Chevron Left
Introduction to the Biology of Cancer に戻る

ジョンズ・ホプキンズ大学(Johns Hopkins University) による Introduction to the Biology of Cancer の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
5,652件の評価
1,144件のレビュー

コースについて

Over 500,000 people in the United States and over 8 million people worldwide are dying every year from cancer. As people live longer, the incidence of cancer is rising worldwide and the disease is expected to strike over 20 million people annually by 2030. This open course is designed for people who would like to develop an understanding of cancer and how it is prevented, diagnosed, and treated. The course introduces the molecular biology of cancer (oncogenes and tumor suppressor genes) as well as the biologic hallmarks of cancer. The course also describes the risk factors for the major cancers worldwide, including lung cancer, breast cancer, colon cancer, prostate cancer, liver cancer, and stomach cancer. We explain how cancer is staged, the major ways cancer is found by imaging, and how the major cancers are treated. In addition to the core materials, this course includes two Honors lessons devoted to cancers of the liver and prostate. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: - Identify the major types of cancer worldwide. (Lecture 1) - Describe how genes contribute to the risk and growth of cancer. (Lecture 2) - List and describe the ten cellular hallmarks of cancer. (Lecture 3) - Define metastasis, and identify the major steps in the metastatic process. (Lecture 4) - Describe the role of imaging in the screening, diagnosis, staging, and treatments of cancer. (Lecture 5) - Explain how cancer is treated. (Lecture 6) We hope that this course gives you a basic understanding of cancer biology and treatment. The course is not designed for patients seeking treatment guidance – but it can help you understand how cancer develops and provides a framework for understanding cancer diagnosis and treatment....

人気のレビュー

AH
2017年3月17日

I am an Undergraduate student and i didnt even read oncology subject, but this course not just start the beginer level , butt gradually it goes in depth and the flow of lectuures and topics is smooth

AK
2020年7月31日

Excellent course for anyone interested in knowing more about the origin, diagnosis and treatment of cancer, even for beginners. Thanks to JHU for putting such an excellent course material together!

フィルター:

Introduction to the Biology of Cancer: 51 - 75 / 1,121 レビュー

by Jyotirika Y

2020年6月23日

This course helped me to get in depth with what 'cancer' is. We get exposed to 'cancer' as something which is associated with negative ideologies and conditions; however, one is not bothered enough to look into what it actually is and how it affects the lives of people. I have always been curious as to how 'cancer' is formed and in what way it affects the human body in a more descriptive and biological way. It was really educational and informative.

by Babu Y

2020年5月4日

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for the wonderful course package provided by your Team of Members. I finished my certification at the earliest as the lectures and course content was very interesting. It was very lucid and was in brief. I thank the Course Coordinator Prof. Kenneth Pienta for the wonderful streamlining of the course content. Many congratulations to you and your team. It came as a free course for which am very indebted. Thank you all again.

by KAWTHAR A

2019年11月9日

I am now able to Identify the major types of cancer

List and describe the hallmarks of cancer

I can differentitate that the contribution of genes to the risk and growth of cancer

Define metastasis and identify the major steps in the metastatic process

I can describe the role of imaging in the screening,diagnosis,staging,and treatment of cancer

And i can explain how cancer is treated

And importantly i can explain how cancer is treated

by Henita C

2019年10月13日

The course was very informative and helpful. I had signed up for the certified course but still haven’t received the certificate even after completion, my mail I’d is correct because I’ve received all other mails and some link to verify my name for certification is also not opening. I hope you can look into my complaint and certify me as soon as possible. Thank you for considering. I also look forward to enroll into new courses soon.

by Nesterenko Y

2016年9月20日

This course emphasis brief introduction to biology of cancer. Here by simple words and examples you can discover which risk factors can cause cancer and what prevention needs to be done to minimize chance of cancer occurrence etc. I will suggest this course to all my colleges. I am really pleased for passing this course.

I wish all group Introduction to the Biology of Cancer further inspiration to create new interesting courses.

by María J B C

2021年3月8日

First i would like to say that the course is an amazing key to open your mind about the biology of the cancer and brings us the basic information that we should know about it.

I really like the structure and explanation about the content of each week, and the way you involved every topic with others specially with the Hallmarks of cancer, allowing us to understand the molecular mechanisms and treatments of this complex disease

by divya

2020年6月28日

I an very thank full to johns Hopkins university, I learned so many things from this course i.e 10 cellular hallmarks and therapy...., especially this course is use full for those who wants to work in research and development and health care professions too and In last video they mentioned some web site -information on clinical trials and different cancers so we can easily access the information from those web site

by Ruchi T

2019年4月28日

I would like to thank coursera to consider me eligible for the scholarship. I have completed the course with a cent percent result, hence proving my interest in the subject. The course was beautifully presented and explained by all the professors. It was brief and knowledgeable at the same time. The quizzes after each lecture have helped in clearing the main quiz. The course was all in all very knowledgeable. Thankyou

by Mrutyunjaya P

2020年4月27日

This is one of the best courses I had taken on Cancer, to date. I acquired much new knowledge on the fundamentals and basics of Cancer Biology and would definitely use this knowledge as a baseline for my further academic pursuits and the lot many research works that I will do in my life. Thank You, Dr. Pienta and his wonderful team - Dr. Amend, Dr. Jelani, Dr. Valkenburg and Miss Reyes.

