Chevron Left
Introduction to the Biology of Cancer に戻る

ジョンズ・ホプキンズ大学(Johns Hopkins University) による Introduction to the Biology of Cancer の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
3,848件の評価
812件のレビュー

コースについて

Over 500,000 people in the United States and over 8 million people worldwide are dying every year from cancer. As people live longer, the incidence of cancer is rising worldwide and the disease is expected to strike over 20 million people annually by 2030. This open course is designed for people who would like to develop an understanding of cancer and how it is prevented, diagnosed, and treated. The course introduces the molecular biology of cancer (oncogenes and tumor suppressor genes) as well as the biologic hallmarks of cancer. The course also describes the risk factors for the major cancers worldwide, including lung cancer, breast cancer, colon cancer, prostate cancer, liver cancer, and stomach cancer. We explain how cancer is staged, the major ways cancer is found by imaging, and how the major cancers are treated. In addition to the core materials, this course includes two Honors lessons devoted to cancers of the liver and prostate. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: - Identify the major types of cancer worldwide. (Lecture 1) - Describe how genes contribute to the risk and growth of cancer. (Lecture 2) - List and describe the ten cellular hallmarks of cancer. (Lecture 3) - Define metastasis, and identify the major steps in the metastatic process. (Lecture 4) - Describe the role of imaging in the screening, diagnosis, staging, and treatments of cancer. (Lecture 5) - Explain how cancer is treated. (Lecture 6) We hope that this course gives you a basic understanding of cancer biology and treatment. The course is not designed for patients seeking treatment guidance – but it can help you understand how cancer develops and provides a framework for understanding cancer diagnosis and treatment....

人気のレビュー

AH

Mar 18, 2017

I am an Undergraduate student and i didnt even read oncology subject, but this course not just start the beginer level , butt gradually it goes in depth and the flow of lectuures and topics is smooth

FA

Jun 06, 2020

It was a course of much interest. Everything is explained very simply. I have learned lot of important information. I am delighted to be able to do this online course at JOHNS HOPIKNS university.

フィルター:

Introduction to the Biology of Cancer: 76 - 100 / 800 レビュー

by Mariana S D

May 10, 2020

Very nice introductory course! the lectures are easy to follow and the diagrams used are very helpful. Overall, I would really recommend this course to anyone who is thinking of going into cancer research or even Medicine students like me who wanted to know more about the subject

by Rohit P

Jun 08, 2020

Very well compiled information for anyone who is willing to invest a little energy into understanding cancer and it's dynamics. Might get a little complex for people with a non-medicine background in the last week but learn to ignore what you don't require and you'll be great!

by Miss N A

Jun 10, 2020

This course really ensures me to get to the univerity in this related field which I do aim to be a doctor of medicine.In terms of knowledge, I believe the content is quite suitable for those who are beginners, like me, and the arrangement of these lessons appears appropriate.

by Polina A

Apr 14, 2020

Amazing course. I enjoyed every bit of it! Although it is said to be for beginners, I loved that the course included more in depth information for those who are interested (for example, names of specific proteins, tumour suppressor factors, oncogenes, mutation, ligands etc).

by Jessica A J

May 15, 2020

New NP, hoping to branch in the world of surgical oncology. I have a critical care background and took this course as both a refresher for some concepts and an introduction to oncology. It was very helpful and informative, I glad I did this as a type of independent study.

by Mariia K

Jun 06, 2019

Sehr interessanter Kurs, alle Grundlagen der Biologie der Tumoren sind sehr ausführlich erklärt. Die Statistik bezieht sich auf die Vereinigten Staaten und ist ein bisschen veraltet, veranschaulicht trotzdem die Aktualität des Themas sehr gut. Ich fand es faszinierend :)

by Larissa

May 20, 2016

Interesting introduction, very detailed with screening, staging (TNM) and treatment steps per most common cancers worldwide. Very clinical and with a glimp of promising research (clinical trials), only the counselling part of the patient is missing in this course.

by Alharith H A

Jun 18, 2020

It was an amazing course with simple explaining of the main principles of cancer starting from definition to the different types of treatment.

