月7日

Fix the mistakes!

by Ruowang Z

2020年4月24日

too simplistic

by Barend M

2017年7月13日

.

by Nathaniel M

2021年8月26日

This is a difficult subject to teach in an online introduction course, but this was assembled poorly and in need of a reboot. The lectures appear dated, lengthy, and lack much substance (outside of the final lecture). The final, peer graded assessment is a joke. 5/6 peer assignments I graded were the exact, word-for-word copied answers from an internet source. I received a failing review on my first submission with 0 explanation for the grades. I spent the majority of my time in this course not gaining knowledge about BDM, but overcoming bugs associated with running outdated Oracle VM and petitioning to get valid reviews of my final assessment. Easily the worst course taken so far on Coursera.

by Othmane B

2016年11月12日

The course a materials are interesting and with significant value, same comment on the teachers, this would be perfect if the third party(the VM) is working fine, I can't say I'm happy about the course where the frustration is probably the right word describing my feeling right now, wish me luck for this week, I might pass might not ......

by Erik P

2017年10月3日

I think some real polish needs to be applied to the final assignment in this course. Some of the questions are not formatted well for the coursera web site.. and even on my macbook pro retina I am seeing text overrunning the text box. Really want to see UCSD represented better

by Izabelle A

2019年4月10日

Cannot finish Twitter activities as commands shown in the video apparently don´t work with the most recent pyhton version. I am very disappointed about it, since I am mostly focused on Twitter-related data.

by Abdulrahman A T

2020年7月20日

The course does not add much knowledge if you came from computer science field. It touches the very basics. The exercises are simple, and the final project is very vague.

by akhil r k

2016年10月24日

I wish the courses are more project oriented. This is a very good introduction but, atleast you could provide some optional projects or some tasks.

by Otto E

2021年9月21日

The content is good but this course needs an extensive update of the course material (labs and power point presentations).

by Ján M

2021年4月18日

I spent a lot of time setting up VM, as packages from python and libreoffice wasn't working

by Enric P C

2019年2月8日

I have found this course less attractive to follow than other Big Data courses

by Riccardo P

2018年4月20日

Barely an introduction, it could be somehow merged with the course #1

by VAIBHAV

2020年5月24日

some concepts are too concisely explained to get on clearly

by Lucas A H

2019年1月18日

Too simple for a persona that's already in the BI industry

by Joaquim P

2019年6月11日

Too simple.

by Jessica H

2021年8月30日

The cloudera vm used by the course requires login credentials (which students do not have) in order to correctly update and install the software using the commands given. Looking at the forum, there have been problems with software updates for quite some time, but as of Feb this year students are unable to do the updates needed outright per https://docs.cloudera.com/documentation/enterprise/release-notes/topics/cm-retrofit-auth-downloads.html. The short version, you will notice you are asked to use librasheets and will how no ability to do so.

by Marshall

2021年8月5日

The state of this course is unacceptable for anyone not familiar with troubleshooting LInux. The software is woefully outdated. I do not recommend this course until the instructors apply the needed updates. Coursera should probably remove this course, considering it's a paid service.

by Andrey A

2021年4月16日

Worst course I had ever. The hands-on materials are out of date. The teachers are not available for discussions. The course in unclear. Even, the final project description is ambiguous. Waste of time and money

by Felipe D

2021年2月5日

It uses technologies which has no support, and the activities where there are problems reported by the users, are days ago abandoned by the moderators.

by Somya T

2021年4月28日

Very old course and all hands on materials are outdated and you spend more time figuring it out than the actual course

by Santosh P

2021年9月15日

The vm provided is not working and no support. I have to stop learning this course.