Chevron Left
Big Data Modeling and Management Systems に戻る

カリフォルニア大学サンディエゴ校 による Big Data Modeling and Management Systems の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.4
2,543件の評価
414件のレビュー

コースについて

Once you’ve identified a big data issue to analyze, how do you collect, store and organize your data using Big Data solutions? In this course, you will experience various data genres and management tools appropriate for each. You will be able to describe the reasons behind the evolving plethora of new big data platforms from the perspective of big data management systems and analytical tools. Through guided hands-on tutorials, you will become familiar with techniques using real-time and semi-structured data examples. Systems and tools discussed include: AsterixDB, HP Vertica, Impala, Neo4j, Redis, SparkSQL. This course provides techniques to extract value from existing untapped data sources and discovering new data sources. At the end of this course, you will be able to: * Recognize different data elements in your own work and in everyday life problems * Explain why your team needs to design a Big Data Infrastructure Plan and Information System Design * Identify the frequent data operations required for various types of data * Select a data model to suit the characteristics of your data * Apply techniques to handle streaming data * Differentiate between a traditional Database Management System and a Big Data Management System * Appreciate why there are so many data management systems * Design a big data information system for an online game company This course is for those new to data science. Completion of Intro to Big Data is recommended. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Refer to the specialization technical requirements for complete hardware and software specifications. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge (except for data charges from your internet provider). Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

人気のレビュー

MP

Oct 17, 2017

Good Explanations of Concepts and Nice Tests. I got a trilling experience in completing the peer Assignments with keen observation and Analyzing of Concepts learned.Thanq for your course very much.

VG

Mar 28, 2017

Nice course to describe the traditional data modeling (RDBMS) as well as various semi-structured and un-structured data modeling and management of the systems (Batch and Streaming data processing)

フィルター:

Big Data Modeling and Management Systems: 276 - 300 / 404 レビュー

by Jimmy F

Dec 11, 2018

I wanted to see more big data issues in the final test.

by Marco A G O

Sep 10, 2019

More focus on theory than practice, but a nice course.

by Parinya H

Feb 28, 2019

Good content and recommend for modeling Big Data.

by Lukáš B

Dec 01, 2017

Too much abstract topic to perceive all things.

by Álvaro G C

Oct 31, 2016

So useful and focus on main basic aspects.

by Pradhyumn A

May 24, 2020

word-choice should have been better...

by Yogesh P

Mar 17, 2018

Good Course covering Modelling systems

by Piero T

Nov 23, 2016

Peer Assignment is not too clear

by Aman S

Aug 04, 2018

No practical approach for BDMS

by Jorge d l C

Feb 11, 2019

Basic for database developers

by Mehul P

Dec 31, 2017

Nice overview to get into it.

by Marcelo G D L

May 23, 2020

Un poco desactuaizado

by Ismail A I

Feb 20, 2017

Very well explained

by Iskan S

Nov 28, 2019

it is very helpful

by Ganesan R

May 27, 2020

Enjoyed reading

by Antonia I

Jul 24, 2018

It was fine.

by Keith B

Jul 05, 2017

Good module.

by Jyothi k

Mar 19, 2017

good cource

by ahmedossama.201461

Apr 23, 2017

Tool !

by SUTHAHAR P

May 16, 2020

Good

by Marwan E M

Mar 28, 2018

Interesting course and valuable theoretical notions. However, i would have preferred that it contains more practical (challenging) tasks especially that most if not all classmates have sufficient IT background and the hands-on were too simple. Moreover, it is easier to understand theoretical knowledge when we apply them in practice. The course creators might have thought to leave all challenging practical work for the final project but i would suggest to include mini-projet at the end of each course. Another point regarding the final assignment of the 6th week, it would have been better to do something similar before it, many classmates and I were confused and unsure about how to answer some questions and we had to evaluate each other's work while being unsure if our own submissions were correct or not.

by Anurag S

Sep 13, 2018

As far as the content is concerned, this is a very good course. Concepts are explained well.

What I disliked about the course is the final peer-reviewed problem.

1. The instructions were unclear about what was needed to be done.

2. When submitting, the HTML of the problem got badly garbled.

3. When reviewing peer submissions, for the first part nobody could read their submission because of the garbled format.

4. Most people did not get the second and third questions right but instead of there being a way to evaluate how much they understood, it was a yes/no option to grade them (which amount to either them passing or failing).

I think this is a promising specialization but the instructors need to pay heed to the bevy of complaints in the various forums.

by Jonnie

Jun 29, 2020

This had good information logically presented. However, there are two hands-on activities whose instructions have been out-of-date and incorrect since at least 2016. It is not possible to complete these hands-on activities by following the instructions, and no one on the discussion boards has been able to come up with a solution. The hands-on exercises are very important to allow a learner to reinforce and solidify in their own minds the lessons. Without them, the value of the entire lesson suffers. And if the hands-on exercises are not ever being updated nor corrected for errors, how do I know the other course material is still accurate and relevant? It seems updates to the courses are not made.

by Cyprien H

Dec 25, 2017

The course in itself is quite good, although there are many concepts presented in a few videos only.

The bug flaw is the final peer review assignment. Questions are unclear; It is a pain to complete. When reviewing your peers, expect the same issues: you are left alone to interpret if what was done corresponds to what is expected. I guess instructors intended to make something simple but it is definitely not.

And the most frustrating thing is that this has been a recurring complain (see the forum), and nothing has changed so far.

by Seyyed E S

Jan 23, 2017

1. The course is very general and high level introduction.

2. During the lectures there are some examples that in some cases are presented as very small images and briefly. I personally could not understand some examples presented in week 5.

3. I found the hands-on lectures very helpful. I wish there was more that would delve into more examples in more details.

4. The course was very overpriced given the amount of information offered compared to other courses I have taken at coursera.

Thanks.