Chevron Left
Introduction to the Biology of Cancer に戻る

ジョンズ・ホプキンズ大学(Johns Hopkins University) による Introduction to the Biology of Cancer の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
5,954件の評価
1,192件のレビュー

コースについて

Over 500,000 people in the United States and over 8 million people worldwide are dying every year from cancer. As people live longer, the incidence of cancer is rising worldwide and the disease is expected to strike over 20 million people annually by 2030. This open course is designed for people who would like to develop an understanding of cancer and how it is prevented, diagnosed, and treated. The course introduces the molecular biology of cancer (oncogenes and tumor suppressor genes) as well as the biologic hallmarks of cancer. The course also describes the risk factors for the major cancers worldwide, including lung cancer, breast cancer, colon cancer, prostate cancer, liver cancer, and stomach cancer. We explain how cancer is staged, the major ways cancer is found by imaging, and how the major cancers are treated. In addition to the core materials, this course includes two Honors lessons devoted to cancers of the liver and prostate. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: - Identify the major types of cancer worldwide. (Lecture 1) - Describe how genes contribute to the risk and growth of cancer. (Lecture 2) - List and describe the ten cellular hallmarks of cancer. (Lecture 3) - Define metastasis, and identify the major steps in the metastatic process. (Lecture 4) - Describe the role of imaging in the screening, diagnosis, staging, and treatments of cancer. (Lecture 5) - Explain how cancer is treated. (Lecture 6) We hope that this course gives you a basic understanding of cancer biology and treatment. The course is not designed for patients seeking treatment guidance – but it can help you understand how cancer develops and provides a framework for understanding cancer diagnosis and treatment....

人気のレビュー

AH
2017年3月17日

I am an Undergraduate student and i didnt even read oncology subject, but this course not just start the beginer level , butt gradually it goes in depth and the flow of lectuures and topics is smooth

AK
2020年7月31日

Excellent course for anyone interested in knowing more about the origin, diagnosis and treatment of cancer, even for beginners. Thanks to JHU for putting such an excellent course material together!

フィルター:

Introduction to the Biology of Cancer: 76 - 100 / 1,181 レビュー

by Lora M

2021年3月2日

An excellent introduction to cancer course for students who have a general understanding of science. Some concepts (names of drugs, cell types & cellular processes) can be challenging for those who do not have a science background. Overall- this course provided outstanding information about cancer as it relates to types, diagnosis, and treatment.

by Dipto K S

2020年4月30日

This is an important topic now a days.In this course I have learned some types of cancer, which gene is responsible for cancer, how many people in the world are suffering from cancer, what is the treatment of cancer and known some chemotherapy. I hope this course will help me in future. And i thank to the instructor to help me in this course.

by laura r

2016年12月15日

Great Course, was literally hooked as content was very informative and well structured. Not too overwhelming with massive information. This is a brief but effective intro to cancer - however if you are not from a medical background you do have to do some background reading to understand pathways and functions of sub cellular components.

by Abija J

2020年8月20日

This course is really simple and it is designed in such a manner that somebody from not a biology background can also understand the concepts very well..it was a great opportunity for me to learn about a subject in which I am planning to pursue my research work..thanks a lot to the professors of this course as well as the organisers..

by Anushree D

2020年12月13日

I feel honored to complete this course under the guidance of Johns Hopkins University. I express my gratitude towards all the expert mentors for acknowledging me with this developing issue in the medical stream and broadening my spectrum towards accepting cancer as a challenge. Looking forward for many new courses regarding the same!

by Todd L

2020年12月28日

This course educated me to a much higher level in cancer biology. I would recommend this course to anyone, that wants to gain said knowledge. Thank You, all instructors, and others, for putting this course together. I'm a master beekeeper, University of Montana, bee sting therapist, Pollinator Champion, Michigan State University,

by SHARNALI A

2020年9月3日

This course was informative, yet not too overflowing with information which can leave the learners confused. This is a perfect course for anyone who wants to get basic yet sufficient knowledge on cancer biology in order to pursue a career in research on cancers. I am glad I took this course during the lock-down. Highly recommended.

by Adekunle S

2020年7月29日

I learnt a lot from this course. The docs. and profs. made the modules so basic and understandable to those that are new to the idea of cancer biology. I'm a biochemistry student at the university and I hope to continue in cancer research in my postgrad studies. This course was a stepping stone for sure. I appreciate the exposure.

by Jennifer E

2017年5月11日

I took the course as I recently obtained a new career as a clinical research coordinator on an oncology unit. As a nurse, I have had no experience in oncology other than the short time in nursing school. This was a wonderful refresher and will make a tremendous difference in my transition to my new role as a nurse in oncology.