I have benefited from this course and I fully hope to join more courses about caner.

Thank you very much for all doctors.

by khalid i

Dec 02, 2019

It was really a good decision for me to use my time in logging in for cousera giving me a better understaning of basics of cancer and i would love to join other courses if their there is a support of finacial aid to students like me who have no source of income.

by José A M E

Sep 17, 2017

It was really good, very basic though. You can learn new concepts. It´s a course that any person can take, actually, most people should learn about the concepts and new theory about cancer because it is a problem that we all are going to deal with in the future.

by Cristina d Z B

Jun 03, 2020

Aprendí muchísimo con este curso. Ha merecido la pena hacerlo. El contenido es de buen nivel y la forma de explicar que tienen es genial. Te hace interesarte mucho por el temario y con los vídeos se hace mucho más sencillo el aprendizaje. Muy contenta, gracias!

by Mykhailo T

Feb 23, 2020

It is a well organised and great structured course! However, it would be helpful to have some questions improved and proof-read. Also, there could be more extra information included or, otherwise, I am looking forward towards the advanced course from your team!

by Miao G

Jan 28, 2020

It is a very good introduction course for someone who has no background in biology or medicine. The course content is very well so that it is easy to follow and is a joy to learn all the important aspect without feeling frustrated for unable to understand.

by salil g

Jun 30, 2020

I really enjoyed the course and by the end of it i was feeling a bit more confident than before. I would like to thank those who gave the lectures :)! I highly recommend for those who wants to have a strong foundation about cancer. Very satisfied overall.

by Ranya S

Apr 08, 2020

Highly recommend this course to anyone interested in Biology or the practical applications of this subject to the real world. Very enjoyable lectures combined with challenging quizzes thoroughly engaged me and pushed me to research these topics further.

by Alexandra C P

Mar 18, 2019

Fue un curso genial. El material es muy completo y además los profesores explicaron muy bien todos los temas abordados. Fue un excelente complemento para mis estudios. Agradezco mucho la oportunidad y la excelencia con la que fue elaborada este curso.

by Danny H

Oct 24, 2016

Great introductory course to cancer. I love how the course includes the clinical side as well as the biological implications of cancer and provides the information in a very simplistic style. The coursework is not overwhelming and I loved this course.

by Gnaneshwar P V

Jan 06, 2018

Best way of learning ..this course provided with detailed information covering all basics from cell to clinical studies and treatment.best for people who likes to know about cancer and for people who are working related to cancer from other fields.

by Loïc J

Nov 17, 2016

Very good course giving a broad overview of what cancer is and how we diagnose and cure it.

Don't expect to be a specialist of cancer after it, it's only an introduction. But it is a good introduction giving some bases if you want to go further.

by Susanta S

Mar 10, 2018

In this short course, the presenters on each faculty have explained well the must to know of Cancer Biology. I was knowing nothing about cancer and can understand now different cause of cancer, diagnosis and treatment of the same. Thanks

by Zhang Y J

Sep 19, 2016

The course is quite simple and easy to follow. Very suitable for students who have no understandings in this area. The workload is also small so I suggest those who were major in biology or chemistry you dont have to follow this course.

by Alina I

May 13, 2017

I am a medical student, and I was familiar with most concepts delivered in this course, but I can assure material is delivered extremelly clearly and can be grasped by anyone with basic biology background. Great introductory course!

by Jaswandi

Jun 17, 2020

Indeed a great course for one who wishes to know the basics of Cancer occurrence, progression and treatment. Kudos to the professors for putting up the otherwise complicated topic in much simpler word possible. Thank you very much.

by KHUSHMAN T

May 28, 2019

This course is very informative and covers majority of required and interesting information about cancer and its treatment. Anyone interested to have a knowledge about cancer basics would surely benefit by attending this course.

by Rahul D

May 23, 2020

It was indeed an awesome course. This course helped me in knowing so much about Cancer which I never knew before. It was indeed very interesting and all the professors have so proficient presentation skills. Thank you so much.