Chevron Left
Fundamentals of Music Theory に戻る

エディンバラ大学(The University of Edinburgh) による Fundamentals of Music Theory の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
1,014件の評価
279件のレビュー

コースについて

This course will introduce students to the theory of music, providing them with the skills needed to read and write Western music notation, as well as to understand, analyse, and listen informedly. It will cover material such as pitches and scales, intervals, clefs, rhythm, form, meter, phrases and cadences, and basic harmony. This course covers the fundamentals of Western music theory, from the absolute basics to some more advanced concepts and, as such, is the perfect course for beginners and more experienced musicians alike. Follow us on twitter @musictheorymooc #edmusictheory...

人気のレビュー

SS

Aug 23, 2017

It was a very nice course. We were able to understand the basics of music theory and how the notations and chords work. Thank you so much to the entire staff of Edinburgh University and Coursera..:-)

MM

Apr 12, 2019

As a Buzzok player and a software engineer, this course encourages me to play on my instrument differently and to think in a new web application for music discipline !!\n\nThank you very much

フィルター:

Fundamentals of Music Theory: 26 - 50 / 270 レビュー

by Ether E

May 17, 2018

The best course one can wish for in Music Theory. Very convenient, clear, includes examples and exercises during the lessons, and a sheet of summary in the end of each lesson, as well. The instructors are very lovely and clear. Things are explained in a way that even as an absolute beginner you can follow. I had a slight knowledge before, but I wanted to refresh and continue from where I stopped. This course allowed me to do it in a very short time, without skipping anything, and without feeling I am "missing the train". The order in which the material is given is also thought of.

Everything in this course is considered, thought of, and given a big value.

One can get the course for free or pay (very cheap compared to its high level) to get the certificate of completing it. There's only one thing that you need to keep in mind, in the non-paid (free) option, the materials cannot be viewed backwards after completing the section/week (only the first week remains available). So when I completed week #2, quickly, and passed the test, then proceeded to week #3, I couldn't go back to week #2 to view some things I wanted to re-read for deeper understanding.

Thank you very much for the free content you give, for the beautiful way it is given. All the instructors are great. I am very grateful. I have completed 2.5 weeks in a matter of few days only, and I am very excited to continue. It made me reconsider buying the course to get the certificate, and have the whole material for further access. After this course, I am more sure and determined about my decision to pursue my dream and learn music.

by Alexander A

Jun 29, 2019

Thanks to the lecturers for a good course!

Maybe the material can seems difficult to those who trying to learn the basics only through the videos. I preferred to combine the course with reading a book on the basics of music theory. Lectures with quizes became a good practical addition to the book and seemed easy enough for me.

The second part of the final exam was really hard. There were many questions in it for which the course does not provide sufficient skill training background. But I regarded it as a motivation for doing some research work. And after watching some videos on YouTube, reading Wikipedia and various articles on harmonic analysis, everything fell into place. It was worth it since after such kind of work the basic skills are strengthen very well.

by Arttu S

Mar 04, 2018

Overall an excellent introduction to music theory. The course makes you work a little bit but rewards you by expanding your understanding of musical structures and ideas behind them. You're also able to analyse and write notation after you have finished the course.

I've always played by ear and never bothered to learn basic theory as I never felt I would be needing it in the future. I also felt that music theory was complicated and (excuse me) dull. In that sense, this course makes an exception and I was able to finish the five weeks in a month working maybe couple of hourse per week. Now, especially after this course, I think my musical understanding has progressed.

The Coursera learning environment works very well both on laptop and mobile.

by Aaron Y

Jan 28, 2017

Love this course so far! As I am using this for a quick review for my music theory to supplement my years of piano music before taking the AP Music Theory exam later this year, this course is very informational and helpful. I wish they had released a vocabulary list each week as either an assignment too for just a completion grade, or given hand in hand with the printouts each lesson to help develop the musicianship and familiarity of music's unique jargon.

by Raul C M

May 10, 2017

seria importante reforzar la aplicación en otros idiomas para facilitar lectura y comprensión de temas.

Francamente la semana 5 se me dificulto por las traducciones, recomiendo dividir el tema en dos semanas por su complejidad; el instructor es muy bueno pero las grabaciones se deben mejorar y citar mas ejemplos prácticos. las ligas a otros sitios para reforzar el conocimiento son buenas pero se podría recurrir a ejemplos de YouTube

Thanks!

by Beth B

Apr 05, 2017

What a wonderful course. The instructors were so engaging and knowledgeable... and talented! It is a topic that I've always wanted to know about but never had the opportunity in school to learn about it. It got pretty technical at times and, like learning a language, it really takes a lot of memorization or experience to fully grasp the subject matter, but the parts that I could follow, was just what I was hoping to get from the course!

by TRUDY D

Jun 04, 2018

The course was a thorough review of Scales, Keys, Chords, Intervals, Progressions, Interludes, Modulations, Cadences, and much more. The reading and analysis of a classical work by Beethoven was very enlightening. I believe that most of the students found the course to be interesting and a valuable learning tool.