by nadeem r

2019年10月10日

I was very informative to me. I learn different kind of cancer and there treatment, I came to know that what are drawback of cancer. If we dose not dignose it at time it can be a very dangerous and can effect almost all part of body . Thanks very much to my all faculty whose teach me very well . God bless you all . Thanks

by Pavithra K

2016年7月9日

I was working at a lab last summer where I worked on breast cancer cells. A lot of the signalling pathways taught as examples in this course is what I worked on. I loved this course. The Professors are fantastic and very knowledgeable. I would recommend this course for anyone who is very passionate about cancer biology.

by Andrew P

2017年2月5日

This course is awesome. As a current research technologist in this field, this course gives me great knowledge of cancer. I recommend anyone who is interested in this field. However, this course by itself won't give you everything. It is a course where you want to begin with if you want to begin a career of this field.

by Vita S

2016年9月20日

It is quite informative and useful course for begginers. I'm working with clinical trials, so I know so many cases, so many details, but this course has made a basement for my building.

Thank you! Highly recommended for those, who know smth, but want to make all knowledge in order and prepare your 'brain shelves'

by Vignesh A K

2020年7月30日

This was a very informative course and I learnt a lot about cancer doing this course. The instructors were clear, precise and at the right pace. A big thanks to all the instructors. The only feedback that I have is that the quizzes could be made a mit more complex to test the knowledge gained by the students.

by Matheus H T

2020年4月10日

Muito interessante para profissionais que tenham algum envolvimento e queiram se aprofundar um pouco mais nesta área, seja para fins acadêmicos ou para conhecimento pessoal. É extremamente didático e de fácil compreensão até mesmo em questões altamente teóricas, o que contribui para sua já estimada excelência

by Tom R

2016年10月22日

Thanks so much! Professor Kenneth Pienta and your team, you are so well prepared and the presentation is empowering. One is able to follow the step by step flow of information and tips. I enjoyed this course. As a health educator/promoter, it helps me act as a good source of information. Thank you once again.

by JULIANA S

2020年10月27日

One of the best courses I have taken at Coursera so far. I enjoyed every minute of it. This course helped me to learn the biological mechanism of cancer and how it behaves in each organ it is present. I definitely recommend this course to anyone who wishes to have a deeper and better understanding of cancer.

by José C C R

2020年1月3日

A great course with very interesting subjects related to origin of metastasis and how it currently affects comprehension of cancer and its spreading through human body. At the same time, teachers are capable of teaching these topics with relatively easiness, so that one can learn even without noticing it.

by Luis A R R

2020年7月18日

Muchas felicitaciones al equipo que estuvo detras de este gran curso, aprendi mucho sobre la biologia del cancer y su tratamiento, espero se encuentren nuevas formas de poder erradicar canceres metastasicos que trae consigo muchas muertes y poder alargar el tiempo de vida de las personas. Felicidades !!

by Anna R

2018年3月11日

A great course, very basic though. I haven't purchased a certificate as i only wanted to get familiar with the topic. Biology of cancer is very interesting to me but absolutely useless in my job)

So this course is absolutely designed for me - there is all important information given in a very simple way.

by Fernanda D

2019年12月22日

Pensei em começar testando esse curso já que admiro muito a Johns Hopkins University e também por ter interesse em seguir me aprofundando no estudo do câncer e genética. Com toda certeza o conhecimento adquirido com as aulas será útil para meus próximos anos tanto na faculdade quanto depois dela.

by Zhuneng Z

2016年11月30日

The course has a high quality. The teaching method is clear and easy to understand. Instructors also provide a lot of graphs which are helpful. Though the course is easier than I expected, I still think it's a good course for students who want to know fundamental knowledge about cancer biology.

by Andy E L O

2019年12月9日

Excelente curso, muy didáctico, ayuda bastante a complementar ciertas bases de conocimiento sobre la oncología.

Los expositores de los vídeos realizan ejemplos sobre temáticas de cáncer de forma que uno pueda entender mejor.

Agradecido y con expectativas de realizar mas cursos por Coursera.

by Rachel R R

2017年4月17日

Informative, organized, and targeted for learning. Dr. Pienta and the other Hopkins professionals involved in putting this course together did an excellent job and were engaging throughout. I hope more material like this from Johns Hopkins becomes available in the not-so-distant future.

by �Sadman S R

2020年7月9日

A very useful course for learning about cancer, metastasis, cancer imaging, cancer prevention, cancer screening, cancer staging, and treatment. I found the name of factors and medicines a bit difficult because I was not familiar with them beforehand but those are not this course's fault.