by Vignesh R

2019年5月21日

Thank you very much, Dr. Kenneth Pienta, for providing such an engaging course throughout 6 weeks, and I enjoyed every content of this course that is well structured especially Ten hallmarks of cancer, TNM staging, cancer imaging, and various types of cancer treatments. Overall, it is a comprehensive cancer biology course. Looking forward to having an intermediate level of this course.

by 黄婷婷

2018年8月7日

I'm a project manager working in new drug discovery and IND-enalbling projects, mainly for anti-cancer filed. this course is easy to understand and involved a lot of useful knowledge to facilitate understanding of the rational of new drug, in which the mechanisms are ofter related to some of the hallmarks of cancer. Thanks you very much for making and sharing the course, very nice job.

by Kishan P

2020年6月17日

The course is really good & very informative. The course content is just perfect for any new born in the area. Apparently, the instructors provide to the point information about the topic.

Thanks to the instructors for making such a course; it really planted the basic biology of cancer in me & also deepened its understanding by providing an HONORS in it .

Great Work please keep going .

by Melisa E

2020年10月5日

It was exactly what I would expect from an intermediate level course. It never lost my attention or made me feel like I was in over my head, while keeping me interested at all times through the quality and quantity of new relevant information about cancer. I'm glad I took this course and feel like I can distinguish myself from my peers with this insight! Thank you very much.

by Brita F

2016年12月19日

An excellent course! Whoever is interested in the development and metastasis of cancer should take this course. The lectures are very well presented and structured, so they are quite easy to follow even for a layman. I found the part on the hallmarks of cancer particularly interesting - a course that would go into more detail here would be on my wish list for future courses.

by Markos V

2019年7月22日

This is a great course! I do not have a medical background so it helped me understand several concepts. I liked the fact that after each session I had to answer quizzes to move on. On the improvement side, I would like to see the face of the person who is lecturing to make it more personal.

Thanks a lot for the amazing course, for sure I will come back to review it again!

by Kodagoda G I T

2021年4月18日

I was waiting to learn about cancers because my mother died due to cancer when I was 15 years old. Thank you so much for giving me the opportunity to learn about this disease. I hope that everyone should know about this disease very well in order to prevent this disease. I would like to thank the lecturer and Coursera for providing a wonderful study environment for me.

by Afsana R M

2020年8月9日

It's an amazing course! The pathophysiology of metastasis, all the hallmarks of cancer, various treatment options for each type of cancer- all these are taught here with great excellency in this course. As a medical student, I am greatly benefited by this course. Finally I am grateful to the course ordinator and all other members who have made this course so wonderful.

by Aravin k

2020年7月26日

This course is very informative and the content is very easily grasped. It is a beginner level course whereby people without a basic understanding of biology are able to participate. Furthermore, the quizzes ensure that you follow the course well enough. All the professors in this course did a fantastic job of making the course content short and highly informative.

by BRAIZON Q G E A *

2020年10月29日

Este curso contiene información muy precisa e interesante acerca de muchos aspectos moleculares del cáncer y como se tratan los diferentes tipos de canceres en la actualidad. considero que es un muy buen curso para aquellas personas que desean iniciar una carrera investigativa relacionada con el cáncer ya sea en el área de la salud o de las ciencias biológicas

by Letícia C C d S

2020年7月18日

Um curso maravilhoso. Tive a oportunidade de revisar algumas informações e aprender bastante sobre o tema. Os professores que lecionam o curso são muito bons, tudo é dado de forma simples e direta, sendo fácil entender e não ficando cansativo. Adquiri um grande conhecimento e espero que isso possa fazer a diferença em minhas futuras pesquisas. Adorei.

by Sarah S

2017年4月11日

I work for a worldwide cancer research charity and found the course to be an excellent, challenging introduction to cancer biology. I particularly liked the fact that the course pointed towards some of the major questions that researchers are working around the clock answer, and that core materials were supplemented with examples of current research.

by Lora M

2021年3月2日

An excellent introduction to cancer course for students who have a general understanding of science. Some concepts (names of drugs, cell types & cellular processes) can be challenging for those who do not have a science background. Overall- this course provided outstanding information about cancer as it relates to types, diagnosis, and treatment.

by Dipto K S

2020年4月30日

This is an important topic now a days.In this course I have learned some types of cancer, which gene is responsible for cancer, how many people in the world are suffering from cancer, what is the treatment of cancer and known some chemotherapy. I hope this course will help me in future. And i thank to the instructor to help me in this course.

by laura r

2016年12月15日

Great Course, was literally hooked as content was very informative and well structured. Not too overwhelming with massive information. This is a brief but effective intro to cancer - however if you are not from a medical background you do have to do some background reading to understand pathways and functions of sub cellular components.

by Abija J

2020年8月20日

This course is really simple and it is designed in such a manner that somebody from not a biology background can also understand the concepts very well..it was a great opportunity for me to learn about a subject in which I am planning to pursue my research work..thanks a lot to the professors of this course as well as the organisers..