The instructors were very informative and well versed in their working knowledge of the fundamentals of music.

by Marco

Oct 22, 2017

This one of the best course that i've found on the web. Although I have some previous trainning, this course aloud me to recap go further. Irecommend it to any one who is interested to put all the things already known, and to those who are interested in aquiring some music theory foundations. I recommend to watch the difficult parts, several times.

by Tom P

May 10, 2017

The course is great. it's fun, interesting, engaging and all.

I think that what I would add is some more links to pieces of music, or videos of the mentors talking about and performing musical pieces, like in the one when John played Bach's prelude in C, and the analysis afterwards - This was really interesting and inspiring!

by Alex R

May 04, 2017

It is a very interestring course. It provides one with basic information about musical theory. I liked particularly the part about chords and their connections. I would like to see given a longer course dedicated to this part (Harmony). I would like to thank all the lecturers for a very enjoyable and informative course.

by Angélica R R R

Feb 25, 2018

I like this course. I suppose some questions in the quiz are obviously but in general, finally I understood basic fundamentals of the music theory, because I did not before. Thank you so much to the Edinburg university. It's sad I don't have money to be certified, but I love this course. :D Thanks!

by Povoroznyuk Y I / П Я И

Apr 11, 2018

A big THANK YOU to everebody who created this course! Now I have a good knowledge of fundamental music theory and can learn more about harmony. It was a little bit hard to understand all information from 5th week, but recommended sources from this course helped me. Thanks a lot!

Best regards,

Yana.

by Kermit B B

May 15, 2017

Loved it. This was the first course i felt was extremely challenging, informative, and inspirational. I grew up playing the alto sax, but the theory was awesome.

It also felt like a College level course. Leaving the learner to expand and expound upon the material presented.

Thank YOU

Kermit

by Roman S

Mar 27, 2017

I've learn a lot here from absolutely zero. Before taking the course I couldn't even imagine that it is possible for me to learn anything about music and to be able to understand notes notation. Definitely recommend. But keep in mind that it requires you to work overtime and practice it.

by JD D

Jan 15, 2017

Un curso muy bien resumido pero completo que asegura una exigencia competente en sus evaluaciones, lo recomiendo totalmente para aquel que quiera ejercitar su dominio de la armonía y a otros hispanohablantes (como yo) que busquen conocer más acerca del inglés técnico dentro de la música.

by Farhan S

Jul 06, 2017

It was a wonderful course and a great beginning to my musical journey. The fundamentals were covered efficiently and made it possible to learn the deep nuances of harmony and musical progression. I would truly recommend it to all those interested in learning what creates music.

by Daniel N A

Apr 18, 2017

An amazing course on the Fundamentals of Music Theory! I am beginning my musical education with this program and getting ready to start community college in the fall, so this is definitely getting me ready. Perhaps, one day I plan to study music at this university in Scotland.

by Nemakhavhani N

May 24, 2017

This is a great course and will help you to quickly grasp the essential knowledge & skills in music theory. However you must not only rely on the videos, make use of the class notes provided and also do your own research.Last but not least, practice what they teach you:)

by Tree T

Oct 23, 2019

Starts off fairly easy but gets much harder halfway through. Helps if you know how to read music well (not sight reading). Stick it to the end and you'll learn a lot! I know I did!

Highlights for me: Learning about the importance of circle of fifths and modulating.

by Ramin C

Aug 16, 2018

This has been a really great way for me to learn much of the basics of music theory!

The instructors have made a great job in explaining quite complex ideas in a way that is easy to understand, however some in-depth seeking will be needed from the students as well.

by Sara M

Jan 17, 2019

A great course! It has been undoubtedly my favourite until now in Coursera and I highly recommend it. I would like to specially thank Dr Nikki Moran, Dr Zack Moir and Dr John Philip Kitchen for making it look easier than it is and really pleasant and enjoyable.

by Добрачев Н Е

Aug 23, 2017

I think this course is a great way to start understand how Western music works on a new level, how read note stave, how to start analyze music and find harmony. There are some great mnemonic things to remember lot of difficult stuff. I like it a lot! Thank you!

by Ece B

Dec 01, 2016

I am an amateur musician myself, in high school. I love playing music and singing so much but i always felt like i was missing theoretic information. Thanks to this course, I feel like i am overcoming this situation. Thank you so much for making this possible.

by Vishal M

May 09, 2019

An exceptional overview of the basics of Music Theory and a great curriculum organization provided in this course really did help me understand the curriculum better. Thank you to all the teachers in this course that helped me to learn something new!

by Panagiotis E

Nov 23, 2016

A very well structured cpurse. A solid amount of information delivered, with the pace picking up maybe a little too abruptly after week 3. However, I did learn a lot, and investing the time required was definitely worth it. Highly recommended.